or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Pool Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting Room Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.2

based on
3550 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (3550)
Sort by:
Jennifer T. Groups Indonesia, June 29, 2012
Great value for the money

Pool right outside of the room
8.3
We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we got a room upgrade at check in from pool view to pool access room. Staff is fairly friendly and responsive. Room is pretty spacious and they also gave us free minibar (juice, soda, beer and bottled water). There is DVD player in every room and they have a small collection of dvd library that we can borrow from. A slight drawback from this hotel is that we have to climb up the slopes and 100 steps to the room (our room was almost at the top of the hill). Buggy service is only available for check in and check out.
Michele L. Families with young children Singapore, June 28, 2012
Definitely recommend for young family or couples

In-room jacuzzi and pool access on nearly every level; multiple pools (11?!); proximity to beach
8
A few qualifications first: 1. My husband and I are quite fussy travellers but on polar opposites; (a) He's one for great value and a real pain when it comes to room service; (b) While I look for front office service, hotel design and facilities (though I'm no snob), proximity to amenities and activities (namely the beach, shopping & supplies) We're not a particularly young couple but we have a young son (barely 3 years). This is my fifth trip to Phuket but my first in Kata. I highly recommend both Kata and Sugar Palm Grand! In fact I would return. The beach itself is of a much better quality, right down to the quality of the sand The hotel is not full-service but they managed to impress even my husband so kudos to their team. The catered breakfast buffet is pretty decent for what its worth. The Orchid Restaurant located across the hotel lobby (its mot part of Sugar Palm's mgmt) will cater to most of your requests (both Western and Thai) throughout the rest of the day til night, but for quality of food and service I recommend The Orchid located at Kata Noi instead. Very good price too (great value). I loved the room, and so did our son - he's fav being the jacuzzi on the balcony & pools. The room already accommodates an extra single bed in the room so I was a little disturbed that they charged us for the bed since toddlers stay and eat for free. Incidentally, the Sugar Palm Spa & Resort is just at the foot of the Hillside. And that slope, it is a bit of a effort but at 40+ and admittedly quite unfit, it really wasn't too much trouble. My other gripe is the button to call the lift - which serves 1st thru 4th levels - need to be changed or serviced. It's using a sensor system and has definitely lost sensitivity. You get many people tapping and tapping and tapping in increasing frustration. All in, we took up a promo on Agoda, a 3 -night stay; extended another 2 nights happily, would recommend and would return. Make of that w
Restaurant Tip: There's another Orchid Restaurant located at Kata Noi - recommended! We went for dinner one evening, 2 adults, 2 orders of Tom yam, 1 chicken dish, 1 morning glory and beer, only 1000 baht. But more importantly the service staff were really helpful and accommodating. Trust me my husband is really high maintenance and even he was impressed We wanted a late check out but due to an oversight on my part, this was not the case. The staff stored our bags (no surprise) but we really appreciated the use of the facilities esp the shower rooms and towels.
Yao Y. Couples China, June 27, 2012
sea view location, fatastic swimming pool

Clean and tidy in the room and customer's services is good.
9.3
the staff helped us carry our luggage up to the hill. i like the amazing ladder style swimming pool in building a. when we arrived there, the smell in the room is a little bit moist. then i complainted about this problem, the staff went down to bring a bottle of air spray to fresh our room immediately. basically the location in kata beach is really good, very convenient to get some food and drink down to the hill. u do not wonder there is no night life in kata beach. this is absolutely a wonderful, dreaming and fatastic places to stay.
Makiko K. Solo travelers Japan, June 27, 2012
nice room with a big bathtub

location, bathtub, swimming pool
9
Ang E. Couples Singapore, June 26, 2012
good location&& city view

good room size. value for money
8.7
If you dont mind walking a bit more, this will be the right choice for you. The price you pay is worth it. Great room size. Pool access room have tremendous city view. Jacuzzi room is great too. If you stay more than 3 days, you pay cheaper price for it. These are some perks to draw more customers. Easy access to eatery, massage & shopping.also most important is tbe beach.
Restaurant Tip: Good coffee, good food & cocktails at Largo tapas bar & restaurant Located close to sugarpalm hillside grand. It is a die die must try eatery place.
Koh S. Couples Malaysia, June 25, 2012
beautiful hotel but service is not that good

view from the hill
5.7
the access card is so lousy that we have electric cut off so many times. and surprisingly, they did not replace one for us. and also we can see the pools that can be access from rooms are dirty. overall, this hotel looks nice from outside as it is at the hill. but it is not well maintained. however, i still can accept it because affordable and worthwhile.
Tong T. Groups Singapore, June 25, 2012
Good location for shopping

Nice pool
6.7
We booked this hotel for a holiday with friends after our exams in order to unwind and de-stress. It was a good choice and good location. Most suited for our purpose to just relax and enjoy the sun.
William T. Couples Singapore, June 21, 2012
Nice hotel on the slope of a hill...

price is very reasonable, rooms are relatively clean, best part is that we got free set of beer, coke & fruit juice in the mini bar everyday!
8.3
This is a nice hotel... a short walk from the beach and the shops. Instead of having a big pool, it has several pools, 2 bigger ones, and a number of smaller ones shared by those units that have pool access. Take note that this hotel is note quite suitable for kids... no kids pool, no disney TV channel. What i personally didn't quite like was that some parts of the room were left as plain cement, and so the room was quite drab. Service was generally quite good.
Shopping Tip: There are no major shopping centres in KATA, but there are lots of minimarts, so do worry about supplies. You will also be spoiled for choice when it comes to restaurants. It may be worth taking a trip to phuket town on the local bus -which looks like a truck - costs 30baht/pax each way. But take note that they drop you in the middle of nowhere, and you will have to take a cab to the shopping centre (Robinson) - costs about 100-150 baht. Alternately, find out where to alight en-route and walk to 'Central Festival' shopping centre.
Seidoh J. Couples Japan, June 19, 2012
Uncomfortable...

Location (Near to Kata Beach, 7-11 store)
6
Location & The Hotel itself are OK. However, most of staffs are seems not trained yet even Front Staffs. They are not friendly enough at all, and don't try to make apologize to us guests. During our staying, there was a several times of Card-Key problems, and we had to go to Front or use emmergency phone to contact Front staff everytime, seems a much number of guests ware facing same problems. It is much inconvenient for us customers but they didn't say SORRY to us. and Just say OK OK instead. Let me say that again, Hotel itself is ok, but sorry to say that the staffs attitude was totally not acceptable regrettably.
Tanvir I. Groups Australia, June 18, 2012
Great hotel

The view
9.3
this was a great place to unwind and relax. i stayed in one of the pool access room. which was lot of fun. if you are in phuket for the nigtlife in patong then this hotel is bit far, around 10-15mins by taxi or tuk tuk. travel cost to patong is roughly around each way so it can get quiet expensive if you are travelling to patong everyday. but for relaxing and privacy this is a great place to stay and i would definately stay here if i was coming back to phuket.
Travel tip: visit after beach bar, its worth the view

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Facilities

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

AS-AGWEB-3A03