Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.3

based on
3855 reviews

1678 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (3855)
Sort by:
Erleen C. Families with young children Malaysia, August 31, 2012
Lovely stay but with regrets

Jacuzzi, Swimming Pool, Near to Beach, Mostly Friendly Staffs
5
The stay was lovely, as I think we have correct expectation of the hotel. There are no marbles on the floor, so have to wear the provided bedroom sliper to avoid cold feet. The balcony lightings for the jacuzzi was not functioning but the house keeping team is quick to fix it. The lift to the 4th floor is out-of-service for my entire stay which is a low point. I have to carry my baby up and down, which is tiresome. Have to make a point to confirm the lift is in good working condition, else have ground floor room. On the last day, I have to check out 5.30am and have informed the Front Desk. The officers confirmed that they can pack a Breakfast-in-a-box for us but need our reminder the next day. So we remind them again the next day. However, on the check-out day. unfortunately the Front Desk Officer did not prepare and his reason is no record on book and previous officers did not book. I was furious as if they cannot provide certain services, do not promise, so I can prepare breakfast the day before. We are left with no break fast and a hungry baby. And a Front Desk officer with "I don't know" and "no staff", and a Front Desk Manager who upon the officer's phone call, responsed that no breakfast and no refund and nothing else. The Front Desk officer even challenged us to make complaint to the hotel and on internet. At last we have to directly approach the kitchen staff and prepare our own breakfast-in-a-box. Lucky for us, the kitchen staff has arrived (of course they have to prepare before the breakfast buffet start on 6.30am, right?), which makes me wonder about the "No staff" statement? If you want to stay here, make sure you do not have any special request, else you may be dissapointed. At last, this leave a bitter taste after quite a lovely stay in Phuket. I have to rethink my recommendation to anyone who want to stay here again.
Hotel Feature Tip: If your children can and love to swim, the Pool Access is definite a good choice. But you have to bear with "No special service/request required" stand. The jacuzzi is on the balcony, so the person on the road or hotel opposite your room may be able to view.
Report this review
Jingjing W. Couples China, August 31, 2012
unique hotel in great location

location, facilities, view
9
It's my first trip to Phuket, Kata is a nice and peaceful place to stay. We enjoyed the hotel very much, the staff is very helpful and nice,we checked-in early around 10am,the sea view room is very nice, but next time I might try the pool-access.
Restaurant Tip: Two chefs by the hotel is very nice,reasonably priced
Report this review
Peh X. Couples Singapore, August 30, 2012
Decent hotel Value for money

Pool excess room
5.7
room is very spacious, comes with apple mac computer with lcd screen hang on the wall. negative is that the wifi is too slow with bad reception. the breakfast variety is very limited but taste fine. service is acceptable. hotel is located uphill right at the end of kata. not recommended for travelers without having motorcycle or car.
Report this review
Krzysztof B. Groups Poland, August 29, 2012
Good value for money

Very cosy room
9
Good breakfast. Nice and well maintained pool. Very helpful and kind staff although not so good at English.
Report this review
Yan T. Couples Hong Kong, August 29, 2012
nice staff nice place
6
The hotel is a bit hard to find, but very near from the subway station or airport bus terminal. From Gyeongbukgung station exit 3, walk ahead until you find olive restaurant, and turn right when you see convenience store. On the alley, walk about 100m and turn left. The hotel is located in the end of the alley. You cannot really see any sign from outside though, luckily the staff was outside at the time we arrived and greeted us. Staff speaks english finely, and very nice. They even helped us to keep our big luggages while we were away outside town 2 days until we checked in again after. It has hairdryer, Lan internet, water dispenser, and the room is very warm. The cons: the ondol bed is a bit hard to sleep on, bathroom is kinda small, and the room is not that soundproof. You could hear people at room beside you chatting at night. Really worth for what you paid.
Report this review
Krzysztof B. Groups Poland, August 28, 2012
Good value for money

Near the beach, good breakfast, nice staff
9.7
Low season so we paid quite little for the rooms. Breakfast is good, some dishes change so it's not all the same food everytime. Rooms well maintained and comfortable. Clean and well upkept swimming pool. The road to the hotel goes really uphill! It's about 100 m steep slope. Most likely will stay again if i go to Phuket.
Report this review
Sze Y. Solo travelers Singapore, August 28, 2012
nice room, value for money

near beach
9.3
nice n clean hotel. u need to climb a steep slope from street level to lobby area, then take a lift to your room. depending on which type of rooms u will be staying, u may need to change lifts or walk up slopes/stairs. room is big (enough for me as i traveled alone), i had both a queen size bed and a single bed. hotel offers a complimentary packet drink, a can of Singha beer and a coke. not forgetting 2 bottles of drinking water. location wise is great as it is just a short walk to kata beach, as well as kata noi beach, which i enjoyed the latter more.
Report this review
Natasha H. Solo travelers Singapore, August 27, 2012
Memorable

Good guest service
9.3
I had left something in the hotel but had already left for the airport, i asked the driver if he could turn around. He immediately made a call to the hotel and my stuff was waiting for me at the lobby. It was very quick with no fuss and i was still early for my flight.
Travel tip: Perfect view of mountains and town. Located on a hill. Needed to climb slopes to get to room.
Report this review
Lei X. Couples China, August 26, 2012
Nice hotel with grate location

nice rooms, a lot of pools, spacious room, near to kata beach
8.3
The hotel itself is very nice! The room is spacious, clean, big bathroom with both shower room and bathtub. Location is good as less than 10 mins walk to the beach, a lot of restaurants around. There're many pools in the hotel, it's a pity I didn't take the pool access room. The cons are definitely the steps to the room, our room is at the other side without elevator. The first 2 days we didn't even realised there's elevator in the hotel. Because it's built on hillside, so you have the take a very big walk if there's no elevator to your room. If you travel with elders or kids, you'd better ask for lower level room.
Travel tip: Rent a car in Phuket if you travel in group of 2 and above. You will save all the troubles of bargaining with taxi and have all the freedom to travel around the island!
Report this review
Yue W. Couples China, August 25, 2012
good hotel

it's good for a vacation!
10
Its room is really large and clean. The service is also good.it's near to the seaside.even in the room can see the sea. And it has clean swimming pools.
Restaurant Tip: Go down the hotel and turn rught, then walk along for 10 minutes .there is the red chair which is cheap and delicious.
Report this review
Previous page 631 - 640 of 1678 reviews Next page
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - InteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Baby Palm RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Baby Palm RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - BreakfastSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - BreakfastSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - BreakfastSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Baby Palm RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - DinnerSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Private FunctionSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - BeachSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C02