Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 4036 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.4
  • Value for money 8.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Rachel H. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in January 2012
Great View, Quiet but central to all your needs
Modern Room, Swimming Pool off room
We found the hotel overall to be a good experience. When we checked in we were up-graded to a room with a pool off the terrace. The location of the hotel was perfect to go into the town of Kata and to the beach. Our room was right at the top and the back of the hotel and was very quiet away from the crowds and had a nice view over the beach. The room was very modern and minimalist and very large so when you are there for a few days it is nice to come back to. The room smelled a little damp and without the air conditioning on all the time the smell got a little worse but nothing to ruin your trip. House keeping was a little erratic. Somedays they would clean everything and the next they would only do some things, forget a towel etc. In general the room was pretty clean. The staff were friendly but not overly helpful. Breakfast was ok but not something that would be a major selling point.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Janine R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in January 2012
Great Hotel, Great Location
Central Position
sugarpalm hillside is one of my favourite hotels in kata beach we have stayed there twice now and will stay again next time, large rooms, private pools, great location. if you are looking for something a bit modern and private this is the hotel for you,although it is looking a bit tired with some loose fixtures and fittings overall it is a great stay.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Fiona G. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Nice location, nice hotel
Location, the pool
This was a fairly nice hotel. Great location to the shops and Kata beach. The hotel has a great multi-level pool and breaky in the morning is good. Unfortunately the rooms smelt moldy...
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Paul T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Great location
Location is great - away from the action of the main road, but a very close walk to the street, beech and great restaurants.
this was a return stay for my partner and i. unfortunately, 12 months on, we both noticed that in terms of maintenacne, the sugar palm grand hillside is deteriorating quite rapidly. service is satisfactory, however some may be disappointed. once again, we loved having a pool access room, although this time our room smelled quite mildewy and was rather unpleasant. my sister and her partner were staying in a room on the next level and it was interesting to note that their room smelled fine, so perhaps it is from the pool? the pools at this hotel are lovely, although they could do with a really good clean. there is a great little swim-up bar, however it is rarely staffed and the hours seem to differ each day. we would probably still return to the hotel due to the great location and value for money.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Nicole S. from Canada
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2012
Nice stay
nice pool, close to beach
This is a nice hotel. Very modern with concrete floors, walls, countertops. It's a bit of a hike up the hillside to the street below, but we didn't mind. Anyone with mobility issues may though. Pro's -location to beach and restaurants/shops -very nice pool -good decor -scooter rental onsite Con's -elevators at opposite ends and stairs make it a criss-cross to get to rooms -pool bar is hardly ever staffed -staff aren't the friendliest (especially for Thailand) -no restaurant onsite
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Andrey C. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Nice alternative to the craziness of Patong
Spacious rooms, nice pool area, close to Kata Beach
after a crazy 40-minute taxi ride from phuket airport, we were rewarded upon our arrival with an upgrade to a grand jacuzzi deluxe room, helping to make a great first impression. the room was spacious with a queen bed, another twin bed, and yet another daybed/sofa, not to mention the featured jacuzzi tub on the balcony and a partial view of the beach and pool area. not too shabby, except for the need to take two seperate elevators to get to your room (we were on the 9th floor). the breakfast/brunch buffet, which was served at the baby palm restaurant, had a grand abundance of most everything you'd want or need--eggs cooked to order, ham/bacon/sausage, toast, pastries, muffins, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruits, and even thai-style stir fried vegetables, noodles, and my favorite--rice porridge with minced meat! nothing like some comforting, simple, yet tasty porridge to break the monotony of continental breakfast fare you'd expect at every other hotel in thailand. the hotel is just a mere 5-minute walk to kata beach, where if can sometimes be challenging to find a spot to park yourself amongst the legions of scandinavian and russian vacationers working in their tans. along the way you'll find everything you need: restaurants, bars, 7-eleven or other mini-mart knockoffs, currency exchanges, massage/salons, souvenir shops, and of course taxi stands ready to whisk you away to patong or other nearby beaches. oh yes, there is also a "concierge" of sorts at the hotel (between the lobby and the restaurant) who can help book tours and getaways around phuket... not sure if they offer the best price, but it's nice to have nearby.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Chantelle L. from New Zealand
Groups
Stayed one night in August 2011
Amazing hotel
Pool
I have stayed here 3 times and this time was just as good if not better than the last 2. Will definitely stay again.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Chantelle L. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Happy with the visit
Swimming pool, quieter than Patong
I enjoyed my stay here alot. The hotel is modern with nice rooms and bathrooms. I would recommend the Pool access room. If you can ask for a room at the top of the hotel (The walk is up a steep hill but it is more private and has a view.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Chantelle L. from New Zealand
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Beautiful hotel
Modern rooms, pool
this hotel is really good value for money. the breakfast is great and they have someone preparing fresh eggs/omelettes for you. this is built up on the hill and i would recommend a pool access room
Reviewed January 12, 2012

CHEN W. from China
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2012
good hotel
near kata beach, good hotel device
good new hotel.near kata beach. hotel is on the way to hill montain
Reviewed January 12, 2012