Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 653 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.0
Sort by

Ming-Jen Y. from Taiwan
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
great location and very close to bustling places
good value and staff at restaurant for breakfast are extremely friendly
very good for the price range, room is fine, the bathroom is little bit too small for big ones
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rachel L. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
good location, great airconditioner and tv!
aircon, good wifi, computer in room.
For the price you pay it is good. Our first stay, there were lots of fruit flies due to the fruit bowl in the room. We were only there for 2 nights so it was ok.2nd stay was much better, better shaped room and cleaner Friendly staff. Would stay again.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Peta R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Excellent friendly staff made us feel at home
Head reception lady and doorman were so helpful and kind
We will stay at Sunshine Suites next time we visit Hanoi. Mainly because the staff were so lovely. The main reception lady insisted that we return to the hotel after our trip to HaLong Bay, just to enjoy the air con and to relax in the foyer before catching our train. She was so friendly alway ans always had our comfort and needs as her priority. We did not book our HaLong Bay tour through the hotel, but if we were to go again we would book through this hotel as I think thy can be trusted to send you on a good one. The tour we took was booked through our Australian agent and the tour was very dissapointing. The doorman (Nam) helped us get sim cards, by actually escorting us to a local vender and loading the sim and extra credit onto the phones. Also he took my mother to buy some bowls nearby, and helped me purchase some excellent takeaway for our train journey. When it came time for us to go to the train journey he escorted us there and helped us onto the train right up to our cabin. I think this was definitely outside of his normal duties, but he is so happy to help. Of course we tipped him well each time but I think he would have helped us just as much without tipping. The rooms were clean, the sheets and towels were of international hotel standard (no holes or stains etc) Some of the furniture has some scratches and the detail of the wallpaper is not perfect. The breakfast is not super but anyone could eat what they provide. Do get the hotel arranged airport transfer, it is cheaper than a taxi and you will have no worries about being scammed at the airport. ($18usd August2012)
Reviewed August 26, 2012

ugo R. from Italy
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
just a nice position, cheap and quite normal hotel
location
in the centre of the city but in a crowded street. not a great hotel, cheap breakfast, but good price
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Rebecca S. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Nice hotel, friendly staff
Good location in the old quarter
Hotel was good, centrally located and with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was very big and clean, although the decor could have done with a little updating. The computer wasn't working very well either. Otherwise it was very good and we enjoyed our stay here.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Emilie N. from France
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
hotel I did in Vietnam
Nothing
we booked 2 rooms, on the first one we did not have the hot water heater on the floor on the bathroom...we asked them to fix it and finally we had a leak at the bathtube. in the second room, the water can not evacuate from the bathtube. we complained every day (three times) and nothing was done or fixed but they always answer that it will ok in the evening. the food for the breakfast was horrible. and finally, when we asked them to offer us the breakfast as a compensation, we argued during one hour and never be eared. we did not suceed to speak with the manager to explain how angry we were against the hotel. finally the swimming pool is not clean. the best advise i can give you : avoid it!!!!
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Simon L. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Decent hotel with good location
Close enough to walk to water puppet show and night market.
We enjoyed our stay here. Staff arranged taxis for us to get around and when we had to leave early for the airport they packed breakfast for us to take.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

andrew G. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
good- cheap
location- clean
Beautiful hotel. Other reviewers have made comments about the hotel being in the need of updating, but this is the charm of the place! . The food is very good The staff were very accommodating and friendly. We were upgraded because we wanted to extend our stay by one night & our original room was already booked. large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and a sitting room with tea and coffee making facilities. Nice touches like homemade biscuits supplied daily & evening turn down service with a water carafe nightly. The little garden outside is a lovely place to sit & enjoy the view. We will definitely be back!
Reviewed August 19, 2012

nengyu C. from China
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Great location but small rooms
clean, cosy, convenient
We have stayed two nights. Everything is convenient, breadfast is quite good.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

MYUNGHWAN K. from South Korea
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in August 2012
Terrible and horrible place
nothing
Big roach live in there and wall is thick so you can hear another room. 7th floor doesn't have elevator so you can handle your own bag
Reviewed August 18, 2012