or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sundaras Resort

189 Kandy Road Dambulla, Dambulla Town, Dambulla, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Interior Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Deluxe air conditioning Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Bathroom Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Surroundings Sundaras Resort Dambulla - View Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Bathroom Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Deluxe Air Conditioning Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Deluxe Air Conditioning Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Deluxe air conditioning Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Exterior View Sundaras Resort Dambulla - View Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Exterior View Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Buffet Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Garden View Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Garden View Sundaras Resort Dambulla - View
Sundaras Resort Dambulla - View Sundaras Resort Dambulla - View Sundaras Resort Dambulla - View Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Corridor Area Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Food Served Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Food Served Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Food Served Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Terrace Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Lobby Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Garden Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Outside Entrance Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Garden
Area: Dambulla Town
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.4

based on
176 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
7.0
All reviews (176)
Sort by:
Jennifer W. Couples Hong Kong, November 23, 2014
Not so good

Near Golden Temple
5
No welcoming reception, no information provided when check-in (e.g. what time for breakfast, Wifi password, no information until you ask). No hot water in bathroom, the owner said that because of raining in the past few days, there was no Sun energy for their solar system to heat the water, so........, that is the case..... that's qute ridiculous. Another ridiculous situation happened related to the cleaning of our room, we stayed two nights, after a day out and back at night, a staff came to us and said they haven't made up our room coz we had took the key out and they did not have another key to open our room. This was a stipud excuse and is totally ridiculous! Although most staff were friendly and smile, especially during breakfast time. Not recommended
Engseong L. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 4, 2014
Value for money

Location, service, value.
8.3
Conveniently located, this hotel is clean and the staff efficient.
Engseong L. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 4, 2014
Great location, attentive staff.

Staff, location, value.
7.7
Clean, fuss-free stay with efficient staff.
Karly S. Solo travelers United States of America, October 2, 2014
Not impressed

Location, the in-house dog, the flowers in the garden
5.3
This place was disappointing and did not have a welcoming vibe. We had booked 2 rooms but when we arrived they asked if we would rather share a room in exchange for free dinner. We declined this offer but we did decide to eat dinner at the restaurant that night. The portions were small and the prices high so we did not eat there the second night. The place next door to Sundaras had lovely food. The wifi in the rooms was very weak and although the staff assured us there was always hot water, it was only available in the evening for a short time. There are only 2 solar water heaters for the whole place so expect a cold shower unless you time it just right.
Karly S. Business travelers United States of America, October 2, 2014
Disappointing

Location, the restaurant next door, room patio
5.3
Not as advertised No hot water Poor internet signal One electrical outlet in the room Air conditioner didn't work properly 6 tiny shrimp on the prawn dinner
Hafsa M. Solo travelers Pakistan, October 2, 2014
Loved our cozy stay !

Damien and other hotel people were really hospitable and friendly .
8.7
We were unsure about the place at the time of our booking but once we got to sandaras we were really happy with the place , service and staff. It was possibly one of the best places in Dambulla . It's a cozy little place but buzzing with tourists from all over .
Michael W. Families with older children Australia, September 14, 2014
Location is great to see the Dambulla Caves

The location. The staff were helpful. The food.
5.3
Aside from the cleanliness and slightly run down condition of the room and needing to ask for linen our stay was pretty good. As we wanted to see the caves the position was perfect... Just a five minute walk away.
Liesbeth V. Couples Belgium, August 29, 2014
excellent recommendation

helpfull, sympathetic owner and staff who make you feel at home, great price on stay and excursions
10
If you're looking for a place in Dambulla to start your excursions from, Sundaras Resort is the place to be!
Tina N. Solo travelers Germany, August 15, 2014
Love it!

Loved the staff, the cleaness and the bathroom
10
What a beautiful stay I had in Dambulla! I stayed in the dorm (I messed up my booking and they were full otherwise) for one night and for two more nights in a cheaper room. The dorm was extremly spacious with a beautiful bathroom, it even had a rain shower! Also my other room was really nice. You could see that the person that planned these rooms really cared about his future guests. Fluffy towels, nice bedsheets (the ones that actually stay on the matrace!), universal plugs next to the bed (even in the dorm there was a plug for every bed), and the wall next to the shower even provided some space to put your shampoo and whatever else you need in the shower, so you didn't end up putting your things on the floor. The rooms and the bathrooms were super clean and the aircon was working fine. The staff was extremly friendly and caring. You could see the manager himself running around all day, always busy talking to his guests, always smiling, never looking stressed and he always seemed to be happy to plan other peoples holidays. That gives you the feeling of really being welcome! The food in the restaurant was very tasty, but sometimes you had to wait a bit longer (just like in many other places in Sri Lanka). The location of the hotel is very convenient, only 5' to walk to the Golden Temple and Sigiriya Rock is a quick ride away. Threewheelers are easily to get just outside the hotel. But you can also ask in the hotel for transport or tours.
Andrew F. Families with young children United Arab Emirates, August 15, 2014
Family with young children Abu Dhabi

People, cleanliness, location
10
Excellent we were made to feel so welcome by Damian and his staff who were always on hand to help. Rooms were spacious, clean and ideally located close to the restaurant. Food was delicious and good value and the location is fantastic a 5 min walk to the Golden Temple.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sundaras Resort DambullaSundaras Resort Dambulla - InteriorSundaras Resort Dambulla - Deluxe air conditioningSundaras Resort Dambulla - BathroomSundaras Resort Dambulla - SurroundingsSundaras Resort Dambulla - ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - BathroomSundaras Resort Dambulla - Deluxe Air Conditioning Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Deluxe Air Conditioning Sundaras Resort Dambulla - Deluxe air conditioningSundaras Resort Dambulla - Exterior ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - Exterior ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - BuffetSundaras Resort Dambulla - Garden ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - Garden ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - ViewSundaras Resort Dambulla - Corridor AreaSundaras Resort Dambulla - Food ServedSundaras Resort Dambulla - Food ServedSundaras Resort Dambulla - Food ServedSundaras Resort Dambulla - Terrace Sundaras Resort Dambulla - LobbySundaras Resort Dambulla - GardenSundaras Resort Dambulla - Outside EntranceSundaras Resort Dambulla - GardenSundaras Resort Dambulla - LandmarkSundaras Resort Dambulla - Golden TempleSundaras Resort Dambulla - Exterior view of hotelSundaras Resort Dambulla - ReceptionSundaras Resort Dambulla - BathroomSundaras Resort Dambulla - Guest RoomSundaras Resort Dambulla - Guest RoomSundaras Resort Dambulla - ExteriorSundaras Resort Dambulla - ExteriorSundaras Resort Dambulla - Guest RoomSundaras Resort Dambulla - Guest RoomSundaras Resort Dambulla - InteriorSundaras Resort Dambulla - Guest RoomSundaras Resort Dambulla - BathroomSundaras Resort Dambulla - Nearby AttractionSundaras Resort Dambulla - Nearby AttractionSundaras Resort Dambulla - Deluxe Air Conditioning


AS-AGWEB-3C05