Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sunset Beach Resort

316/2 Phrabaramee Road, Patong, Phuket, Thailand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

8.0

based on 412 reviews

254 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.3
Location
7.9
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (412)
Sort by:
Ching Y. Couples Hong Kong, May 19, 2016
24hrs check-in service
4.3
Very nice!
Daniel J. Families with young children Laos, April 25, 2016
Good hotel for the money *when on offer*
5.3
The rooms and facilities were nice enough, I really liked the pool, as did my three year old son. The location isn't so great, it's the very end of Patong beach, which is small and a bit dirty and mainly rocky. The hotel it self faces a busy road, so eating outside at the front means sitting opposite lots of traffic which isn't nice, so we generally sat inside and enjoyed the sea view from there. You can walk (5 to 10 minutes) to the nicer part of the beach, but found going in to town just that little bit too far - so taxi was used then. Two very minor points: (1) The hotel WiFi didn't work in our rooms, which were right at the back of the hotel. (2) The odd little control box that controlled all the lights and AC next to the bed was a bit faulty, suddenly deciding to randomly turn one of the bed lights on and off over and over in the middle of the night. Some prodding of the control in question eventually made it stop. It looked pretty damn old so I guess it was worn out. Breakfast was nice, pretty normal hotel buffet stuff. Depending on the traffic, its between 35 minutes and 1 hour from the airport by taxi. Depending on the taxi, you may get sea-sick on the way! Some of them drive like crazy people, too fast over the mountain roads often on the wrong side (at night, around blind corners, up a hill!), which I really hated - so dangerous. Luckily we had a careful driver for the return trip. Overall, I'd say its worth its price *when the rooms are on offer*. The listed "normal price" is way more than I'd pay for the place though.
Talha C. Families with young children Pakistan, April 11, 2016
Unresponsive/Ignorant Staff
3
When we first arrived, our booked room was unavailable. We were made to wait 1 hour for a different "upgraded" room. They gave us a free dinner coupon for 2 to make-up for the delay. Getting to our room required to master a maze trail of long corridors and changing 2 elevators. Our baby daughter accidentally locked us out of the bedroom and it took them almost another hour and 2 reminders to just get the room open again. The location of the hotel is not that great as it is located at the end of the beach where the sands end and rough ground begins.
Judith P. Solo travelers United States of America, April 10, 2016
Good location
6.3
Location away from the beach and the party area. Only disappointment was the room location that faced the road and bar area. All night cars, bikes and party buses up and down the road. No sleep and no other rooms available.
Stefanie H. Couples Germany, April 3, 2016
Hotel employees are conspicuous by listlessness an
2.3
Hotel: Most of the equipment is old, dirty, broken or not maintained enough. e.g.: the Fitness Center can not be used because every equiment is broken oder totally rusted; in the room the floor was was not swept and the shower is extremely mold; in the public corridors of the building I have seen sometimes mouses and in most corners is garbage or dirt Personnel: Hotel employees are conspicuous by listlessness and lack of eagerness: e.g.: The breakfast buffet is not or only insufficiently refilled; enough Staff is present but nobody feels responsible or seems to be interested in a good Service. Everybody is lazy and seems to be listlessness. I have NEVER seen such a Situation before! Summary: No 4 **** Hotel --- this Hotel will not see us again!
Sandra C. Couples Australia, April 1, 2016
Good place in a beautiful beach
5
It's A little bit noisy in the night. breakfast so good!
Chong C. Families with young children Malaysia, March 31, 2016
Nice Hotel Compare to The Royal Paradise Hotel
5.3
Travelled with hubby and my son aged 4+yo. Last Day at Phuket. HAD STAYED 3 HOTELS IN PHUKET. Compare Apple to Apple (Sunset Beach Hotel vs The Royal Paradise Hotel). This is much much better than The Royal Paradise Hotel. RECEPTION : Polite and Helpful ROOM : Huge and 85% Clean. Can't be too high expectation sometimes. BREAKFAST : Love it... At least the western breakfast combination is much much better than The Royal Paradise Hotel. They served lesser varieties but really good enough. LOCATION : Further from the Junceylon and Bangla Road. Dont' Worry, they provide FREE SHUTTLE TO JUNCEYLON from 9am -9pm - breaktime between 5pm-6pm. It's two-way transfer. 8-10min away by their FREE SHUTTLE. STREETFOOD : Just in front of the hotel during night time. It's GOOD and slightly much cheaper. SWIMMING POOL ; Fantastic... A lot of shades, all over the pool. If you don't like your kids or yourself get caught in sunburn, this is really perfect. Will stay in this hotel again if travel to Phuket.
Ronald C. Solo travelers Philippines, March 21, 2016
Great Stay at Sunset BEach resort
6.7
Overall, I had a great stay at Sunset beach. 1. Room was very beautiful. Big bed, Very clean. Great interiors. 2. Pool was excellent. Some say it is dirty, but maybe because there were leaves falling. It is surrounded by a beautifully-landscaped garden so it is pretty normal. 3. Food is good. I observed though that the dining hall is quite dark, but with red sweet candles. It looks romantic though, but at the same time, I feel I will see a ghost somewhere. 4. I like the shuttle going to Patong market. It leaves on time, and fetches people back to the hotel on time also. For some little complaints: 1. I had problems with the internet for 2 of my 3 nights. Speed is good, but there were times it said limited connectivity to my room. Not sure because of many users. But in the lobby, it was fast. 2. The door card/key needs up to 5-second inside to be recognized. Meaning you need to put the card inside it 3-5 secs. Else, it will give a red. On my second day, it went our of battery as well so it needed to be fixed in the morning before my scheduled tour. 3. Aircon at first was not getting cooler. It is like fixed at around 27-28 degrees C. I complained about this, and then it went OK after. 3. Maintenance (for internet, aircon, and door) took time to come. Like around 30 minutes. I called several times (for internet) and go downstairs for at least 3x, before someone go to my room and fixed the problem. I think they have fewer maintanance staff, so they can not go from one room to another. They have 3 hotel buildings I believe, so that might cause some delays. Overall, my stay in this hotel was perfect. Value of moeny and sleep quality was so good. It is also beach front and I love it. Far from the noisy Patong center so I did not have problems with the noise. I highly recommend this hotel.
Enes C. Couples United States of America, March 5, 2016
Good place

