or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3510 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3510)
Sort by:
Veronica S. Couples Australia, April 10, 2009
Not for the infirm or incapacitated

Nice views
4.3
This hill is unbelievable, almost perpendicular & lift access stops at level four of nine. Upper access can be via golf buggy unless it is raining - which it did every afternoon/evening of our stay. Climbing this hill two/three times a day becomes daunting & something needs to be done about accessing these upper levels. First night we were 'upgraded' to room of inferior size & quality, but it did have a bathtub on the balcony. Were moved to the pool access room (which we had booked) next day. Direct access to small pool & sundeck were about only highlight of our stay. Staff, with exception of guys driving the buggys, were generally disinterested in guests. Breakfast had variety but hot dishes were lukewarm at best even when fresh from the kitchen. The same squashed bug remained on the bathroom floor for the duration of our stay. Paid a reasonable rate for this room, but would have been unhappy if I'd paid anymore. Overall very disappointing and unlikely I'd return.
Ezra A. Couples Philippines, April 9, 2009
Sugar Palm

Our Room is so nice, very modern (Deluxe, Pool Access). Very near the bus station going to phuket town... nice restaurants nearby and some nice stores...
9.7
Our Room is so nice, very modern (Deluxe, Pool Access). Very near the bus station going to phuket town... nice restaurants nearby and some nice stores...
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Walking distance to Kata Beach...
David H. Couples Belgium, April 9, 2009
sugar palm hilside

loungy design clean rooms, very industrial good breakfast
7.7
nice welcome. the loby is up the hill and the taxi would not bring us that far so we walked up there. the porters were ripoffs. we gave them money to share but they refused. so be warned not to give them 1 big tip. room was nice, we had a jacusi on the balcony. bf was ok and tasted nice. checkout was ok.
Evelyn Y. Couples Hong Kong, April 8, 2009
Great value during promotional period.

The value is good,very reasonable when I book the hotel, the services is fine, most of the staff can speak basic english. The room is tidy, and clean, quite spacy also.
6.7
I was staying before the Easter hoilday, which the room is quite spicy, but I can tell it;s very basic, concere wall and floor, no decoration as we expected. It was worth of money, since I booked it as a very very low price. I requested a seaview room, which I have received the seaview room but the view isnt that much, only a little conrner at the patio can see the see. The breakfast is limited selections, if you just want to eat something before you head to beach, it is acceptable. The only bad thing about our room is too noisy,both from the outside and inside. Every morning, the insects started to make the huge noise from 0600 or even earlier, the room door is too think and there's a gay between the room and the door frame, therefore, all the sounds get into the room as well. Within the room, the air con is very noisy also, we doubt that it has something wrong. On our 3rd nite the air-con stopped in the middle of the nite, thanks god that it wasnt that hot. So the next morning, we reported to the reception desk and asked them to send somebody to fixe it. By the time we went back to the room from beach, the air-con work again, but still with the same noise. We really wonder why , coz this hotel has been only opened for couples month when we check-in. The overall hotl services is fine. They are very helpful when we found out our driver missed the appointment to the airport, the staff helped us at once to call some taxi driver to delive us to airport. Within 10 mins, he arrived. The hotel is good for young couples, not for the elder, because of the stairs and slope, it will killing old ppl from what we saw. The location is fine, not that far from the center, walking distance to the beach, and some restaurants.
Sandra H. Couples Netherlands, April 7, 2009
Sugar Palm Hill - 4 star hotel with 2 star service

Great amenities in the room (like the crocks) Nice setting (specially at night time) Free internet Tours desk in the lobby
5.7
The hotel looks really nice. The pool, the room, the amenities and the views. However due to the location of the hotel, you will find many insects on the way to your room. Big cockroaches and bugs will be waiting on the white walls, specially during the night when they are attracted to the light. The service from the staff is very, very poor. At the breakfast restaurant many items are not replaced and there is a shortage of staff to clear the table and replenish the food. Also the bell boys are not helpfull at all. The location is nice on the hillside, but don't expect to be driven by a buggy each time as they more or less only offer this at the arrival.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Rent a bike
Christopher F. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 6, 2009
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, Kata Beach, Phuket.

huge bath tub, lots of floor space in the room, great views from most of the rooms.
9
had the most amazing view of Kata beach and the bay from my balcony, such a great way to watch the sunset in the evening. the steep walk up the hill to your room, can be a little tiring after a long day in the sun.that unfinished look to the hotel, can be sometimes a little bit of putting, but eventually it grows on you, and now i really like that finished look. breakfast can be a little bit expensive,(350 baht per person), but who is up before 10.30 am anyway.
Travel tip: dont book any trips from the tour deak at the hotel. take a short walk onto the main road, and book from the local tour desks there. its alot cheaper than the hotel.
Roden T. Business travelers United States of America, April 4, 2009
sugar palm so sweet

modern architecture,nice pool access,nice view of the town.
8.3
If you are looking to have an adventure then this the hotel for you! It is located on top of a hill so if you are one of the lucky ones who happens to have your room way on the top then you are in it for a big ride of your life, get your feet ready to climb one of the steepest hill you could ever imagine which i think would be a good exercise or you may opt to hop on one of the golf cart which is an exciting ride. Its about a 15-20 minute ride to patong if you would like to check out the nightlife however it is a perfect place if you want a peaceful and relaxing vacation which is one of the reasons why i have chose this hotel,the hill is not that bad but i would not recommend if you are an elder,family with kids or if you have any leg/feet issues.The hotel is much more catered to young singles or for couples on a romantic getaway.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: beach is just a 5 min. walk
Evgeny T. Couples Russia, April 4, 2009
Good location, trendy design, not great staff

Location, design
7.3
Good location, interesting design. Nevertheless, some things are incredible. There is a buggy driver, who steers with one hand. My wife asked him to be careful, and he replied: buggy is always dangerous. When we asked his name (staff is not with badges, at all), he said: I do not understand English. I advise going to Bali, where people are nice and educated, unless these hotel owners will teach basic politeness
Restaurant Tip: Oyster
Rhiannon M. Couples Australia, April 3, 2009
Awesome Resort

Lovely pools and view from our balcony. Nice and quiet, away from the hussle and barta of the main street. I actually enjoyed the hill, it was at least a little bit of exercise on the trip
7.7
I would enthusiastically reccomend this esort to anyone. The pools arewonderful, clear and clean. The view from our balcony wasamazing, espically from the Jacuzzi. One thing I will say though is that the staff can be a little pushy when it comes getting cabs and so on.
Restaurant Tip: While the Boathouse restarant looks nice, it is over priced for the food, ry the Two Chefs if you are more into the western food. Any of the Thai places are nice though, so check them out.
Craig T. Couples United Kingdom, April 2, 2009
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

Friendly / helpful staff. Modern hotel. Excellent Location. Clean. Free Internet.
9.7
The hotel is in a excellent location out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Patong, It is very close to the beach and has a good selection of shops, bars and restaurants all near by. The hotel itself is fairly new and modern, we stayed in a pool view room which I would strongly recommend, this hotel is very good value for money.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3A02