Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Sunway Hotel Georgetown

33, New Lane (off Macalister Road), Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia 10400 (Show on map)

Book now!

Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Deluxe Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Lobby Business Center Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Meeting Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Mini Lounge Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Meeting Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Deluxe Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Ballroom Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming Pool Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Facilities Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Ballroom Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Bathroom
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun Cafe Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Lobby Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Fitness Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Lobby Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming Pool Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Exterior Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Restaurant Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Ballroom
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 250
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

from 5491 reviews

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.9
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (5491)
Sort by:
Lana Z. Business travelers Malaysia, December 11, 2014
overpriced

bed...shower...clean
6.7
Just ok..
Report this review
Eng S. Business travelers Malaysia, December 9, 2014
City Hotel

Location, near to local food stalls and new upgraded room.
4.7
Okay.
Report this review
Ng C. Business travelers Singapore, December 8, 2014
Nice Hotel

Clean, Comfort, Wifi
9
Stay was good with clean, tidy nice hotel. Internet connection is good if work is required.
Report this review
James L. Couples United States of America, December 8, 2014
pleasantly surprised

location, staff, value
9.7
After reading some of the reviews I decided to trust the positive ones and hope for the best. I am so happy I did. I could find nothing to fault. Even the health club, small as it was had everything needed. The staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. Room was comfortable. Shower was great. Food excellent. Would recommend to anyone. Please make note that a new tourist service just started 3 weeks ago. The hop on hop off open top bus. It has a hop on stop just near to the hotel. We spent one entire day touring the whole of Penang Island. There is not time to get off to see everything but we were able to decide where we wanted to go back to for more time.
Report this review
Thinakaran M. Families with young children Malaysia, December 8, 2014
very good service.****

Everything is good about this hotel. Near to shopping center and Walking distance. Breakfast at the Fuzion has wide spread of variety. Staffs were polite and friendly. Happy with the sunway hotel.
10
We stayed in Sunway Hotel in Georgetown and loved the convenience and location of it to all the local coffee shops. Easy walking distance to most places. If you are visiting Penang for a food trip, this is the place to stay. New Lane transform into a street food court at night as well. Staff were nice and friendly as well. Would recommend it to anyone doing a layover in Georgetown.
Report this review
Liu E. Groups Indonesia, December 7, 2014
Pleasant hotel in a pleasant location

Location, location, location
8
The hotel is a pretty nice hotel, esp. for a hotel that has been operated for 40 years. The room seemed like it was newly renovated. It was clean and pleasant, except for the air-cond which is not as cold as we expected. It was hot in penang and the air-cond only helped a little bit to sooth the air. Aside from it, we have no other complain regarding the room or the hotel. This hotel is located nearby so many hawker food all day and night. For those who wants to visit penang for culinary trip, this hotel is highly recommended for you.
Report this review
Alvin P. Groups Singapore, December 7, 2014
Still a great experience. 3rd stay in last 1.5 yrs

Location, Street food very near, comfortable rooms.
8.3
It had been a great stay as usual. My 3rd stay with Sunway Hotel Georgetown. This time round, brought 4 other couples and recommmended the hotel to them. Was a little surprise they seem not to have my records in their system though. Would expect a 4 star hotel to have taken note of this. Nonetheless, all my friends did enjoy their stay, staff in hotel have pleasant personality and very courteous. Greets the guest when they see them. Thumbs up!
Report this review
Ang Y. Families with young children Singapore, December 7, 2014
lift card tend to be faulty frequently.

room, location and breakfast
9
Awesome
Report this review
Wei H. Business travelers Taiwan, December 7, 2014
Ok service, big room but clean, it overrated hotel

room is big, many tradiition food in front hotel
3.7
1. I book Deluxe Club, but NOT NOT NOT able to do late check out!! It is the right of CLUB member right??? If I paid double price for this room but could not get the service. Well.Who will boo this book again? not good location for travelers without car 2. Room is big but not clean. 3. Pool is NOT big and do not even mention the poor GYM. 4. Food is just ok as staff.
Report this review
Yong H. Couples Singapore, December 7, 2014
Very bad customer service

clean comfort room,good location, VERY BAD SERVICES STAFFS
6
The hotel itself is good but I WILL NEVER go back again, their staffs performance is so terrible, rude and aggressive! They really need to train up their employees!
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming PoolSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Deluxe Room Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Lobby Business CenterSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Meeting RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Mini LoungeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Meeting RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Deluxe RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - BallroomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming PoolSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - FacilitiesSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - BallroomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - BathroomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Sun CafeSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - LobbySunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Fitness RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - LobbySunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Swimming PoolSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - ExteriorSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - RestaurantSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Guest RoomSunway Hotel Georgetown Penang - Ballroom

Customer Reviews - Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03