or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3514 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3514)
Sort by:
Ho S. Groups Hong Kong, July 3, 2012
Nice view, great position, good services

close to Kata beach, cheap motor rental, just 250 THB a day!!
9.3
Lived in the sea view room. The room is clean, big, trendy. Really nice view, can see the sunset there. But it take 2 lifts to get to my floor , whcich it a little bit inconvenient.
Restaurant Tip: Try the TwoChef near it, its really good!!
Mohamamd A. Solo travelers Saudi Arabia, July 2, 2012
Very pleasant stay, good value and clam atmosphere

Pools, relaxing mood, cleanliness, Mac Mini.
8.3
I liked the hotel very much, the services and facilities are to expectations and more. Kata area is very nice and somewhat quite comparing to other parts of Phuket. I enjoyed the pool and used it everyday. I haven't tried the breakfast, because I am a lazy guy and I wake up late. The staff was friendly and helpful, although English was not a strong factor of the staff. The only negatives that I had are that the room was very up hill and hard to get to, it takes quite the effort to get to the room from the lobby. If you're not the walking kind of person I suggest to take a close room, or you may hate your stay. Another small negative was the unavailability of the Euro 2012 matches on their TV, I really wanted to watch the final live. Overall, it was one of the best values in my hotels experiences.
Nongluck O. Couples Norway, July 2, 2012
No service , No smile

Grand Pool wieu, was a joike. Have pictures if you want from room 1706
3.3
Dirty, old hotel with no service Dead mouse in the bathroom in the night !! Have picture
Loga K. Couples India, July 2, 2012
Good location and clean swimming pool

Pool access was great fun
8
Strongly recommend this hotel with pool access but if your not a walking person do not book on high floors.
Restaurant Tip: There are some cool restaurant both local and international. The hotel is surrounded with nice shopping spots and great for a nice walk at night after dinner.
Man S. Couples Malaysia, July 2, 2012
very nice and relexing

good view and great location
7.7
Tow of us stayed at this hotel for 3 days. The service was excellent, staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered a great selection for everyone. The only negative was the room on the hill, but just the design. The pool is awesome especially the pool access room.
Susan D. Groups Australia, July 1, 2012
One of the best...except for the steps!!!

Fantasic pool, gorgeous rooms!
9.7
we (9 of us) had a wonderful week staying here. the rooms were beautiful and the pool access was wonderful! breakfast had lots of variety and the hotel is walking distance to beach and very close to shopping. the only downfall was that our rooms were on the 9th floor and you could only get the lift to the 6th...then you had to hike up steep paths and steps to your floor. this really needs to be changed as it was very hard for us in the heat!! if staying here ask for lower floor rooms. even with this downfall we really loved the hotel and enjoyed staying here!
Shopping Tip: Lots of shopping within walking distance and a 20 minute taxi ride to Patong for more shopping and nightlife!!!
Nicholas J. Solo travelers Australia, June 30, 2012
Staff are as cold as ice

Good value for money hotel
5.3
This was this best value for money hotel I stayed at in Phuket but I certainly wont be returning due to the staff. If you dont mind staff wo act with complete indifference to your needs as a guest and can look after yourself then by all means stay here its a good room(DVD Player, LCD flat TV, comfy bed, big bathroom blah blah) I stayed in almost every hotel on the island and its the best around for value at the price.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Negotiate a fare BEFORE you get into a taxi, pretend to walk away if you dont get a reasonable price(which you probably wont in Phuket) Dont be afraid to be extremely rude and condesceding)
Corey C. Couples Australia, June 29, 2012
Hotel was nice, bit of a walk to the back rooms

Good price, ok location
7.3
we stayed in the grand poolside room. room was nice, view of kara and the hotel was awesome. only problem was getting to the room, the hotel is on quite a hill and only have 2 lifts at various intervals, it's a killer to walk to in the heat. staff moved us to a lower room when requested though. good, cheap badly designed though.
Shopping Tip: Awesome thai guy selling clothes as you enter the hill (I think hes the only thai left, all the shops are being taken over by indian people) sells at a set price no painful batering.
Jennifer T. Groups Indonesia, June 29, 2012
Great value for the money

Pool right outside of the room
8.3
We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we got a room upgrade at check in from pool view to pool access room. Staff is fairly friendly and responsive. Room is pretty spacious and they also gave us free minibar (juice, soda, beer and bottled water). There is DVD player in every room and they have a small collection of dvd library that we can borrow from. A slight drawback from this hotel is that we have to climb up the slopes and 100 steps to the room (our room was almost at the top of the hill). Buggy service is only available for check in and check out.
Michele L. Families with young children Singapore, June 28, 2012
Definitely recommend for young family or couples

In-room jacuzzi and pool access on nearly every level; multiple pools (11?!); proximity to beach
8
A few qualifications first: 1. My husband and I are quite fussy travellers but on polar opposites; (a) He's one for great value and a real pain when it comes to room service; (b) While I look for front office service, hotel design and facilities (though I'm no snob), proximity to amenities and activities (namely the beach, shopping & supplies) We're not a particularly young couple but we have a young son (barely 3 years). This is my fifth trip to Phuket but my first in Kata. I highly recommend both Kata and Sugar Palm Grand! In fact I would return. The beach itself is of a much better quality, right down to the quality of the sand The hotel is not full-service but they managed to impress even my husband so kudos to their team. The catered breakfast buffet is pretty decent for what its worth. The Orchid Restaurant located across the hotel lobby (its mot part of Sugar Palm's mgmt) will cater to most of your requests (both Western and Thai) throughout the rest of the day til night, but for quality of food and service I recommend The Orchid located at Kata Noi instead. Very good price too (great value). I loved the room, and so did our son - he's fav being the jacuzzi on the balcony & pools. The room already accommodates an extra single bed in the room so I was a little disturbed that they charged us for the bed since toddlers stay and eat for free. Incidentally, the Sugar Palm Spa & Resort is just at the foot of the Hillside. And that slope, it is a bit of a effort but at 40+ and admittedly quite unfit, it really wasn't too much trouble. My other gripe is the button to call the lift - which serves 1st thru 4th levels - need to be changed or serviced. It's using a sensor system and has definitely lost sensitivity. You get many people tapping and tapping and tapping in increasing frustration. All in, we took up a promo on Agoda, a 3 -night stay; extended another 2 nights happily, would recommend and would return. Make of that w
Restaurant Tip: There's another Orchid Restaurant located at Kata Noi - recommended! We went for dinner one evening, 2 adults, 2 orders of Tom yam, 1 chicken dish, 1 morning glory and beer, only 1000 baht. But more importantly the service staff were really helpful and accommodating. Trust me my husband is really high maintenance and even he was impressed We wanted a late check out but due to an oversight on my part, this was not the case. The staff stored our bags (no surprise) but we really appreciated the use of the facilities esp the shower rooms and towels.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3C05