Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3476 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3476)
Sort by:
Haoyu L. Couples China, April 29, 2009
Good

location & swimming pool
8
The hotel is just built lately and everything is new and in excellent condition. The room is big and the swimming access room is wonderful. The only thing need to improve is the elevator. The new hotel does not have a lift or elevator now. They use a shuttle bus to pick up you from the first floor and drive to your floor. Remember that the hotel is built on a hill.
Danny W. Couples United States of America, April 29, 2009
My Sugar Palm Hillside Experience

Location - 5 minutes walking distance from Kata Beach, 5 minutes driving distance from Kata Noi Beach and Karon Beach. Short trip to Chalong Pier. Reasonable price. Friendly Staff. Large room - my rooms comes with extra twin bed. A comfortable bed to sleep on. Flat panel TV w/ DVD player and free DVD rental. private jacuzzi (fairly powerful one) if you book a jacuzzi room. Ample parking space for cars.
8
Overall Sugar Palm Hillside is a decent place to stay given its location and price. The hotel is fairly new and clean, comes with free WiFi, large rooms, and close to Chalong Pier for island excursions. Breakfast is acceptable, and very short walk to Kata Beach. The hotel only offers elevator service on the 4th floor, and the walk from the lobby to the elevator is very steep. Hotel staff is nice and friendly. The swimming pools are on multiple levels and tend to be somewhat small. I had a rental car and had no problem finding parking. Overall Sugar Palm Hillside is fair price to stay for the price. My favorite thing about the hotel is the spacious rooms, but I recommend taking the club car to the elevator when it is available. AND WATCH OUT FOR THE CORNERS OF THE BED STAND - THEY ARE VERY SHARP AND I WAS CUT TWICE WHILE WALKING AROUND IN MY ROOM.
Restaurant Tip: The Mali Restaurant offers a decent mixture of Thai and Western food. If you want a better view, try Ratari Jazz Restaurant, it offers a grand view of Kata beach. Avoid Mali Waterfront restaurant by Karon Beach as the food quality is below that of Kata beach and there are quite a bit of mosquitoes, although Mali Waterfront offers live music.
Terence K. Couples United Kingdom, April 28, 2009
Sugar Palm Grandhillside - Kata

We liked the fact that the hotel was only 5 months old so everything was in 5 star condition in the rooms, Flatscreen TV, DVD Player, Great Shower Room, Really comfortable Superking Beds at least 6ft wide, well cleaned rooms daily. Great views. Lots of choices of pools.
7.3
Our experience of this hotel overall was good but spoilt to some degree by the steep hills and no real practical way to climb them apart from the buggy carts as long as it wasnt raining! it rained 3 times during our stay and to be honest the climb is not only unpleasent but down right dangerous, totally unsuitable for people with back leg problems and to be honest maybe people with small children as i really had a job carrying myself up the hills let alone a baby and pushchair etc. What i will say aside of the obvious problem that so many people seem to mention rgarding the climb etc it is a great hotel brilliant value for money, very clean, i didnt experience problems with the staff as others have mentioned but then i am a ugly 15 stone english man! for the price we paid cant really grumble (1100 bht a night)for that price given the service and experience we had staying there i would say you wont be dissapointed as long as you have hill climbing experience!
Restaurant Tip: so so many restaurants to choose from and only a 5 minute walk from Kata Beach! lots of shopping also so you dont have to spend a fortune on tuk tuks/ Taxis! or if you like to see more of places hire a scooter for around 250-300 baht a day!
Mark S. Couples United Kingdom, April 26, 2009
Sugar Palm

