arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3974 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3974 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Staff Performance 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

9 Greg A.
Australia
February 26, 2010
Grand Style at a great price
A modern & unique very functional hotel, the rooms were clean, cool & uncluttered, extremely comfortable with its own style. We had a ground floor room with our own pool, fabulous!! but with a pool on every level not far to get to a pool wherever your room was.Great restaurant, only open for breakfast,a great selection of both Thai & western foods,. A great location away from the busy street quiet but only a short walk to the beach & shopping.Free internet use in reception 3 computers available, and friendly helpful staff.
None really, only good things to say.
We chose Kata Beach to be away from the busy Patong area & we were happy we did. Kata is a very beautiful beach, family friendly with a huge selection of restaurants & shopping. The hotel is located just far enough away from the busy streets to be a peaceful retreat. It was a fabulous hotel and we enjoyed it thoroughly, the cool air conditioning of our room was a great reviver after a hard morning on the beach,some snorkelling,shopping, drinking & eating the great Thai food. So many wonderful surprises in Kata Beach, a wonderful place for relaxing.

9 Alan L.
Australia
February 24, 2010
Amazing. Very beatiful and close to the beach.
hotel rooms, the swimming pools, design of hotel
service can be a bit desperate (as are all services in phuket ie, very dependent on tourist money and tips)
layout of room was fantastic, hotel service was agreeable, although not amazing. breakfast buffet very acceptable compared to other hotels. step infinity pools add amazing ambience and style. will definitely be returning to this hotel.

8.3 Matt R.
Australia
February 23, 2010
sugar palm grand hillside
great looking hotel with well appointed rooms
Our pool was a bit slimy.
Our stay at the sugar hill grand hillside was great all the staff were friendly and very helpful. We had a pool access room and were surprised by the standard of the room for the price we payed. The only down side was that the pool had a layer of thin green slime on the tiles and the 5 days were were there I never saw anyone come and clean the pool. But over all we had a great stay and recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Kata.

7.7 LAY O.
Singapore
February 22, 2010
Great as Usual
Clean, modern, spacious room.
Service quality of staff.
This is the second I've stayed at the hotel. The first was a pool access room and this time round a pool view room. Both rooms were good, though I prefer the pool view room (level 6) as the view out of the window was great. Nothing to fault about the rooms. However, it would have been a even better experience if the staff could have been able to offer more smiles. Services rendered were rather curt.

7.7 DEHENG C.
Singapore
February 21, 2010
Great relaxing hotel, away from the buzzing
It was great to have the pool at your balcony. Service quality was excellent. Great place for relaxation, honeymoon and group holiday...
Located on the hillside, the slope was tiring. But thank goodness, there was lift.
The hotel provided a great relaxation escape for both couples as well as big group holidays. Ideal location for young adults with an eye for unique designs. Apart from walking up steep slope to the top rooms, everything else was great.

9.3 Leong F.
Singapore
February 19, 2010
Feb 2010
Near the beach. A lot of restaurants, coffee clubs and some shopping. Partial sea view. Clean, tasteful design.
Located on a hill. Have to climb up a slope to reach the hotel. Elevator does not reach the highest floors.
Hotel is located on a hill within 5 - 10 mins walk from the beach. There are restaurants and coffee clubs and some shops just at the bottom of the slope. Rooms are clean and tastefully designed. Staff are very very friendly and helpful. Our family booked the pool access room (no view of the sea), sea view room on the high floor with partial sea view and sea view room on the lower floor but with jacuzzi and partial view of the sea. We have a fabulous time using the facilities. It provides a resort feel to the hotel. Only detraction if you book rooms in the higher floor is that you have to take a elevator to the 4th floor, traverse a corridor to another elevator which brings you to the 8th floor and up the slope to reach my pool access room on the 9th floor which is quite a hassle if you have to do that many times a day. Other than that, we had a very enjoyable time and will definitely stay here again.

10 LI H.
Hong Kong
February 18, 2010
Excellent
Great location and Nice swimming pool
Mosquitos
Worth to stay!!Excellent and Modern Design. There is free internet at the lobby. I highly recommend this hotel for couples. Big and clean swimming pools, having drinks at the pool bar is so relaxing. Just 10 mins walk from the hotel to the Kata beach. Many good restaurants near the hotel.

7.7 William M.
New Zealand
February 13, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Location. Rooms were fine. Staff were good. Breakfast
The gym was small with only 1 small multi gymn and 4 exercise machines
Location was excellent,Staff were good. Breakfast was fine and a good way to start off the day. Shopping for anything was handy. We will have no problem with going their again.Having to barter is a pain now and again but you get used to it. Kata beach is a great location and the beach is excellent.

9.3 Terry W.
Australia
February 12, 2010
The best hotel!!!
The rooms were large and modern. The pool access room was fantastic, didn't see anyone from the neighbouring apartment the whole time. Staff very friendly and helpful, willing to drive us to our room in the golf cart if necessary.
Slightly unclean.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for 4 nights and were sad to leave. Next time we would like to stay for 2 weeks minimum. It is a very modern looking building, with great views over the town and the sea. We stayed right at the top and whilst it is very steep we enjoyed the walk and the staff were willing to drive us up if needed. We didn't have breakfast included but there were plenty of restaurants nearby to eat breakfast. The room was lovely, very large and modern and spacious. Had a great TV with lots of good channels. Towels were changed daily. The pool access room was fantastic, went for quite a few swims daily, only once did we use one of the big main infinity pools. We really liked the atmosphere and enjoyed relaxing by the pool when we weren't down at the beach or touring the islands. Kata Beach was really nice, lots of tourists but still nice. The water was lovely and warm. Defnitely recommend this Hotel and we will be staying there again next time we go to Phuket.

8 Philip W.
Australia
February 11, 2010
A Pleasant stay
Pools, good room size, amenities
Clincal decor
Had a great stay here, 4 days split over 2 stays, Lobby staff very efficient, I was a little disapointed in the ease of pool access from some rooms, others were great, i suggest requesting poolside rooms for best value. We ate at the Orchid resturant opposite and had some very good meals