Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sunnyside Park Hotel

Princess of Wales Terrace, Parktown,, Johannesburg City Centre, Johannesburg, South Africa (Show on map)

Book now!

Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park Guest Room Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park Entrance and Exterior Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park Entrance Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Conference Facilities Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Deluxe Guest Room Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pound & Penny Pub Decor Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Deluxe Gatehouse Guest Room Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park Interior Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Wine Selection Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Entrance at Night Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Monument King Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Exterior at Night Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Entrance Hallway Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Monument Shower and Bath Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Swimming Pool and Garden Area Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park Entrance
Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden and Outdoor Venue Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Monument King Bathroom Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Entrance Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Deluxe Pool Room Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden Area Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Deluxe Gatehouse Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sitting Area Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Meeting Facilities Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Conference Venue Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden and Exterior Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Standard Twin Monument Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden Area
Area: Johannesburg City Centre Number of Rooms: 154

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.5

based on
14 reviews

10 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.9
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (14)
Sort by:
Benjamin N. Business travelers South Africa, March 12, 2015
Sunny side Hotel

Welcoming of Guest, Friendly staff, Nice food
9.7
It was good
Report this review
Antonio S. Solo travelers Mozambique, December 1, 2014
It worths visiting

The hotel environment, the price and the included breakfast.
7.3
I had a very calm and comfortable stay. The staff at the reception were great, except the waiters at the restaurant and breakfast buffet. The landscape of the hotel is amazing, but the swimming pool was a little dirty. The hotel has a classical style, but it needs rehabilitation, the furniture is old, the carpets and curtains are old. The wi-fi signal is weak in some rooms, but it works. The pricing is average. The only problem of the location is that if you don't have your own car it gets tricky to move around, the area is dangerous to walk on foot until you get the closest shops or restaurants.
Report this review
Pawan G. Families with older children India, August 25, 2013
Overall comfortable

Surrounding garden, spacious common lounge and buffet dinner in a reasonable price
7.7
On our arrival, we were given the rooms at the basement with a small dingy window near the ceiling, stinky carpet and leaking WC. The rooms were very dark with no sun light. Felt like a dungeon. Obviously, we a family of 4 were disappointed and raised our concern to the reception, who apologised and moved us to a better modern room on the next day. We had to stay the first night in the basement where it was cold and the AC was ineffective. The rest of the stay was comfortable. Because of the initial experience, our enthusiasm as traveller was dampened. Regarding the value to money, we stayed in Double Tree Hilton, Cape Town for seven nights with fantastic facilities departing on the same day and flying to J'berg. We paid the same amount of money to the Sunnyside for 5 nights what we paid for 7 nights in Double Tree. The facilities were so superior in the Double Tree that it is not worth comparing the both. Therefore, the value to money is not according to the standard provided.
Report this review
Maria L. Business travelers Philippines, May 9, 2013
Comfortably elegant and safe

friendly staff, nice gardens, good food
9.3
Relaxing and comfortable. The staff were accommodating. I had an early check in but the room wasn't prepared yet and I had to freshen up before meeting an appointment early that morning. But the staff were kind enough to offer the use of another room in the meantime and transferred things to the designated room without any hassle.
Report this review
Clifford V. Couples South Africa, March 2, 2013
nice

located well
5
buffets very expensive and small variety comparing with other hotels.rates to expensive for what you get
Report this review
Robert L. Couples United Kingdom, January 3, 2013
2nd Visit was dissapointing

still the best staff service we have received in any hotel in southern africa
7.7
this time around we were booked into their "new wing". although i told the receptionist that i required a room on the ground floor near the reception as we were carrying 100kg+ of luggage - she put us on the first floor. strangely enough - the room rate from agoda was a better rate than the hotel could offer me - even as a legacy guest (their loyalty programme). there was no porter to help. my pre-registration card had me booked again as an ukranian living in united kingdom with another email and phone number(???)- i would thought that they would have fixed this the first visit. there was no mini fridge in this room. parts of the curtains were off the rail hooks the desk chair was totally wonky. however - the room was clean and tidy the free wi-fi is always a bonus room service was again superb and the breakfast is still one of the best buffets around i was permitted a 2 o'clock check out. will i go back - maybe - but i will ask for an old wing or pool room nrxt time.
Hotel Feature Tip: free wi-fi great breakfast included.
Report this review
Robert L. Couples United Kingdom, December 21, 2012
a grand experience

room upgrade - fee wi-fi and the friendliest staff ever!!
8
we had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights on our arrival from bangkok. the only reason we booked here was that it was the closest hotel to the johannesburg general hospital where we had my mom-in-law in anic ward. so it was hit and miss. but what a bonus - the hotel was great - the breakfasts were greater and the staff and service were the greatest. the free wi-fi made life easier and room service menu was delightful. yes- we have booked again - for another night there before we leave for home.
Hotel Feature Tip: Closest hotel to the Johannesburg General Hospital
Report this review
David R. Couples South Africa, October 12, 2012
Great hotel, but check out was bad

Nice hotel, good location.
7.7
Hotel is great. Check-out on the other hand was not so great. We paid for the stay on-line and at check-out the lady asked us to pay an additional R450. Of course if refused since the document I received from Adoga confirmed that I paid in full. The real question is will there be any additional charges billed to my credit card??? I am sure only time will tell.
Restaurant Tip: Food is great!!
Report this review
Wang Q. Business travelers July 18, 2012
Very good hotel , Nice look, Long history .

looks nice , no expensive
8.3
Nice room with big bath room, Good service , safely. European style , lots of white poeple there.
Restaurant Tip: one thing is not goods, if you wanna go out of the hotel to find a resterant , seems not easy ~
Report this review
Sonia B. Couples India, February 6, 2009
HOTEL SUNNYSIDE PARK, JNB

Its Old World Charm, the gardens, layout of the swimming pool, original paintings and furniture
7
the location of the hotel is good: secluded in a park not far from downtown bustle. the 1895 vintage adds to the old-world charm. legacy hotel group should give more importance to this hotel. the old lift needs replacement. the bathrooms need to be modernised. the carpets need replacement. but on the whole it is a pleasant stay and agoda gives a fair deal.
Travel tip: nice gardens, well laid out aand maintained
Report this review
1 - 10 of 10 reviews
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park ExteriorSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park Guest RoomSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park Entrance and ExteriorSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park EntranceSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Conference FacilitiesSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Deluxe Guest RoomSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pound & Penny Pub DecorSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Deluxe Gatehouse Guest RoomSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park InteriorSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Wine SelectionSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Entrance at NightSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Monument King Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Exterior at NightSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Entrance HallwaySunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Monument Shower and BathSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Swimming Pool and Garden AreaSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park EntranceSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden and Outdoor VenueSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Monument King BathroomSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - EntranceSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Deluxe Pool RoomSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden AreaSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Deluxe GatehouseSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sitting AreaSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Meeting FacilitiesSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Conference VenueSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden and ExteriorSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Standard Twin MonumentSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden AreaSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden AreaSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Buffet Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Reception Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden PondSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pool BathroomSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Restaurant MealsSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Sunnyside Park HotelSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pound & Penny PubSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Luxurious Guest Rooms


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08