Very modern and great value for money
8.7
We stayed at the sugar palm for 4 nights and were very impressed with the room and breakfast provided. We upgraded to a jacuzzi suite which was located on the balcony. I believe that all the rooms have views and are different standards. The pools were not huge but ample for the amount of people there. The hotel is located a short distance from the beach
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Hagle over prices for trips at the travel desk in the hotel, it is possible to half the asking price
Siriya M. Families with older children Thailand, April 26, 2009
seems good, but just so so

pool
5
far from the beach. the room size is big. you can jump to the pool from your room but it isn't that much privacy because it's share pool with 2-3 rooms beside you. you need to climb up the stairs to your room (long way to go..actually there are fews golf cars but they aren't available). WIFI is available but bad reception, so slow and always disconnected.
Jared G. Couples United States of America, April 25, 2009
Sugar Palm Grande is a great place!

sea views, location, jetted tub on balcony, soft beds, flat screen tv, good breakfast, spacious rooms,
7.7
All in all, I think this was a great hotel. It had a great location, very close to the beach. The rooms were larger than the Sugar Palm Spa and Resort. The rooms appeared somewhat unfinished in the beginning because everything is very smooth dark colored concrete but I actually enjoyed the design. The shower had a full length glass wall that had a blind that you could pull up, see into the room, and out off the balcony. The jetted tub was amazing. We were on the 9th floor and the sea views at sunset and during our baths were spectacular. We barely watched TV even though we had a new flat screen and new DVD player in the room. We were able to leave the power on when we left which continually ran the a/c. I would stay here again.
Adrian S. Couples Singapore, April 24, 2009
fantastic rooms. perfect - except for the climb

fantastic rooms. pool access. beautiful, large, airy rooms with beauuutttiiifffuulll toilet. free wifi!
8.7
stayed 3 nights at one of the pool access rooms. as mentioned above - the rooms were just faannnnttaaassttiic! beautiful, airy, tastefully-decorated. best rooms we've ever stayed in. The only problem with the stay was the climb up. It was rainy season and each time it rained, even if it was a 5-min shower, meant that the floor was wet, which meant that the little golf carts that could normally ferry us to your doorstep would be "off service". which meant, many, steep, steps, and lots and lots of sweat for us. *phew!* If you're lucky to have the choice of a room in the 1st 2 blocks, I think you'd have a PERFECT stay.
Kennedy W. Couples Canada, April 22, 2009
wonderful hotel

beautiful rooms. nice view of kata from the hillside room. golf cart rides up to the rooms are great (and necessary).
8.3
the hotel is new, clean and very beautiful. we had a room right at the top with a pool that we shared with only 3 other rooms. it was great to have. our deluxe room was spacious and very nicely furnished. the bathroom was lovely. this is a great hotel for a romantic vacation for 2. really have no complaints about. it is just about perfect but the guys who drive the carts could use a lesson in warmth.
Stephane L. Couples France, April 21, 2009
Best Value in Phuket

The quality and size of the rooms , direct access to to room
9.3
Fantastic room with a very nice view on the private pool and the hill .We were at the top , the first day we had to take an electric car to go to the room but we rented a scooter and you go to your room in 30 seconds.Very good value for the money.
Kelly A. Couples United Kingdom, April 20, 2009
Hidden gem in the hills of Kata

Size of room, bathroom, pools & access, breakfast, Modern design, views
9
My partner & I just spent a relaxing 3 nights at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside. We were a little sceptical before arriving because of the (very cheap) price we paid, but when we got there we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a nice modern feel to it and when we saw the size of our room & our bathroom we were more than satisfied. We opened our curtains and saw the cool feature...pool access directly from our balcony! Rooms were cleaned every morning without fail with fresh towels for beach & shower. Kata beach, vast and alot of waves, but beautiful & clean, is only a 5-10minute stroll away. You can even see the beach from the higher up pools in hotel. Reading previous reviews about the steep hillside location we were a bit dubious, but it really isn't that bad (although they could do with just building some steps or a lift from ground floor).
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Don't miss the 'After Beach Bar' located on a hillside nearby for the BEST sunset view over Kata. We took a taxi there (taxis in Phuket are generally more expensive than elsewhere in Thailand) for 200b although it only took him 2 mins to drive there! Its worth the visit. We also took taxi to Patong for all the "action" if that's your thing, and it was 400b each way (set price from most taxis) and about a 15min drive away.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B06