Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3471 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3471)
Sort by:
Yip R. Couples Afghanistan, July 12, 2012
Chic room

chic and simple rooms, spacious.
7
- fast check in - simple and chic design but watch the steep slopes.
Hotel Feature Tip: select a lower or mid floor room.
Emma S. Families with older children Switzerland, July 12, 2012
Lovely rooms but reception staff most unhelpful

Central location and spacious rooms
5.7
We had been booked in for 7 nights but left after 5. Despite a request for twin beds we were given rooms with double beds.The receptions desk staff were always smiling but their response to requests gave no indication of whether they had understood the request. Breakfast vouchers were given on arrival for each room. This arrangement caused a number of unpleasant incidents as we were not all ready to have breakfast at the same time and the voucher system proved to become complicated. Surely a list of guest with the guest stating their name and room number on arrival at breakfast should suffice. The breakfast was not so great that we would be double dipping. We did not feel that we were valued guests as had been our experience at the 3 other hotels we had stayed at.
David E. Groups New Zealand, July 12, 2012
Very pleased with our stay

The sizeable rooms, location and service
8
we stayed at the resort for 10 nights. i've stayed on the island of phuket on 3 previous occassions and decided to stay at kata beach this time. this is due to the calmer/quieter environment and the better beaches. when you want to explore its not too far in most directions from kata to do most things. a bonus is kata beach and even more so the quick access via motor scooter to kata noi beach was great.there are plenty of local restaurants, travel agents, convenience stores etc at kata to choose from. the breakfast was pretty good - we didnt get tired of it after 10 days as there is always something different to choose from. my daughter loved the infinity pools.
Charine Y. Groups Hong Kong, July 12, 2012
Quiet but not far away from the beach

Nice and hip design concept, awesome out door jacuzzi
8
The location is perfect, walking distance to the beach and very close to shopping. Plenty of local restaurants, travel agents, massage stores. rooms are clean and tidy, convenience decorations.
Hotel Feature Tip: Take only 200m to walk to the Two Chef's Restaurant. I like this it so much.
Mohamed I. Couples India, July 11, 2012
Lovely Location

Close to the beach
8
Good Hotel booked with a good deal.Rooms are spacious and clean.Loved the swimming pool.Only difficulty is the path to reach the hotel from the road is steepy.Everything about this hotel was great and would recommend it.
Paul J. Families with older children Australia, July 11, 2012
Good value for money

Location, pool access rooms, good size rooms, good beds
7
Booked 3 pool access rooms together, however when we arrived we were split up. Communication is difficult with the staff, but they do try. The rooms are well set out, a bit industrial, rooms were very clean, beds are comfortable and the pool access rooms are great, but need to remember you are sharing with 2 other rooms and you can't pick your neighbours. Keep an eye out for ants, don't leave any food out, they will get in. Breakfast was okay, choice not huge, but the food was okay. Sea views are limited and not all rooms will get a view due to building next door. It's a short walk to the beach and plenty of cafes close by. The resort is called "Hillside", it is built on the side of a hill. If you are staying in the top rooms, you will get plenty of exercise, there are lifts at the resort but they don't go all the way to the top. Try to book a room in the first 3 or 4 floors, you can see the beach and the hill climb won't kill you. WiFi access was good for the kids and because of the rain, they gave it a good workout. Close the markets and shops, really good cafes down the street. We would certainly stay in Kata Beach again and would be happy to stay at the Hillside again.
Restaurant Tip: Get to the Cafe Opera, the food is great, best we had in Kata Beach and really good entertainment. Also check out the Elvis impersonator at the Black Canyon Cafe down the road, he is a cracker.
Yip R. Couples Afghanistan, July 10, 2012
Steep slopes, but nice views

nice views of kata beach, clean rooms...
6.7
- steep slopes which may cause some difficulties for the eldery - nice view of kata city area - choose a mid level rooms for the best of both worlds
Restaurant Tip: the restaurant opposite the hotel serves good breakfast and meals.
Yip R. Couples Afghanistan, July 10, 2012
Nice Jacuzzi room with nice view

thoughful design and nice view of kata city area
7.7
recommended for couples on honeymoon with theme lights in the room, nice view of kata city area. good breakfast served.
Ang E. Couples Singapore, July 10, 2012
great location

4 types of free drinks for guest
7
good rooms. We checked in for 2 rooms and the staff gave us 1 on the 1st floor, the other on the 3rd floor. We wanted to stay next to each other & the staff said is full. They dont bother To help us, instead blame it on agoda, the reason is bcos we booked through Agoda. Honestly that was the 2nd time they blame Agoda. This is my 2nd time staying there& It will be my last. Also, dont be surprise if u dont get the rooms you booked, cos they will always say they upgraded you to a" pool access room." They dont show concern why guests booked jacuzzi room or sea view room. As long as u booked through agoda,they can upgrade yours anytime, cos pool access room is much more expensive.
Restaurant Tip: Try largo tapas bar. they serve good spanish tapas & paella. 2mins away from sugar palm grand hill
Lawrence P. Couples United States of America, July 9, 2012
Sinking Ship!

The location is excellent for the money!
3.3
Someone invested a lot of money in this property, but they are not evidently interested in maintaining their investment. Although the hotel is well located and has excellent pricing, you will find a myriad of things that need improvement both physically and in the area of customer service. In short, it is a sinking ship! Reading the other reviews, I heartily agree that this property is difficult to maneuver around. Yes, you will most likely be climbing hills or ramps to get to your hillside room. Don't count on the staff assisting you with as little as a map of the hotel. It doesn't exist nor do their smiles as they perform their duties. The staff is robotic and uninterested in this property that needs so many little repairs that it must be common that this ship is going down, and it is going down fast. I have a suspicion that workers no longer live in their bodies. Someone sucked the life out of them. There are so many things that need repair at this hotel that it kind of breaks your heart that someone is letting such a "once nice place" go down so quickly. One of my biggest complaints is black mold. This property has it and would most likely already have been closed down in most countries. My bathroom was full of it. That and the hand prints on the window glass from previous customers that separates the bathroom from the room were my pet peeve. This hotel leaks everywhere! That lends to creating a mold problem that will not go away unless this place is bulldozed. And it will be one day! Another pet peeve was the disinteresting breakfast. I am not an egg eater, and that left me with very few interesting options. My favorite item (potatoes of all things) were always cold. One bright morning, I saw a worker bring in new potatoes from the kitchen. I was the very first one to run to the serving tray and pop open the lid because nothing else being served excited me. To my horror, the newly placed potatoes were cold as well.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3A02