arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 3978 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3978 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for Money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

8.7 NICHOLAS Y.
Malaysia
January 13, 2010
Excellent Unique Hotel..
- on a hill, great view - nice big room - great ammenities - nice pool - grand design to the whole place - pretty decent breakfast - free computer to access internet
- have to climb slope to access rooms, the higher your room, the higher you have to climb - hotel staff could be friendlier (esp to asians) - should have welcome drinks for customers
this is a very nice hotel to stay at. price may be slightly pricey as i booked kinda last minute. hotel situated on a hill and is very convenient. the restaurant just next to the hotel is of really good value and serves good food. pool is really nice. view is excellent esp if you live high up you will be able to see the sea. staff could smile more and be friendlier. for the price i paid, i expected at least a welcome drink. but overall, a good stay at a good hotel

8.3 Marc-Andre P.
Canada
January 13, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel
Room
Finition
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel is a very nice new hotel. There is so many nice little pools! The hotel open last year but, they didn't finish the finition works before opening! So, the construction of the elevator is still on going. And our jacuzzi there was still marked of the delivery tape. So, hopefully all those little things will be fixes but, I am doughtful! Just across the street there is a nice restaurant / bar. They are serving very fast ;-)

8.3 Gillian W.
Australia
January 13, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hill
Excellent View of the hill, very spacious room and bathroom, free internet and lots of pools
The hill - Even if you get a buggy to take you up the hill, you still have to walk quite a lot if you are on the very top level.
Only stayed here for one night, but was one of the nicer places we stayed at especially for the price. Room was very modern and spacious. Not sure how clean the room floor was as there were lots of marks and one of the bathrobes had a lipstick stain, but overall would recommend the hotel for young couples.

8 anthony C.
United Kingdom
January 12, 2010
Nice hotel!
Great location, great rooms, great service.
Quite a few steps to negotiate
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the room was HUGE with great pool access, a lovely bathroom, and a decent LCD TV and DVD player. The swimming pools were also great - infinity pools with black tiles overlooking the town and beach. The location was very good - only 5 mins walk to the beach and shops. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good also. We would stay here again!

7 Joakim L.
Australia
January 12, 2010
Sugar palm hotel
Nicely furnished rooms at a very reasonable price
Located on a mountain going to your room each day meant having to walk very steep hills
Overall i thought that this hotel was very nice and I would love to stay there again for an even longer period. While the climb became tedious it was well worth the while and towards the end of my stay i discovered that you can ask them to drive you up. The buffet breakfast was pricey so I would suggest just eating somewhere on the street. The place also has a number of swimming pools so it was great going for a dip after the beach and have a drink by the poolside bar.

7 Michelle N.
Australia
January 12, 2010
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket
The pools are the best feature. Cool water falls and fiber optic stars at night.
Unfrendly to the point being rude male staff.
Unfrendly to the point being rude male staff. Pretty much all the male staff were unfrendly and unhelpfull. Add that to the few that were straight up rude and it was enough for us not to want to stay there again. The pools were very nice and the view was good but unfortunately the male staff that operate the bugys, baggege handeling, pool bar, ect, ect, are not so helpful. You get the impression they don't want you there. Which is strange because all the other Thai's on the island are so frendly and welcoming. We have stayed at Clubmed down the road previously and it was great. We will try resort next door to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside on our next stay later this year.

8.3 Brian S.
Canada
January 11, 2010
Excellent Value
- Modern and comfortable room - Free wifi in rooms - Excellent breakfast - Close to beach and restaurants
- Walk uphill
Spacious and comfortable rooms. Quiet area. Hotel staff are helpful and polite. I would definitely stay there again.

7.3 david T.
United States
January 11, 2010
nice hotel
Lots of swimming pools - my kids swam in each one. Nice view. Nice rooms.
Walking up stairs.
We were on the top floor - more like the top of the hillside - so I often thought twice about walking down the hill. You may want to ask for a lower floor room when making reservations.

6.7 Juvian C.
Singapore
January 09, 2010
Nice Hotel
Quite good and quiet location
Attitude of the Staff
Hotel was nice and pretty and they gave me a free upgrade to the Jacuzzi Suite which was fantastic but it required a climb up to the room. I had requested at late checkout of 3pm when I made my booking and confirmed that this was OK one night prior to departure. One friendly staff told me 3m check out was ok but i was shock when i was locked out of my room at 2.30pm on day of checkout. I had to go all the way down to the reception to check why this was so. I was faced with very very poor and sarcastic attitude from one of the lady receptionists who didn't even bother to look at me and just said it was "impossible" that i was given an extension. My blood boiled just then and i demanded that they activated my card again so that I could pick up my bags and leave for the airport. Service staff really need to pick up their attitude!!!

9.7 John C.
United States
January 07, 2010
A Wonderful Hotel
Location, room comfort
Since the hotel is on a hillside some of the rooms can be a bit of a climb although the elevator installation should be complete by January 2010 thus eliminating any potential issues.
The Sugar Palm was a wonderful hotel. The decor is minimalist modern but clean and very comfortable. A large room with a large bathroom including both a shower and tub. The location was quiet yet only a 5 minute walk to Kata Beach. The staff was friendly and efficient. There is inexpensive room service (~150B per dish) that was good and available late. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel since much lower cost alternatives were available within a 2 minute walk.