It's clean. Stuff doing good job. Breakfast good
9.3
I have pleasant stay there. Nothing wrong to say for sure.
Kevin H. Couples Australia, February 23, 2016
Anniversary

Staff, facilities, service.
10
Was a fantastic time for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and a last minute special request for 30 red rose flowers in the room was way over and above what I expected. Staff were nothing short of the best I have ever dealt with both social and business. My wife's second stay there and I want to go back again in the future. Lady who organised the flowers was not there the day we left so could not thank her again personal. Will do it next stay! :)
1 - 10 of 254 reviews Next page
Sunset Beach Resort PhuketSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Hotel ExteriorSunset Beach Resort Phuket - InteriorSunset Beach Resort Phuket - InteriorSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Superior City View RoomSunset Beach Resort Phuket - InteriorSunset Beach Resort Phuket - DeluxeSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Fitness RoomSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Hotel ExteriorSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Kid’s clubSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Kid’s clubSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Kid’s clubSunset Beach Resort Phuket - RestaurantSunset Beach Resort Phuket - RestaurantSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - RestaurantSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomSunset Beach Resort Phuket - RestaurantSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Meeting RoomSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesSunset Beach Resort Phuket - SpaSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Sunset SpaSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Sunset SpaSunset Beach Resort Phuket - SpaSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - SpaSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - InteriorSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Sports and ActivitiesSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Fitness RoomSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Food and BeveragesSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - SpaSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Swimming PoolSunset Beach Resort Phuket - SpaSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - ViewSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Guest RoomSunset Beach Resort Phuket - Lobby


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B04