or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sunnyside Park Hotel

Princess of Wales Terrace, Parktown,, Johannesburg City Centre, Johannesburg, South Africa (Show on map)

Book now!

Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden Area Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden and Hotel Exterior Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Hotel Exterior Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Milner’s Restaurant Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pound & Penny Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Hotel Exterior at Night Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden Bench Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden Area Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pool Area Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Function Venue Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Milner’s Restaurant Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Hotel Exterior Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pound and Penny Pub Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden Suite Bathroom Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Swimming Pool and Gym Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Main Hotel Entrance
Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Gatehouse Wing Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden outside Pound & Penny Deck Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Boardroom Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pound & Penny Pub Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Standard Room Bathroom Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Restaurant Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Guest Room Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Surroundings Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Buffet Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pub/Lounge Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Meeting Room
Area: Johannesburg City Centre Number of Rooms: 154
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.2

based on
11 reviews

Value for Money
6.7
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
7.5
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.3
Room Comfort/Standard
6.7
Food/Dining
7.3
All reviews (11)
Sort by:
Pawan G. Families with older children India, August 25, 2013
Overall comfortable

Surrounding garden, spacious common lounge and buffet dinner in a reasonable price
7.7
On our arrival, we were given the rooms at the basement with a small dingy window near the ceiling, stinky carpet and leaking WC. The rooms were very dark with no sun light. Felt like a dungeon. Obviously, we a family of 4 were disappointed and raised our concern to the reception, who apologised and moved us to a better modern room on the next day. We had to stay the first night in the basement where it was cold and the AC was ineffective. The rest of the stay was comfortable. Because of the initial experience, our enthusiasm as traveller was dampened. Regarding the value to money, we stayed in Double Tree Hilton, Cape Town for seven nights with fantastic facilities departing on the same day and flying to J'berg. We paid the same amount of money to the Sunnyside for 5 nights what we paid for 7 nights in Double Tree. The facilities were so superior in the Double Tree that it is not worth comparing the both. Therefore, the value to money is not according to the standard provided.
Maria L. Business travelers Philippines, May 9, 2013
Comfortably elegant and safe

friendly staff, nice gardens, good food
9.3
Relaxing and comfortable. The staff were accommodating. I had an early check in but the room wasn't prepared yet and I had to freshen up before meeting an appointment early that morning. But the staff were kind enough to offer the use of another room in the meantime and transferred things to the designated room without any hassle.
Clifford V. Couples South Africa, March 2, 2013
nice

located well
5
buffets very expensive and small variety comparing with other hotels.rates to expensive for what you get
Robert L. Couples United Kingdom, January 3, 2013
2nd Visit was dissapointing

still the best staff service we have received in any hotel in southern africa
7.7
this time around we were booked into their "new wing". although i told the receptionist that i required a room on the ground floor near the reception as we were carrying 100kg+ of luggage - she put us on the first floor. strangely enough - the room rate from agoda was a better rate than the hotel could offer me - even as a legacy guest (their loyalty programme). there was no porter to help. my pre-registration card had me booked again as an ukranian living in united kingdom with another email and phone number(???)- i would thought that they would have fixed this the first visit. there was no mini fridge in this room. parts of the curtains were off the rail hooks the desk chair was totally wonky. however - the room was clean and tidy the free wi-fi is always a bonus room service was again superb and the breakfast is still one of the best buffets around i was permitted a 2 o'clock check out. will i go back - maybe - but i will ask for an old wing or pool room nrxt time.
Hotel Feature Tip: free wi-fi great breakfast included.
Robert L. Couples United Kingdom, December 21, 2012
a grand experience

room upgrade - fee wi-fi and the friendliest staff ever!!
8
we had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights on our arrival from bangkok. the only reason we booked here was that it was the closest hotel to the johannesburg general hospital where we had my mom-in-law in anic ward. so it was hit and miss. but what a bonus - the hotel was great - the breakfasts were greater and the staff and service were the greatest. the free wi-fi made life easier and room service menu was delightful. yes- we have booked again - for another night there before we leave for home.
Hotel Feature Tip: Closest hotel to the Johannesburg General Hospital
David R. Couples South Africa, October 12, 2012
Great hotel, but check out was bad

Nice hotel, good location.
7.7
Hotel is great. Check-out on the other hand was not so great. We paid for the stay on-line and at check-out the lady asked us to pay an additional R450. Of course if refused since the document I received from Adoga confirmed that I paid in full. The real question is will there be any additional charges billed to my credit card??? I am sure only time will tell.
Restaurant Tip: Food is great!!
Wang Q. Business travelers July 18, 2012
Very good hotel , Nice look, Long history .

looks nice , no expensive
8.3
Nice room with big bath room, Good service , safely. European style , lots of white poeple there.
Restaurant Tip: one thing is not goods, if you wanna go out of the hotel to find a resterant , seems not easy ~
Sonia B. Couples India, February 6, 2009
HOTEL SUNNYSIDE PARK, JNB

Its Old World Charm, the gardens, layout of the swimming pool, original paintings and furniture
7
the location of the hotel is good: secluded in a park not far from downtown bustle. the 1895 vintage adds to the old-world charm. legacy hotel group should give more importance to this hotel. the old lift needs replacement. the bathrooms need to be modernised. the carpets need replacement. but on the whole it is a pleasant stay and agoda gives a fair deal.
Travel tip: nice gardens, well laid out aand maintained
Pawit V. Solo travelers Thailand, September 10, 2010
การต้อนรับ

การต้อนรับดี พนักงานมีอัธยาศัยดี ช่วยเหลือได้ทุกเรื่อง
6.7
รร.4 ดาวในห้องควรดีกว่านี้ เช่น รองเท้าแตะ อุปกรณ์เครื่องใช้ ในห้องน้ำเช่น ครีมทาผิว cotton bud มี internet ไม่ครบทุกห้อง จองไปขอ internet ด้วย แต่เมื่อไปถึงreception บอกว่าห้องที่ internet available นั้นหมดแล้ว รร.ควรมี shuttle bus บริการฟรีไปใน downtown เนื่องจากรร.อยู่ค่อนข้างไกล แต่บรรยากาศรร.ดีมาก มีสวน มีต้นไม้ใหญ่ร่มรื่น และปลอดภัย
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: soweto ไปดูบ้านเกิด Mendella
Pang M. Business travelers China, May 14, 2010
寧靜的二天

寧靜, 空氣好, 交通也方便.
5.7
此飯店整体表現一般,前台服務員的禮貌一般,不是很不在乎一樣,樣子也不甜美. 但早餐還不錯,很美味,多選擇. 晚上颇寕靜,能給客人有一個安靜的環境睡一晚.
Restaurant Tip: 早餐不錯

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sunnyside Park Hotel JohannesburgSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden AreaSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden and Hotel ExteriorSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Hotel ExteriorSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Milner’s RestaurantSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pound & PennySunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Hotel Exterior at NightSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden BenchSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden AreaSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pool AreaSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Function VenueSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Milner’s RestaurantSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Hotel ExteriorSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pound and Penny PubSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden Suite Bathroom Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Swimming Pool and Gym Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Main Hotel EntranceSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Gatehouse Wing Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden outside Pound & Penny Deck Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Boardroom Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Garden Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pound & Penny PubSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Standard Room Bathroom Sunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - RestaurantSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Guest RoomSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - SurroundingsSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - BuffetSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Pub/LoungeSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Meeting RoomSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - SurroundingsSunnyside Park Hotel Johannesburg - Exterior

Customer Reviews - Sunnyside Park Hotel, Johannesburg

AS-AGWEB-3C01