arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3976 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3976 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

8 Chairat M.
Thailand
February 01, 2010
Good hotel in Phuket
Location, room
No
Good location bcs near shoppingrestaurant of Kata beach. And only 5 min. to beach. Room is good and big bahtroom. I reccommend all of you to stay there.

10 Ryan E.
New Zealand
January 31, 2010
Sugar Palm is great
Pool, view, service, food :)
Nothing :)
Stayed here for 8 nights beautiful hotel only 6 months old Nothing was a problem and we had a great holiday. This hotel is in a great location in Kata it does have stairs and a steep drive but we are both mid 20's so it was sweet as and good fitness.

5.3 Ricardo B.
Australia
January 28, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, Kata Beach, Phuket
The view is excellent and the cool breeze off the sea keeps the air moving in very hot weather. The hotel is very adequate for a holiday with a minimalist type style of decor. Being built on a steep hillside affords many guest rooms with a view of Kata, the beach and the surrounding area.
The design of the walkways and non-interconnection of the TWO hotel lifts, only one of which works to ascend. The second having been barred for service, can only descend? This is a huge negative for people who have mobility issues and for ease of travel between the lobby area and the top floors.
The hotel was OK, 3/4 star, but the accessability is a major problem - one lift only can be used by guests to descend, not ascend. It is also not a hotel for small children - too many dangerous drop-offs and steep descents. I booked 4 rooms and in order to assist the hotel to prepare for other guest arrivals, I gave back 2 rooms early. On check out the hotel checkout staff made a huge fuss about the fact that a glass from one room was missing.This item was not broken but I believe could have ended up in another room due to a party we held. We had asked for extra glasses, ice and towels, but when these failed to arrive we brought items from our other rooms two the room where the party was held. This was a constant issue during our stay, the time taken to provide requested items, iron and ironing board, towls, glasses, ice etc - on several occasions these never materialized. In order to settle this issue, I paid for the glass Bhat80 (hardly an expensive item), but left me with a bad impression and in doing so I decided that I would not stay at this hotel again. Not everyday does a single guest buy 4 rooms for 3 days - rather a petty attitude, I think.

9 Chak M.
Hong Kong
January 22, 2010
Great value, right at Kata centre
Very new and clean Friendly staffs Nice "private" pool design, good for sun bathing Quiet 5-min walk to Kata beach 2-min walk to the centre of Kata
May need extra leg energy to climb up the stairs if you are assigned to a higher level room "private" swimming pools are too small for REAL swimmer Staffs may not speak well English, need extra time to explain your needs
Stayed there for 4 nights, no regards, best value, will certainly go back. Very short walk to the beach, a lot of restaurants around the hotel. Especially good one right next to the entrance of the hotel. Must go!

9 Rose L.
Hong Kong
January 21, 2010
The most value-for-money hotel I have ever used
Beautiful pool access room with a slight view to the beach, it was really pretty and relaxing to just hang around the pool. It is just max 5 min walk to Kata beach, which is really good as it gives a little more privacy but at the same time it is still near the beach. The lifts are all fixed so there is no problem for going up the hill to higher rooms. big bath tube, good infinite pools. great location, I cant think of any more things to ask for. Oh, and they have free loaning of DVD if you just want to relax in the room at nite for some movies. That was great.
None.
The most lovely hotel I have been in. There were some complains from other review about the distance and up hill walk but I don't find that a problem at all.

10 Anastasia M.
Russia
January 21, 2010
Just stay there
Modern new hotel with big room, super location
none
Modern new hotel with big room, super location

9.3 Jing L.
China
January 19, 2010
good environment and nice scenery
My pool access room is really great, and the view on the hillside is very beautiful.
The breakfast is not included and have to pay an extra.
My pool access room is really great, and the view from the hillside is so beautiful. The hotel is new and spacious, and even a bit luxury to me. The only disappointment is that its breakfast has to pay an extra. But the staffs are nice and helpful. Wifi in the room is useful too. In general, I love the place. Will surely visit again.

8.3 erwin P.
Indonesia
January 17, 2010
Very good
Nice view,clean hotel.
Don't have a lift,
very nice hotel,clean,comfortable,good staff,nice view,near beach just walking around 5 minute.

8.7 NICHOLAS Y.
Malaysia
January 13, 2010
Excellent Unique Hotel..
- on a hill, great view - nice big room - great ammenities - nice pool - grand design to the whole place - pretty decent breakfast - free computer to access internet
- have to climb slope to access rooms, the higher your room, the higher you have to climb - hotel staff could be friendlier (esp to asians) - should have welcome drinks for customers
this is a very nice hotel to stay at. price may be slightly pricey as i booked kinda last minute. hotel situated on a hill and is very convenient. the restaurant just next to the hotel is of really good value and serves good food. pool is really nice. view is excellent esp if you live high up you will be able to see the sea. staff could smile more and be friendlier. for the price i paid, i expected at least a welcome drink. but overall, a good stay at a good hotel

8.3 Marc-Andre P.
Canada
January 13, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
Room
Finition
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel is a very nice new hotel. There is so many nice little pools! The hotel open last year but, they didn't finish the finition works before opening! So, the construction of the elevator is still on going. And our jacuzzi there was still marked of the delivery tape. So, hopefully all those little things will be fixes but, I am doughtful! Just across the street there is a nice restaurant / bar. They are serving very fast ;-)