Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 504 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 5.8
  • Location 6.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.7
Sort by

Bernd R. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great location for relaxing with very caring staff
very nice rooms, staff speaks English, very caring staff, very nice atmosphere
We had a very pleasant stay for unfortunately only some nights at Suly Resort & Spa and we both enjoyed it very, very much. We had the Deluxe Garden View room on the 2nd floor, very nice and sort of traditional. The second day we decided to use the pool during night time when we came back from shopping in town. The staff was really nice and helpful and even brought us some towels and turned the light on, just to make it special for us. much appreciated. I have to mention they even took care of me when my stomach troubled me - they brought some tea to our room. Overal one of the best stays we ever had.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Geoff S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2013
The best service ever !
Excellent service from excellent staff, all trained in the hotel's own school.
This hotel has it's own Foundation, which operates a hotel training school for disadvantaged senior high school students from all over Indonesia. So the service is great, the student workers are polite, well informed and just so helpful. They seem to know they have been given a chance for a new life and they work hard and try hard to succeed. The hotel is spacious, the pools are clean and well maintained, the restaurants are well staffed and efficient and the food is good. The new hotel building is pleasant and the rooms are large but for some strange reason the bathrooms are tiny and cramped.I know that Indonesians are happy and smiling people generally but this hotel tops the list for friendliness, helpfulness and happiness.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Toni L. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Staff here were so helpful and friendly
Pool and staff
The hotel was run by the mature children who attended the school located at the front that i did not realise was even there. The hotel area was large and had everything you need. The staff would help with anything you asked for and there was always someone to help. The pool area was beautifully kept and the water clean. We had the opportunity to spend new years night here and the children put on a wonderfully presented Balanise show. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. I travelled with my 6 yr old daughter and the staff were fussing around her so much she now thinks she is a queen!!!
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stephanie B. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
lovely views of the rice fields
great views of the rice fields, nice swimming pool, friendly staff.
this resort is run by teenagers learning the hospitality trade. do not let this put you off as this is one of the best things about it. the teenagers are so happy to be there and are so friendly and welcoming. staying at the suly resort was a great experience. we had a basic room with a view of the rice fields. there was a bit of a farm smell in the room, but that is to be expected when you are staying in the middle of the rice fields. the swimming pool was very nice. the restaurant food was fine. the restaurant staff were lovely, they really made us feel welcome. the breakfast is just okay. i would recommend that the resort purchase a better toaster as i had to wait 15 mins for toast one day as they only had one toaster oven which worked very slowly. i finally gave up and ate bread and butter instead. i would recommend the yoga and meditation classes and the legong dance. we really enjoyed our stay at the suly resort and hope to stay there again in the future.
Reviewed January 07, 2013

Olivia D. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Quiet hotel with lovely students, taxi to ubud..
Helping community
This hotel is run by students training and learning skills for the workforce etc. The students were very sweet. The grounds were nice and the pool was good. The room we paid extra for so we could have a view of the rice paddies, however was not much view and less than we expected. The taxi to the ubud centre was quite annoying (35,000Rp), as we found when having dinner in the centre we would have much preferred to just walk home to our hotel. Felt a bit isolated on our first night as there seemed to be noone stayng there. The reason we chose to stay a bit further out than the centre was for the rice paddies, however was lacking. Cheap place to stay though and comfortable.
Reviewed January 07, 2013

Ary K. from Indonesia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Great hotel with a great natural scenery
A natural scenery around the hotel make us so relax
Sully provides a very natural scenery around the hotel, with rice terraces landscaping the environment. Sometimes, you could even see local farmers working their fields in the morning with the company of birds which is a rare sight to see nowadays. In the end, it's a greathotel with a great natural scenery.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Xiaodong Z. from New Zealand
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Unique and unforgettable hotel
next to the rice field and feel the real bali
This is an very unique hotel. If people would like to feel real bali and enjouy the charm of the bali rice field, this is the place you should chose. The service delivered is not the one you usually will receive in a normol hotel enviroment. The service you received may not up to a standard in normal term, but you are always served with a smile & they are always kneen to help you. If you are looking for NORMAL 3 star (or over) standard service, the hotel may not be suite you, but if you are looking for something unique, it is the one.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Claudia K. from Switzerland
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Nice pool, friendy stuff
shuttle service
the hotel was not in the center but they offered a shuttle a few times a day. our stay was very relaxing, we liked the pool and the delicious banana pankake for breakfast!!!!! We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a lot nicer than the superior room. Everything was clean.
Reviewed December 07, 2012

Samuel G. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
The most beautiful experience of all
Smiling enthusiatic service and beautiful grounds with character and heart
By far the most touching experience i had staying at any hotel in Bali fancy or not . This isn't about living in the lap of luxury its about helping those less fortunate than you . The beautiful kids who work there are are the most generous kind genuine people you will ever come across . Although they come from under privilidged backgrounds and are still learning the ropes ther service is second to none and their energy is magic to be around . Its a must if your staying in ubud . While the rooms are basic they have everything you need and the pool is awesome . Breakfast was limited but the omlette was deliscous and always came with a giant smile . We will be back for sure and hopefully be able to volenteer and give something back to the beautiful kids who warmed our hearts on our last leg of our bali trip .
Reviewed December 04, 2012

SATRIO W. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
A great fantastic hotel in Ubud
Clean and Peaceful
I booked a hotel for friends of mine. They are very happy and told me that It is an ashram-hotel complex and very relaxing. They had a nice room, which was clean and comfortable. The swimming pool is beautiful and very well maintained. The staffs were friendly, and the grounds were so peaceful. It was fantastic!
Reviewed November 30, 2012