or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sunway Hotel Georgetown

33, New Lane (off Macalister Road), Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia 10400 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Deluxe Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Suite Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Suite Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Lobby Business Center Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Meeting Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Mini Lounge Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Meeting Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Deluxe Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Ballroom Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming Pool Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Facilities Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Ballroom Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Bathroom Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Lobby Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Fitness Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Lobby Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming Pool Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Exterior Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Restaurant Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest Room
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 250
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
4843 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.7
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.7
All reviews (4843)
Sort by:
Riaan V. Families with older children South Africa, November 16, 2014
Family weekend in George Town

Great service
8
Sippawat V. Families with young children Thailand, November 16, 2014
No

Location room and clean
9
Lin S. Solo travelers Malaysia, November 15, 2014
Good location, clean room and good services

Good location, clean room and good services
7.7
The hotel is a good location, beside is a night food market. room is clean and comfortable, service is good. But the room key need to be improve, need to try few times for the lift access and room door. is worth for money, will stay again if im going to penang again.
Dora L. Couples Australia, November 15, 2014
Convienent family stay

Location, clean and helpful staff
7.7
The stay was enjoyable. Easy walking distance to town centre. At night, plenty of hawker food along the street, although have to mention the food is not as great, if you are a lover of hawker food.
Basoeki G. Couples Indonesia, November 15, 2014
Old Hotel, New Look, Old Staff, Very Good Location

The Lobby New Look, Great Wifi Signal but Poor Performance, Very Good Location in term of next door hawker centers, plenty food options, reasonable distance to Komtar
4.3
Mixed Experience at Best! Upon arrival we were not greeted by hotel staffs and long waits since there are only two counter staffs. Checked in process were a bit disappointing because we book our room almost 3 weeks in advanced and they can’t accommodate our requests. Key card troublesome to use. Room is spacious, but not very clean. We found out that the bedsheets is shorter and lack of power outlets for devices. We stayed 5 days and 4 nights in the hotel and the linen only changed once and that's because we requested... which is very concerning. In bathroom area, we found mildews on shower area and there is no bathroom ventilation (only holes on ceiling without fan). Only 10 TV channels and 90% of the channels quality are very bad, grainy, and choppy. Dining in Sunway Hotel are enticing at first since we peeked at the ala carte menu shown in front of the dining area, but then we found out to be discouraging when we had our breakfast. Mediocre Food Selections, the hot station took the order wrongly twice; food quality is not very good. The only decent food is cereal with milk and rice with chicken curry. i also puzzled with the chef on coming up with idea to serve peeled and sliced banana served openly on a buffet dish which turned brown??? Coffee very bad, teas are ok. After 2nd day, i enjoy hot tea with cheap wafers better. We skipped breakfast on 3rd and 4th day. We saw many white clothes worker, which we knew those are casual worker or students. Upon our departure, the check out process is very SLOW! The ladies behind the counter are indifferent and careless about us, despite we try to make excuse to them about we need to do quick check out. Female staff image helps on front office department, but wrong attitude from them definitely defeat that purpose. we found the Male staffs to be more courteous with their service. So Please have Express CHECK OUT Option for the guests. We like the hotel location, building, but "hospitality" definitely need to be improved.
Oh R. Groups Indonesia, November 15, 2014
Good service

Clean , good location,good service
8
It was worth the stay and the location was very convenient
Patrick L. Families with older children Malaysia, November 15, 2014
For opportunity for improvement, or expansion.

i like the location as I can easily go in and out to find restaurant or food. Hotel cleanliness tip top at front desk but they shall considered surrounding area too.
6
it was good during stayed last week. only reason that pulled me back from giving full points to this hotel was the car park condition. it was narrow and dark. and the pass given by hotel, driver will need to collect ticket each time entering the parking. suggest some card with censor .e.g. entering pass?
Mei Y. Couples Singapore, November 15, 2014
Sunway Hotel Georgetown

location
5.7
Tong C. Groups Singapore, November 14, 2014
Our Penang Hotel Sunway visit

Within easy reach of Penang exotic delicacies, taxi transportation and excellent customer service
10
We were particularly disappointed that the shower area does not provide a seating chamode for the elderly to sit and have a shower in safety especially for the physically challenged who is not able to stand firmly on two feet due to weakness in both left and right leg joints due to elderly age. Would need a temporary pail and water scooping device especially for bathing the elderly by an attending maid who accompanies the elderly during the hotel stay. Not able to get all three rooms within vicinity i.e. near to each other though did get an adjoining room to room as requested.
Song C. Business travelers Russia, November 13, 2014
Good Location / Room is clean

Clean / Good Location for Food
7.7
Great !

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming PoolSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Deluxe Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Suite RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Suite RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Lobby Business CenterSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Meeting RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Mini LoungeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Meeting RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Deluxe RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - BallroomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming PoolSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - FacilitiesSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - BallroomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - BathroomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - LobbySunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Fitness RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - LobbySunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming PoolSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - ExteriorSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - RestaurantSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Ballroom

Customer Reviews - Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang

AS-AGWEB-3A03