arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (499)

Business travelers (11)

Couples (253)

Solo travelers (80)

Families with young children (36)

Families with older children (42)

Groups (77)

Very good
7.4
based on 499 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Facilities
6.0
Location
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Staff Performance
7.8
Value for Money
7.8
Food/Dining
6.7

5.3 Koh Y.
Malaysia
September 03, 2012
Nice Environment and Friendly Hotel Staffs
Hotel surroudings and green environment
Hotel lobby and environment is nice, hotel staffs are helpful and always serve with smile. The location is not that strategic and shuttle bus is provided to Ubud Palace. The room is small and simple, expecting rice field view but get jungle view. Many flies when having our breakfast.

4.7 Andrej P.
Sweden
August 26, 2012
Nice setting, but a bit dated
Nice setting, lots of frinedly staff around
the place is quite a bit outside of ubud town, so you have to adapt to the free shuttle bus schedule or get a taxi or similar. rooms (we stayed on the older building) and garden are large and equipped with lots of traditional features, but is in need of renovation. our room had a barely working shower with no hot water available. a huge disappointment was that we found our room door left wide open when we arrived back in the afternoon, with no staff around. we got no explanation back but just an excuse. nothing was missing though. would not recommend this hotel for the price we paid. a nice setting at equal price can be found much closer to ubud centre.

4.7 Si W.
Macau
August 17, 2012
Spacious room and nice staff
Good location
This is my second time to stay at Suly but I am really disappointed this time. If I didn't have the experience last time, everything should be all right. The quality of the food wasn't as good as before. The hotel is under renovation and the staff is not quite sure with their posts. The toilet stinks and the room Is terribly dim even though you have lighted the whole room up.

7.7 Stefanie M.
Canada
August 17, 2012
Gem outside Ubud
Free shuttle service, friendly staff, beautiful setting
Nice room but bathroom smelled funky, beautiful and quiet setting in and view over the rice terraces, nice pools, decent food, service was ok but not great (we understand it is a sort of hospitality school, but it seemed that there was no one guiding the students or correcting their mistakes, so though the staff were friendly, the service was lacking), wifi cut out constantly, spa on site but overpriced

7.7 Michelle B.
Australia
August 22, 2012
Massive Deluxe room with king sized 4 poster bed
This is a hospitality training centre for young staff who are eager to please.
Only stayed one night but I loved this place for a quiet time. This hotel would have been so lush in it's heyday. Now it is a bit run down looking but still has it's old style Bali flare. My only suggestions to them, would be to take down the mosquito nets on the fourposter beds and wash them sometimes. Mine was so dusty smelling which detracted from how awesome everything else was about the room. Given that it is only 3 star rating, I thought it was great value. I stayed garden view which was very pleasant but I would try the rice paddy view next time as I could only see that view out of the small bathroom window. The staff are adorable and ever so helpful.

6.7 Si W.
Macau
August 17, 2012
Friendly staff
Helpful people all around
This is my second time visiting Suly. It was just one year ago I came here. I remember giving a comment saying that I would definitely choose to stay here again when visiting Bali. However, the hotel has changed its policies to a more business-minded hotel. The yoga class wasn't changed before but it's charged now. The Internet was not working most of the time. The room was turning old without any renovation, especially the bathroom. They should renew the bathtubub as it had too much stink on it.

8.3 Joseph M.
United Kingdom
August 24, 2012
Cosy, cute and warm welcome
in the middle of rice fields
We stayed with the 3 people in the 2 rice field view rooms for 3 nights and have had a great time. Suly resort is a stunning place (almost feels like you're sleeping in a old temple complex) with 2 different and good (plus organic and fair amount of vegetarian options) restaurants, 2 pools, tons of sculptures, great gardens and very friendly staff; helpful, open and speak good English (as one of their 4 languages they got teached at Suly). Rooms came with lots of flowers everywhere, a chocolate bar and welcoming drinks (after the fresh fruit shake at the reception!). The bathroom is spacious, though sometimes it had a weird smell (sewerage?). Our rooms had a nice balcony with chairs and table with rice field view. Not right in the centre of Ubud, which is good, also as it is 5 minutes by taxi or take the shuttle of the resort. We will definitely come back to Suly!

6 Claudia K.
Switzerland
December 07, 2012
Nice pool, friendy stuff
shuttle service
the hotel was not in the center but they offered a shuttle a few times a day. our stay was very relaxing, we liked the pool and the delicious banana pankake for breakfast!!!!! We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a lot nicer than the superior room. Everything was clean.

6.7 Zhang L.
China
August 13, 2012
peaceful garden
big room but not clean
The room is big, but not clean. The enviroment around is quiet and peaceful. Two swimming pools. The resturant beside this resort is great.

8 WAI T.
Malaysia
August 14, 2012
Lovely hotel with helpful friendly young staff
Clean room, Helpful friendly young staff, Good environment
staff - we arrive at the hotel almost 12am at midnight, but there still have a lots of very helpful and friendly young staff. room- we stay in the room have balcony which is facing the 2nd restaurant, have a very spacious bathroom and very clean room. total 4 rooms we booked, all rooms is clean and no smoke smell. breakfast- should improve on the breakfast and wifi in room. just only bread and egg and some light salad, juice and coffee. honestly is not enough for me and my friends. at least can we have some meat,baked beans? hope the hotel can really improve on this. wifi- we able to connect the wifi outside the room, but once step in the room, no wifi.