arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 3337 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3337 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

7.3 Stefan K.
Sweden
November 14, 2012
Good location if you are a tourist
Nice hotel
The hotel is nice but there is nothing outstanding about it. The location is good if you visit Singapore for the first time. You are at walking distance from China Town and the nearest MRT is very close. The location is mainly targeted for tourists.

7.7 Kharolina L.
Indonesia
November 13, 2012
Lovely hotel and lovely location
the crowd and the view
I love this hotel, really nice hotel with a very nice sight seeing and i love all the bars and crowd near the location. The service was also nice and friendly, big room, strategic location too.

8 bruce M.
New Zealand
November 11, 2012
the location was not as bad as i thought...
The hotel is a little tired but the location is good and the service is also good, great club lounge!
i normally stay at the hyatt but it was booked out, i pleasantly surprised with the swissotel, the upgrade to the chairman's suite was very nice and from that point on i only have good things to say...

7.7 Jialing N.
Singapore
November 10, 2012
Great hotel with spacious room
Spacious, clean
Together with a few friends of mine, we had a staycation over @ Swissotel Merchant Court. First time staying there. Room was quite spacious even thou I only booked the "Classic Room". The hotel even go to the extra mile of putting "different types of cups" for different drinks in the room. Toilet was clean and "big" as compared to other hotels. Bed was comfy. And room has all the things you need. Iron, iron board and etc. Since i'm a singaporean, the chances of me staying there again is low, but nevertheless it's a good choice if you choose that hotel. Rows of pubs and MRT within a few minutes walk.

6.7 Michael M.
United Kingdom
November 10, 2012
Great location on the river
Next to Clarke Quay
met all expectations and provided very friendly service in all departments. the arrival experience is efficient and friendly with a good welcome feeling. the highlander in clarke quay is a great bar to start and finish a night out as it is only a very short walk across the river from the hotel. china town and boat quay are also close by and it is not too far to walk to the cbd and the marina. location is great.

8 David H.
Australia
November 10, 2012
Great Hotel
Good service
We have stayed several times at this hotel as it is well situated close to underground shops and restaurants. The rooms are clean and well equipped for business travel or holiday. Service is excellent from booking in to checking out. Good choice of food and beverage in restaurant and bar, service always comes with a smile. We are looking forward to our next stay.

8.7 Sumiaty S.
Indonesia
November 10, 2012
Great Location
Great Location
all of us are very happy to stay there due to great location surrounding clarke quay's night life. after one day adventure in the day time, we still can spend some time for rest and shower for a while before going out to enjoy night view, dinner and hippo duck by walking few minutes only. the room is bigger than others common room in singapore.

8.7 Bee A.
Singapore
November 09, 2012
Great location
MRT and shops are just outside the hotel.
first timer at swissotel merchant court hotel. i was upgraded to the deluxe room. although the room is small, its cosy enough. probably only enough space to put 1 big suitcase by the foot of the bed/below. the room is very clean and the best part will have to be the nespresso machine and twg teabags! i must also really comment about the duckdown pillows they used as its really comfy if you enjoy nightlife, then clarke quay and boat quay are just walking distance. if you prefer to go suntec and other shopping areas like orchard, the mrt station is just around the corner. there is a shopping centre next door but its a rather small one. overall, its a great hotel just a little pricey

8.3 Andrew D.
Australia
November 09, 2012
Great location with friendly, caring staff
Location, outlook & access to MRT
A number of friends recommended this hotel and the trip advisor reviews confirmed that it was worth giving it a try. We have stayed in Singapore a few times over recent years and this hotel was definitely the best. We had booked a classic room with a pool view and unfortunately that wasn't available when we checked in on the Friday night, but we were moved to the other side of the hotel on the Sunday afternoon, so it wasn't a real inconvenience (we were there for 9 nights). As a compensation for the move, the hotel provided us with a small fruit platter. I would definitely advise going for a pool view room (we also had a view over the river from room 401 although this was directly adjacent to the lifts and we did hear some guest traffice noise). Our room was very comfortable with a relatively biggish bathroom with a bath; a massive, very comfortable bed; and wonderful black out curtains that allowed us to sleep in. The only problem with the room was there was only one bed-side table. The tiling grout in the bathroom did look a bit amateurish, but it wasn't too bad. The hotel lobby is not as grand as many you'll find, but it's attractive enough. We didn't have a lot to do with the staff as we didn't eat any meals in the hotel, but they were all very attentive and pleasant and they made a big fuss of me for my birthday which was such a lovely touch and really appreciated (ie a little cake, bottle of wine and chocolates). My husband said the gym was the best he's ever experience in a hotel. The pool is great, however there are probably not enough loungers for the size of the hotel. There's lots to do around the hotel with all the Clarke Quay attractions, although it's a bit too touristy for our liking. Across the road is the Central Shopping Mall and the basement food court has heaps of really good little food stalls for a quick bite. We bought local SIMS and used these for web access. A great hotel and we had a great holiday in Singapore.

8.3 Tan K.
United Kingdom
November 08, 2012
Very Nice Hotel
Location
its right in the midst of the clarke quay which is the place to be after sundown. the hotel rooms are comfortably furnished and the buffets are great - never seen such a big spread anywhere else in singapore. not much of service though as this is very much a hot tourist hotel and not lacking in occupancy. but the location is great as you can hop into every joint along the clarke quay, get really drunk and still be able to find your way into the hotel.