or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3568 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3568)
Sort by:
Yip R. Couples Afghanistan, July 10, 2012
Steep slopes, but nice views

nice views of kata beach, clean rooms...
6.7
- steep slopes which may cause some difficulties for the eldery - nice view of kata city area - choose a mid level rooms for the best of both worlds
Restaurant Tip: the restaurant opposite the hotel serves good breakfast and meals.
Yip R. Couples Afghanistan, July 10, 2012
Nice Jacuzzi room with nice view

thoughful design and nice view of kata city area
7.7
recommended for couples on honeymoon with theme lights in the room, nice view of kata city area. good breakfast served.
Ang E. Couples Singapore, July 10, 2012
great location

4 types of free drinks for guest
7
good rooms. We checked in for 2 rooms and the staff gave us 1 on the 1st floor, the other on the 3rd floor. We wanted to stay next to each other & the staff said is full. They dont bother To help us, instead blame it on agoda, the reason is bcos we booked through Agoda. Honestly that was the 2nd time they blame Agoda. This is my 2nd time staying there& It will be my last. Also, dont be surprise if u dont get the rooms you booked, cos they will always say they upgraded you to a" pool access room." They dont show concern why guests booked jacuzzi room or sea view room. As long as u booked through agoda,they can upgrade yours anytime, cos pool access room is much more expensive.
Restaurant Tip: Try largo tapas bar. they serve good spanish tapas & paella. 2mins away from sugar palm grand hill
Lawrence P. Couples United States of America, July 9, 2012
Sinking Ship!

The location is excellent for the money!
3.3
Someone invested a lot of money in this property, but they are not evidently interested in maintaining their investment. Although the hotel is well located and has excellent pricing, you will find a myriad of things that need improvement both physically and in the area of customer service. In short, it is a sinking ship! Reading the other reviews, I heartily agree that this property is difficult to maneuver around. Yes, you will most likely be climbing hills or ramps to get to your hillside room. Don't count on the staff assisting you with as little as a map of the hotel. It doesn't exist nor do their smiles as they perform their duties. The staff is robotic and uninterested in this property that needs so many little repairs that it must be common that this ship is going down, and it is going down fast. I have a suspicion that workers no longer live in their bodies. Someone sucked the life out of them. There are so many things that need repair at this hotel that it kind of breaks your heart that someone is letting such a "once nice place" go down so quickly. One of my biggest complaints is black mold. This property has it and would most likely already have been closed down in most countries. My bathroom was full of it. That and the hand prints on the window glass from previous customers that separates the bathroom from the room were my pet peeve. This hotel leaks everywhere! That lends to creating a mold problem that will not go away unless this place is bulldozed. And it will be one day! Another pet peeve was the disinteresting breakfast. I am not an egg eater, and that left me with very few interesting options. My favorite item (potatoes of all things) were always cold. One bright morning, I saw a worker bring in new potatoes from the kitchen. I was the very first one to run to the serving tray and pop open the lid because nothing else being served excited me. To my horror, the newly placed potatoes were cold as well.
Kenton W. Couples United States of America, July 9, 2012
Great location, nice sized room, need upgrading

Pool access room was nice, large tub for two, great views, large sized room, close to shops and beach
7
It rained the entire time we were at this property, so we spent a lot of time in the room, which was large enough for us to work out in, lounge in the tub and pool, and surf the net on the flat screen TV. Internet is sketchy as the wireless blips in and out, and the property can really use upgrading as there is plenty of rust, and the towel bars and soap shelf were practically falling off the walls. The staff was attentive, but they could use training in communication skills. They called our room for various reasons, and after gaining the answers they sought, it was they M.O. to just hang up! The gym did not have any working equipment and was deplorable.
Resty I. Couples Indonesia, July 8, 2012
Great Hotel with helpful staffs

Far from the shopping area
7.7
The hotel was nice, but access to the hotel was pretty difficult, because we have to climb over so many stairs. Because we got the room with pool view. Not so good with pregnant lady because the elevator pretty far for the room. The room was big, nice view, clean, and the bathroom was awesome.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Went to kata beach only 15 minutes away from the hotel. But don't come to phuket at may - august because the weather was bad, rainy everyday, we can't go to the beach. The restaurant and night life closed at 10pm. Restaurants and foods was ok, not good enough but ok. Beers are cheap and good.
William W. Solo travelers United States of America, July 7, 2012
Hillside nest

Walk to the beach
6.3
The Sugar Palm is on a steep hillside over looking Kata Beach. My room was on the next to highest level with a view of the terraced swimming pools and the hillside. The room was large and well appointed. the bathroom had a large walk-in shower and a full bath tub. The double wash basins were outside in the entry way, so lots of room.There was a good sized closet with a safety box, but too few hangers. Bathrobes and slippers were provided as well as Crocs for walking to the beach. There was a nice balcony with table and chairs, plus a desk area facing the window with wifi. The main draw back is the hike up the hill to get to the room. The hotel is configured in a horseshoe and there were lifts on the other side, so I had to walk down 2 levels, then cross over, go up a level to the lift, the down 4 levels to another lift then down again to the main lobby level where the buffet breakfast was served. Once I figured it out it was fine, but not a place for a person with knee problems or mobility issues. I asked the desk if the had a map of the hotel to help navigate, but they just said no, and didn't offer any help at all. Once you are down on street level it is an easy walk to the beach, and a variety of eateries. Kata is a bit isolated, there was no bus service to Patong, but for 30Bht you could go from Kata to Phuket City on the other side of the island 2 hour round trip. Taxis are very expensive and seem to have a death grip on tourists. The hotel was a little rough around the edges, not as well kept as you'd expect from this type of resort hotel, but if you didn't look too close it was fine.
Yan L. Couples China, July 6, 2012
great and worth hotel

the pool access room is greal
9
staffs are kindly, enviorment is great, dilicious foods are aroud the hotel. of course the pool access room is very nice. if you like to relaxe, here is the best hotel i think~
Restaurant Tip: the restaurantsat the crosscorner are very good.
Andrey K. Business travelers Russia, July 5, 2012
Good hotel for relaxation and business

large and comfortable rooms, good location, wired and wireless internet, car rental service, free car parking
8.3
Hotel is located on the hill and rooms very nicely located trough out several levels. There is a restaurant and massage services right near the hotel. Rooms in the hotel are quite large for the price they ask :) Rooms have free wireless internet and those with garden view have also wired internet access (please insure you take the network wire with you - I have not found any in the room). Hotel has car rental service and free car parking - very convenient. The beach is also near by. Internet connection is fast enough for skype, youtube and torrent. Problems: We met three issues in the hotel. 1. Internet access was not very stable. Wifi was time to time dying and even access through wire couple of times disappeared for an hour or two. ( I was there for 13 nights). 2. Bath stopper was broken. The hotel staff fixed it couple of times but the construction of the bath is not very good - so it was breaking constantly. So if you are a bath fan - it is not very good for you. Other wise you can use shower - it is separate and working :) 3. Once A\C was broken but they fixed it within an hour. Summary: Very good hotel for the price they ask.
Hotel Feature Tip: Good for business and family trip.
Chan C. Couples Hong Kong, July 4, 2012
Nice hotel, good decoration with pool excess

Pool excess and value for money comparing with the condition and comfort
8
It is much worth for the money. Good and relax to stay their, you can imagine the pool excess room with such low room rate.
Hotel Feature Tip: Hotel was built on the hill, so it was a bit tired if you stay in the higher level room.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3B08