or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan

Yunohana-onsen, Hiedano-cho, Kameoka-shi, Kyoto, Japan 621-0036 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest Room Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest Room Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest Room Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest Room Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest Room Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest Room Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Suite Room Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public Bath Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public Bath Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public Bath Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public Bath Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public Bath Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Restaurant Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Restaurant Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Restaurant Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Restaurant
Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Restaurant Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Restaurant Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Restaurant Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and Beverages Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and Beverages Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and Beverages Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and Beverages Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and Beverages Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and Beverages Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and Beverages Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Library Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Hot Bath
Area: Other Number of Rooms: 27

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.6

based on
36 reviews

Value for Money
8.3
Location
6.8
Staff Performance
9.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.1
Food/Dining
9.0
All reviews (36)
Sort by:
Monika C. Couples Belgium, February 17, 2015
Far away next to busy road

Hot springs
4.3
Expensive food. Not much choice. 4000 for a little tempura
Thor T. Solo travelers United States of America, February 15, 2015
Kyoto Escape

Although not in Kyoto this ryokan is an excellent hideaway. You don't want to overload your day with exhausting site seeing. Pick a few sites, enjoy the history of Kyoto, then return to the mountains
9.7
Stay here if you want to round out your Kyoto experience with some quiet time in an intimate setting.
Karen L. Solo travelers Canada, February 10, 2015
Tranquil and Serene

Beautiful natural springs, food, atmosphere
9
We only got to stay a night and it was a treat. I've been to quite a few hot springs and this was remarkable without being pretencious. It was smaller in size but it added to its quaintness. Too bad it was beside the highway. The staff and service was amazing. I would definitely come back.
George E. Couples Australia, January 29, 2015
30th wedding anniversary

Excellent food, friendly and v helpful staff, enson bath, quietness.
7.7
We loved our stay here and celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. We didn't realise it was so far from Kyoto and expected to do more sightseeing however the excellent food, service and enson bath was worth the trip and the quietness and solitude allowed us to relax and catch our breath. We would highly recommend to a couple wanting to get away from it all. Food was the highlight to us.
Vincent C. Groups Australia, January 27, 2015
Authentic experience

Onsen, service, traditional atmosphere.
8.3
To be honest we didn't really know what we were booking. Pros - a fantastic authentic Japanese ryokan experience. Meticulous service and traditional food. Stunning onsen. Beautiful tatami accommodation. Cons - remote. It's pretty much a place where you check in and stay. To get out you have to take their 20 min shuttle bus then a 20 min train. And if you're not used to such attentive service it can be uncomfortable. Great experience for us but it's not for everyone.
Aseem J. Couples India, January 25, 2015
Amazingly beautiful ryokan in a difficult area

The private Olsen experience at night is just out of the world! Experience traditional ryokan with all luxury.. Staff is extremely polite
9
April P. Solo travelers United Kingdom, December 21, 2014
Hot Spring Experience

Traditional, Onsen, Private
9
Absolutely loved experiencing this place with my mum for the night. No need for a private onsen if you are not a couple as the place is very private anyway. It was nice to dress up in local Japanese clothes and experience the pretty culture. We stayed one night and it was a perfect amount of time before we moved on to Kyoto.
민정 우. Solo travelers South Korea, December 13, 2014
It's an amazing place to stay.

Well- organizing services, well- decorated and delicious foods ,a secreat open-air spa
9
Sumiya Ryokan helps us to relax during staying. Foods and platters make our mouth and eyes happy. It is an amazing and unique place that I have visited.
Kingsley L. Couples Australia, December 2, 2014
The Epitome of a GREAT RYOKAN

Staff definately TOPS THE LIST, Ambience and Food
9.3
I think everyone should visit Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan and experience what I had experienced. I must applaud the staff there, they were the most friendliest, kind, professional and helpful staff member I could ever ask for. They went above and beyond my expectations in every best was possible!! I even would to send my gratitude by offering a generous tip (though was not accepted) I believe they are worth every yen. The place, facilities, rooms was a perfect mix of modern and traditional Japanese architecture, it gives off a very graceful and calm feel. Finally the food was not only presented very well however it also tasted like royalty, there was a combination of food which matched every dish. I had an incredibly good stay at Sumiya Kiho-an, Since it wasnt long enough, I will surely have to visit again, I am sure there is much more to it than what I ave experienced. Great work Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan, Keep it up!! Kingsley and Annie
Chen Y. Couples Taiwan, November 29, 2014
very nice hot spring experience

great food, nice hot spring place, privacy
7

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sumiya Kiho-an Ryokan KyotoSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest RoomSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest RoomSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest RoomSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest RoomSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest RoomSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Guest RoomSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Suite RoomSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public BathSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public BathSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public BathSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public BathSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Public BathSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - RestaurantSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - RestaurantSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - RestaurantSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - RestaurantSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - RestaurantSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - RestaurantSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - RestaurantSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and BeveragesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and BeveragesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and BeveragesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and BeveragesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and BeveragesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and BeveragesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Food and BeveragesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - LibrarySumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Hot BathSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - EntranceSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - EntranceSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - EntranceSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Balcony/TerraceSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - Balcony/TerraceSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - FacilitiesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - FacilitiesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - FacilitiesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - FacilitiesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - FacilitiesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - FacilitiesSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - SpaSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - ShopsSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - SurroundingsSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - SurroundingsSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - SurroundingsSumiya Kiho-an Ryokan Kyoto - View


AS-AGWEB-3A08