Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 4035 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4035 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Harish A.
India
May 15, 2013
Good Hotel, not too expensive and close to the bea
Good view, great pool and friendly staff
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside hotel is a comfortable hotel with a great view. Beach is just 5 minutes away and most basic amenities are around the hotel. The rooms are big and the pool is wonderful. However, the hotel is constructed on a hill. There are parts of it which are not accessible by the lift and if you are old, it would be difficult for you to take stairs to some of the rooms. It was tiring for us and we would highly recommend that you ask for rooms which are accessible by the lift. Breakfast was okay but not a huge spread. Staff was very friendly and always ready to help. It’s on the quieter side of Kuta and being on a hill, has great ocean view!

Yan S.
Malaysia
May 14, 2013
nice and clean hotel, worth to stay
Excellent view with great price
Good, the nearby beach is clean. The only disadvantage is too quiet at night, can't compare with Patong beach.

Pandora S.
Singapore
May 14, 2013
Beautiful hotel, great breakfast, very fast wifi
Cleanliness, Location, Breakfast
Sugar Palm is extremely beautiful and modern. The rooms are very large and clean, and most importantly, the internet wifi is very fast. The bathroom is huge and very clean. Feels very natural and relaxing and it's located next to a forest/hill. 5 mins walk to Kata beach and many many amazing restaurants near the hotel. On your way down the slope from the hotel, There is a small travel agency on your left where a very nice Thai owner will give you a very good price for a day trip to PhiPhi or James bond island etc. Note: Do request for a lower building (1 or 2), if you get the rooms starting with a "3" or '4", you will have to climb upslope and it will be very tiring.

Swee F.
Malaysia
May 12, 2013
my favorite hotel
spacious room, wifi with high speed, great location approximately 2 minutes walk to kata beach
This is the 3rd time we stay at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside since they were newly started 4-5 years back then. We love the location as it is very near to the beach which just about 2 minutes walking distance. there are lots of convenient stores nearby as well as varieties of food including international & local thai food around the hotel. we always choose the room with pool access so we could jump into the pool anytime. the staffs are always friendly. cold towel and welcome drinks were served upon arrival. we got the high floor room this time. the poor staff carried 2 of our cargo bags all the way up to our room, with a smile. hotel rooms are always in clean condition. room is spacious with queen size bed and a work desk. the internet speed is so much faster than last time. Sugar Palm grand Hillside definitely a great hotel for couples. we will surely stay here again for our yearly trip to Phuket.

WAI S.
Hong Kong
May 11, 2013
Large room and friendly staff
The view, friendly staff and reason pricing

raine T.
Singapore
May 09, 2013
quite a plesant stay
swimming pools, big rooms, close to beach
they hotel is located uphill, so it is not very suitable if there are elderly. there are many swimming pools in this hotel, but some cleaning is need for those pools that are connected to the room. it seems like only the bigger pools is being maintained. the hotel have very nice shower area and big beds. near to some nice restaurants too. close to the beach.

Vijay D.
India
May 09, 2013
Nice relaxing environment of hotel, good staff
Good Staff, Location and spacious rooms
It was a nice family hotel. Calm surrounding and great location. But approach to hotel was not so comfortable. This hotel is located on high land even though it is next to a beach. Hence people with breathing problems should not take this hotel. Another point to remember is that it is good to take room with pool. Overall it was a value for money.

Jean P.
Indonesia
May 08, 2013
Standard beach hotel with bad staff service
Close to beach,easy access to local food

Shwu W.
Singapore
May 07, 2013
Centralised location.
Centralised location, accessible to the beach and convenience stores.
The jacuzzi is not working, it kept leaking. the floor is always wet below the sink. however we like the location as it is very centralize.

Peter S.
New Zealand
May 04, 2013
Clean and comfortable
Breakfast, cleanliness, location
We really enjoyed our stay at Sugar Palm. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There were several swimming pools to choose from. It was close to the beach and shopping. We were situated on the top floor so it was nice and quiet with great views. The breakfast was amazing. Because it was so hot the walk to our room on the top floor was hard work some days. Check out could be much faster and having an English speaking receptionist would have been beneficial. Would stay here again and maybe a poolside room next time.