Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel

1 Coktanote soi 3, Kata Road, Muang, Kata, Phuket, Thailand 83100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Surroundings Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Surroundings Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Surroundings Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Surroundings Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Surroundings Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - View Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Surroundings Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Deluxe Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool Access Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Interior Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Lobby Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Baby Palm Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Breakfast Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Breakfast Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Breakfast Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Baby Palm Restaurant Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Exterior
Area: Kata Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

from 3769 reviews

Value for Money
8.6
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (3769)
Sort by:
Rachel H. Couples New Zealand, January 28, 2012
Great View, Quiet but central to all your needs

Modern Room, Swimming Pool off room
6.7
We found the hotel overall to be a good experience. When we checked in we were up-graded to a room with a pool off the terrace. The location of the hotel was perfect to go into the town of Kata and to the beach. Our room was right at the top and the back of the hotel and was very quiet away from the crowds and had a nice view over the beach. The room was very modern and minimalist and very large so when you are there for a few days it is nice to come back to. The room smelled a little damp and without the air conditioning on all the time the smell got a little worse but nothing to ruin your trip. House keeping was a little erratic. Somedays they would clean everything and the next they would only do some things, forget a towel etc. In general the room was pretty clean. The staff were friendly but not overly helpful. Breakfast was ok but not something that would be a major selling point.
Report this review
Melanie C. Couples Australia, January 27, 2012
Incredible hotel and great service!

Amazing infinity pools, great views, great service, two minute walk to the beach and shops.
9.3
this was our second stay at sugar palm, both times we got a free upgrade - the first to a jacuzzi room and the second to a pool entrance room. the service was lovely, the restaurant next door is super cheap and the food it great and its only a two minute walk down to the beach and shops. highly recommend.
Nightlife Tip: Its only a 400 Baht taxi/tuk tuk drive into Patong for fancy dining or Bangla Road nightlife.
Report this review
Joey O. Solo travelers Japan, January 25, 2012
Great location, 5 mins walk from Kata beach

Good location, large room, modern look
8.3
sugar palm grand hillside hotel just manages to tick most of the boxes. very comfortable hotel with large room, and located within walking distance (5 mins at most) from kata beach, and there are plenty of restaurants easily accessible by walk. buffet breakfast is so-so at best, and free wifi on high floors is quite weak, but overall not a bad choice.
Report this review
Nicole S. Couples Canada, January 23, 2012
Nice stay

nice pool, close to beach
6.3
This is a nice hotel. Very modern with concrete floors, walls, countertops. It's a bit of a hike up the hillside to the street below, but we didn't mind. Anyone with mobility issues may though. Pro's -location to beach and restaurants/shops -very nice pool -good decor -scooter rental onsite Con's -elevators at opposite ends and stairs make it a criss-cross to get to rooms -pool bar is hardly ever staffed -staff aren't the friendliest (especially for Thailand) -no restaurant onsite
Report this review
Xulei Y. Families with older children China, January 22, 2012
Beautiful and lovely hotel

Modern design
8
This is our second time to stay in this hotel previous one is half year ago, really enjoy staying here five minutes to the beautiful kata beach, the breakfast is quite ok lots of choice, the restraint next to the hotel is very nice, the price is affordable, the food is tasty. Most like the modern design of the hotel the children like the swimming pool very much
Restaurant Tip: The restarant opposite to the hotel is very nice
Report this review
Claire P. Couples Australia, January 21, 2012
Great hotel in a central location

Really friendly staff, great location, clean and modern rooms
8.3
Had a great stay at the Sugar Palm Grand Hillside. The room was quite big, very modern and clean. Buffet breakfast was great with many choices from regular bacon and eggs, pancakes, french toast, croissants and fresh fruit, to pad thai, fried rice and meat dishes. We had to walk up a very steep hill to get to our room at the very back of the hotel (there is a lift but it only takes you half way). The view was great as we could see the main street, and the beach and the hills. One other negative would be the slow room service and continuous calls back to say they didn't have any left of the meals that I ordered (about 5 times for the one order). Other than that we very much enjoyed our stay. We would stay here again but would request a lower level, and a pool access room.
Report this review
Paul T. Couples Australia, January 18, 2012
Great location

