Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sumner Hotel

22 Sumner Place, Brooklyn, New York (NY), United States 11206 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Lobby Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Interior Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Exterior Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Exterior Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Buffet Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Lobby Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel Interior Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Lobby Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Interior
Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Restaurant Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Entrance Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Buffet Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Exterior Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Entrance Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Exterior Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest Room
Area: Brooklyn Number of Rooms: 74
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Acceptable

0.0

from 144 reviews

Value for Money
0.0
Location
0.0
Staff Performance
0.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
0.0
Room Comfort/Standard
0.0
Food/Dining
0.0
All reviews (144)
Sort by:
Carolyn C. Couples United States of America, July 26, 2015
Convenient & Comfortable With Some Flaws.

I like the fact that free breakfast was available upon my stay. I had room service at a decent time. The room was Modern & Comfy. I felt somewhat at home.
8.7
I honestly enjoyed my stay but I feel the price rate should be less costly! Then I would stay here more often! Less cost, more customers & more profits!!! I've stayed here once before because of it being a convenient location. I stood in room 107. The bed was totally comfortable and the room was way more cleaner. The only flaw during my previous stay was that it was so loud and roudy during the morning as I was on the first floor. I could not sleep at all! I requested for my most recent stay to be placed on the second floor, I was placed in the back (Room 207) as I purchased a Smoking Room and the Smoking Rooms are only on the 1st & 2nd Floor figuring it'll be much quieter.. NOPE not really. During this stay the shower was NOT totally clean but it wasn't entirely filthy neither. Whoever cleaned it, didn't clean it properly. Also the desk in the room looked as if it wasn't even wiped & it looked as if the desk was somewhat burned. I would expect that because it's a Smoking Room. The bottom sheets of the mattress should have been thrown away and replaced because they had blood stains, including the mattress protector. I feel for the price I payed for a 2 night stay, the room should have been 100% clean! The next time I stay here I hope it's a way better experience.. I wouldn't want to stop staying here but if some things aren't rectified I'm going to have to find somewhere better & cheaper to stay. (Please stop raising your prices during the summer!) Either than my complaints I do recommend to stay here, but the staff needs to improve they're cleanliness. Give it a try. Maybe you'll have a better experience.
Report this review
Kai S. Business travelers China, July 22, 2015
convenient

convenient
6.3
the location is convenient, the but environment is so good
Report this review
Amy A. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 24, 2015
Dont go to the cellar level

Clean, bright, nice view
6.3
I was put into the cellar level into a windowless, smokers room with broken bathroom tiles and a leaking toilet. But when I complained they put me in a lovely bright room on the 6th floor with a window and a bit of a view. The hotel was nice, just don't let them put you in the cellar.
Report this review
Carmen A. Couples United States of America, March 19, 2015
GOOD WOULD STAY AGAIN

COMFORT, PLEASANT STAFF, CLEAN
8.3
COMFORT, PLEASANT STAFF, CLEAN GOOD WOULD STAY AGAIN
Report this review
Chun Y. Business travelers Taiwan, December 5, 2014
Good reason to stay in Brooklyn

Clean room, nice breakfast and excellent location
10
Great!! I will recommend this hotel to my friends.
Report this review
Edwin G. Families with older children Philippines, November 18, 2014
Good NYC Hotel Very Near Subway

Spacious Room, Fast Complimentary Wifi and Near Subway just 2 Mins walk
7.7
Very pleasant 3 night stay at Sumner Hotel. The hotel is located near the corner of a short road called Sumner Place and Humbolt streets. It's just a 2 minute walk to the Flushing Avenue station of the subway and a one-way fare is USD 2.50 and within the area is Walgreens, Ihop, Taco Bell and other eats. Hotel has fast wifi which is complimentary for both room and at the lobby. Friendly staff of most probably Indian, Pakistani or Bangladeshi origins as well as Chinese. Spacious and clean rooms and sleep was nice as it's not located in a very busy street but preferably take the upper floors like we did on the 5th floor. Across the hotel is a 24 hour deli as well as pizzerias. Hotel has about 4 parking slots in front. You can easily spot the hotel when you are at Flushing Avenue station as the top portion of the building carried its "SH" brand and the hotel front at night lit a stylish pinking purple lights and a big entrance awning emblazooned with Sumner Hotel that you won't miss. Inside the rooms you have a desk, safe a LED Flat Digital TV with good selection channels and a ref and phone. During our stay the phone was busted and when checked it was the line. Good toilet amenities. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.
Report this review
Norma C. Couples United States of America, November 9, 2014
hospital train store
7.3
Good
Report this review
Rose D. Solo travelers United States of America, November 9, 2014
Bad experience and staff has lack of care
3.7
Awful. I brought it to the front desk person's attention and they said they would relay the message to the manager I waited three days for the manager to call me and I got no call so I called and they basically told me that they can't do anything about it the rooms are clean every day and if I had found it the night before they would be able to help me but I didn't so now I have to wonder if I slept in dirty sheets. Awful costume service. Awful !
Report this review
Larry P. Couples United States of America, October 19, 2014
Bookmark this One

Cleanliness, location, value.
9
We had to close the window at night due to the sirens and roaring motorcycles, but the room and bed were otherwise perfectly fine. All very clean, nice bathroom as well. Nothing fancy here, but we will be back.
Report this review
Christopher B. Couples Australia, October 6, 2014
Disappointing, not good value

Proximity to the subway was great. The building is fairly new, although starting to show signs of neglect. Nice and quiet at night.
4.7
While the standard of the room was fine, it was quite overpriced for the seedy area in Brooklyn. Unfortunately the staff were difficult to find, and then not very communicative or helpful. There were very obvious signs that the cleaning is either not done regularly or not done thoroughly. Very dirty floors. There was no coffee maker in the room as advertised. The complimentary breakfast was in short supply on our last morning, and there was a fly in the milk! Sorry, but we cannot recommend this hotel.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sumner Hotel New York (NY)Sumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - LobbySumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - ExteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - ExteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - BuffetSumner Hotel New York (NY) - LobbySumner Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - LobbySumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - RestaurantSumner Hotel New York (NY) - EntranceSumner Hotel New York (NY) - BuffetSumner Hotel New York (NY) - ExteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - EntranceSumner Hotel New York (NY) - ExteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - BathroomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Guest RoomSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - InteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - BreakfastSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Hotel exteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - ExteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - ExteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - ExteriorSumner Hotel New York (NY) - BreakfastSumner Hotel New York (NY) - Interior


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A07