Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 504 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 5.8
  • Location 6.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.7

Thomas P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 8 nights in August 2013
Relaxing Hotel in quiet surrounds
Beautiful view of the rice fields, very friendly staff, free shuttle bus to Ubud
We stayed here for 8 nights and had an enjoyable stay. The staff are very friendly and the grounds of the hotel are lovely. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe Room on the fourth floor of the new building. We had a fantastic view of the rice fields from our balcony and made use of the free shuttle bus to Ubud. The only negative aspects about the hotel was that our room was in no way grand, in fact it was small, however the bathroom was very large. We were also disturbed at night by the water pump turning on and off outside the building.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Daniella P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Good value for money
The trainees are excellent, great location, good range of activities close by.
The Suly resort is like a training centre were underprivileged teenagers can learn a trade and they basically run the hotel, the children are between 13-16 years old so (as you would expect of children this age) their work is a little slow. This didn't matter to us however as we were in no rush! The trainees are very polite and helpful and very professional in all areas of the hotel. The resort itself is very quiet in lovely gardens with 2 pools (we used one) there is daily yoga and a travel service attached to the hotel. We took a full day tour which was amazing - 100% recommend. The room was a good size, pretty basic just what you would expect considering the price. The breakfast is average, again what you would expect. Overall the Suly resort was comfortable and clean and great value for money. My husband and I are Both teachers so enjoyed the trainees helping us around the hotel, for a good value resort close to ubud it's a great option!
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Chwee N. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Clean, Friend staffs, big, quiet
Clean, Friendly, Big
I enjoy in staying here, friendly staff will smile to you anytime, anywhere. The room is big as well as bed, can fit to 4 persons! Though, the bathroom is somehow small and the basin as well. Overall, I would recommend to anyone here. Hope to go to Bali again
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Barbara R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Lovely surroundings and wonderful staff
The friendly, well-trained staff, the gorgeous bed and the setting
We loved our time at the Suly Resort. It set the standard for service in Indonesia. The staff were very well-trained, courteous and friendly. The setting was lovely. It was quiet, being a little out of central Ubud, except for the sound of a musical instrument being played at about 6am every morning. We didn't mind being woken up early but others might. It is set in lovely gardens with views over the rice-fields as well. Next time I would choose a rice-field view room as long as the room was as nice as ours. The room was large and furnished with antique wooden furniture as well as tv and air-conditioner. The bed was an enormous four-poster which was curtained with mosquito netting and was very comfortable. The bathroom was old but was okay except for the shower curtain which was a bit mildewed. Considering the price and the lovely bedroom I could overlook the condition of the bathroom. The meals were nice and the dining room is open to the gardens. I recommend the avocado smoothies. Yum! The language skills of the staff were not excellent but their friendliness and willingness to help made up for that. The resort includes a spa and guests are given a voucher for a free massage which is a great idea. Suly Resort was a great choice especially considering the budget price.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Felix B. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Quite
good hotel, peace area and quite
This resort is quite a distance from Ubud but in a very peaceful area set amongst the rice fields.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Scott-Ryan A. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Quiet garden Oasis south of town
Friendly staff, nice grounds, charming location
Don't stay here if you are planning on being in the centre of town and walking everywhere. Though they do offer a free shuttle. Do stay here if you would rather look out your window at a lush green rice field and pay less by not staying directly in town. Yeah, it's slightly outside (5-10 minutes), but get yourself a scooter and drive yourself wherever you want to go. The staff - all young people, as you've heard by now, and super friendly and helpful. The grounds are quite nice, as well as two decent pools. Rooms and big and clean. You definitely get what you pay for here and I'd stay here again next time I'm in Ubud.
Reviewed August 09, 2013

Winnie O. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Quiet, lovely view, friendly staff, some hiccups
Quiet, friendly smiles, breathtaking views
We enjoyed our stay at suly. Loved the old architecture and the quietness . It had an old world charm and our room had a lovely view of the paddy fields n the pool . The buffet breakfast was adequate, though some may consider it spartan . It didn't cost us much so we didn't have high expectations . There were a couple of hiccups . The staff was friendly but maybe because it was a training centre , they were rather slow in responding to requests although I could speak adequate bahasa . Asked for shower gel to be filled up n didn't get it done till late, sometimes only gave us one set of towels instead of two. The hotel also seem to depend on contract taxis for shuttle instead of having their own vehicles n on one occasion we waited for an hour at Ubud at the stipulated time before finally catching a taxi back. The pool was disappointing . I had gone there with a purpose to get some swimming done but for some reason it was always under treatment so it was unavailable. There was a smaller pool but it didn't look inviting. Finally I think the staff was instructed to promote their products like "nature walks" so when we asked for walks we could do ourselves we got very little help .
Reviewed August 07, 2013

Alisa K. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Great Hotel for a retreat in nature
Peaceful, close to nature, economical
We had a wonderful stay at Suly Resort & Spa. The hotel is well-decorated in Bali style with pretty flowers along the way in. The only drawback during our stay is the breakfast. There is no meat served.
Reviewed August 05, 2013

Allison B. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Very peaceful quiet place, lovely gardens.
Very friendly staff, lovely surroundings, good breakfast.
Overall it was a great place. Very relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Beautiful pool and garden. Only issues were the free shuttle ride into town. We had to wait quite a while for more taxis to come a few times and first room we got was very smelly do to bad sewage system. The staff did try in vain to clean it up, but smell came back and we were able to change rooms with no more problems.
Reviewed August 05, 2013

Camille R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Enjoyable but a little far away
The pool!
This hotel was nice and it is run by a man who sends orphans to school and teachers them about working and they do so at the hotel, all the locals talk about good Karma for the owner! It's a nice place. The food was a let down but the pools are nice, our bathroom was a bit musty and smelt a little weird but all in all we had a nice time.
Reviewed August 03, 2013