Location is great - away from the action of the main road, but a very close walk to the street, beech and great restaurants.
6
this was a return stay for my partner and i. unfortunately, 12 months on, we both noticed that in terms of maintenacne, the sugar palm grand hillside is deteriorating quite rapidly. service is satisfactory, however some may be disappointed. once again, we loved having a pool access room, although this time our room smelled quite mildewy and was rather unpleasant. my sister and her partner were staying in a room on the next level and it was interesting to note that their room smelled fine, so perhaps it is from the pool? the pools at this hotel are lovely, although they could do with a really good clean. there is a great little swim-up bar, however it is rarely staffed and the hours seem to differ each day. we would probably still return to the hotel due to the great location and value for money.
Restaurant Tip: Kampong Kata Hill is a must do in terms of fine Thai dining in an idealic setting. After two visits, this is still my favourite restaurant in the area. Cafe Opera is an outstanding (and cheap!) choice for a lovely lunch time meal and afternoon cocktails. Also good at night time, with a great solo guitarist/singer.
Report this review
Janine R. Couples Australia, January 18, 2012
Great Hotel, Great Location

Central Position
10
sugarpalm hillside is one of my favourite hotels in kata beach we have stayed there twice now and will stay again next time, large rooms, private pools, great location. if you are looking for something a bit modern and private this is the hotel for you,although it is looking a bit tired with some loose fixtures and fittings overall it is a great stay.
Hotel Feature Tip: Great location 2 minutes from shopping/restaurants, very steep access to the hotel
Report this review
Fiona G. Couples Australia, January 18, 2012
Nice location, nice hotel

Location, the pool
8
This was a fairly nice hotel. Great location to the shops and Kata beach. The hotel has a great multi-level pool and breaky in the morning is good. Unfortunately the rooms smelt moldy...
Restaurant Tip: Cafe Opera is a great place to eat and only a few minutes walk from the hotel!
Report this review
Andrey C. Couples United States of America, January 12, 2012
Nice alternative to the craziness of Patong

Spacious rooms, nice pool area, close to Kata Beach
8.3
after a crazy 40-minute taxi ride from phuket airport, we were rewarded upon our arrival with an upgrade to a grand jacuzzi deluxe room, helping to make a great first impression. the room was spacious with a queen bed, another twin bed, and yet another daybed/sofa, not to mention the featured jacuzzi tub on the balcony and a partial view of the beach and pool area. not too shabby, except for the need to take two seperate elevators to get to your room (we were on the 9th floor). the breakfast/brunch buffet, which was served at the baby palm restaurant, had a grand abundance of most everything you'd want or need--eggs cooked to order, ham/bacon/sausage, toast, pastries, muffins, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruits, and even thai-style stir fried vegetables, noodles, and my favorite--rice porridge with minced meat! nothing like some comforting, simple, yet tasty porridge to break the monotony of continental breakfast fare you'd expect at every other hotel in thailand. the hotel is just a mere 5-minute walk to kata beach, where if can sometimes be challenging to find a spot to park yourself amongst the legions of scandinavian and russian vacationers working in their tans. along the way you'll find everything you need: restaurants, bars, 7-eleven or other mini-mart knockoffs, currency exchanges, massage/salons, souvenir shops, and of course taxi stands ready to whisk you away to patong or other nearby beaches. oh yes, there is also a "concierge" of sorts at the hotel (between the lobby and the restaurant) who can help book tours and getaways around phuket... not sure if they offer the best price, but it's nice to have nearby.
Hotel Feature Tip: If the beach is too much for you, you can always just hang out at the hotel's infinity pool and cabana area, with a small bar on the side!
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel PhuketSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SurroundingsSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Pool AccessSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand Jacuzzi DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - InteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Baby Palm RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - BreakfastSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - BreakfastSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - BreakfastSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Baby Palm RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ExteriorSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - EntranceSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Grand DeluxeSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - FacilitiesSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - 7th HEAVEN Sky Bar & RestaurantSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Meeting RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Fitness RoomSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - ViewSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - LobbySugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - SpaSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - BeachSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming PoolSugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel Phuket - Swimming Pool

Customer Reviews - Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Hotel, Phuket

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05