arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 4001 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4001 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Nicholas P.
Australia
March 18, 2010
Great place for the price
Multiple swimming pools, comfortable beds and spacious rooms.
The buffet breakfast was nothing special, and some of the rooms are a fair walk up the hill.
We booked this thinking that we were getting a room at Sugar Palm on Kata Beach, but this one was further up a hill. We were taken up to our rooms on a golf buggy, but be careful if you are seated on the back of the buggy -- the hills are extremely steep and I had to hold on very tightly so as not to slide off the buggy. It's a great hotel for the price that you are paying. Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy, but the concrete floors in the room and bathrooms don't look clean (even though they probably were). Each room has a decent sized balcony, and there were lots of little swimming pools scattered over the various floors.

Hannele L.
Finland
March 16, 2010
Modern style hotel
Room was big and nice with jacuzzi in the balcony. Nice seawiev over Kata Beach. Breakfast was good. Even we have been on 10th floor there was an easy access to the room.
Hotel is located quite high on the hill, but for us it was not a problem. Quite far from the beach.

Mark B.
United Kingdom
March 10, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside review
Very central Kata Beach
On a very steep hillside
Suagr Palm Grand hillside resort gave us a very warm welcome and our room was ready despite our very early arrival after an overnight fight from Europe. The rooms are furnished in a very minimalist style but are well appointed and very comfortable. The pool was very stylish. We did not use the hotel restaurant at all.Front desk service was erratic and asking to book restaurants was a new thing fro them.

matthew S.
Australia
March 09, 2010
Great location, Nice hotel
1 min walk to Kata shopping & restaurants Value for money if you use agoda etc Modern rooms
Have to picky here, but up a slight hill, new lifts make access to rooms easy
Have stayed in Sugar Palm Grand Hillside twice now, firstly in room 1907 which is a spa room & now staying in 2204 which is a pool access room close to the top of the resort that has views over Kata. Have found the staff to be helpfull & friendly, some reviews reported otherwise, but this is not my experience. The rooms are spacious, no complaints, but you somehow feel that they have not been completely finished, as there is bare concrete floors in most rooms. I realise that this is part of the design, however you feel that the tiles are missing. I would stay here again, room 2204 is better with view & pool access.

Mathew G.
United Kingdom
March 09, 2010
The Thailand Experience
Modern hotel, clean and well presented, with excellent bathroom facilities. Numerous pools with ample space to chill on a sunbed.
Some rooms are situated high up on the hillside and take several minutes to get to and would not be particularly suitable to the elderly and unfit.
A clean and well presented hotel, the Sugar Palm has been recently built and has been completed with modern furnishings. The bathrooms are large, although the rendered grey plain walls may only suit a younger eye. Some rooms entail a signifcant uphill walk, which may not suit the elderly or infirm.

andrew S.
United States
March 07, 2010
Great Pool-Poor Service
The pool
The staff not speaking english.
The Sugar Palm Hillside Hotel was a much different stay for me this year then it was for me last year. The staff this year spoke little to no english at all. They were very difficult to communicate with. This made some of the normal things a hotel is responsible for very hard to change or excute in the way I wanted it. I wanted to cancelle a fishing trip I booked and I asked the hotel to cancelle the trip for me and they said they would and didn't. On a more positive note, the hotel has made some improvements to the property. They added a elevator and a pool bar.They have great swimming pools at the hotel.They have a great pool bartender named Joe who was very good at his job. Overall, my stay was just fair and I am not sure if I would stay at the Sugar Palm Hillside Hotel again.

San C.
Singapore
March 07, 2010
Our Stay at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Resort
Beautiful pool and view. Staff are friendly. Comfortable place to stay in.Love the pool access room, esp romantic for couple. Free Wi-fi within the resort and internet access at the main reception area.
Have to walk up a steep pavement to reach the resort lobby. No in-house restaurant and felt they can have more facilities. Better mosquito breeding control as I was stung quite badly even with repellent stay and the sticker type.
Would like to stay at the resort again should we go phuket again.

Kent W.
Canada
March 06, 2010
Disappointing Experience
Friendly housekeeping staff
hotel layout poor, basic rooms, distance to rooms up hill, broken elevators, poor front desk service
Very disappointed in this hotel - I travel extensively in Asia and for the price this was a big disappointment. From front desk the room was a 10 min walk up a hill, two elevator rides and then a climb up a cement driveway followed by two sets of stairs - this wasn't indicated when I selected - would be inaccessable to anyone with mobility issues! Hotel is about 10 min walk from beach - poor views from many rooms - I overlooked the side of a building with no view. Hot water not always available, odour of sewage in room, air conditioner worked too well (couldn't control temperature). Front desk staff were not friendly.

CHAN S.
China
March 05, 2010
Value for Money
Ambience : quiet Location : near to the beach Price : value for money Service : acceptable Breakfast : good
Maintenance of the hotel should be enhanced since some facilities have gone aging.
I had gone through the comments from other hotel guests in the site saying that it was hard for high floor guests to go back to their rooms without using club car. Now, I can tell everybody that the elevators are in operation now. I just wonder that nobody had told me that thave had elevators for use. I am quite lucky that I had read other guestss comments before I go. That said, the elevators were being built. For the time being, it can be open for the guests' use. Given that you are residing at the high floors, you can go to your rooms easily.

Jemma S.
Australia
March 04, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
The pool bar was great.
It would be good if the pool bar also served some food. More pool chairs would also be great.
The rooms were very nice and spacious and we especially liked the design of the bathroom including where the water flowed from the shower into a gutter. The beds very very comfortable and the TV was nice and big. We decided not to have breakfast at the hotel as it was too expensive and found places down the street were of the same quality and much cheaper. The pool was the highlight of the hotel however it would be good if more chairs were available for guests to lay on.