Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 3359 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 3360 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Kellie W. from Australia
Groups
Stayed one night in January 2014
great central location
location in the heart of tsim tsa shui - very comfortable room.
recommended location, very central and access to shops, great restaurants and the harbour.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Melissa T. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Not impressed.
location
The only pro about this property is the location. Right in the heart of Clarke Quay and across from a mall with a fabulous bakery. We were extrememly dissapointed with our choice. We booked this location as there were reviews about how amazing the view was no matter which side you faced. When we arrived, we were assigned to the 3rd level. We expressed how we would love a room that was higher up and this vacation was our honeymoon, the front desk clerk said she was not able to make any changes as we booked. To me, customer service reflects on the hotel, not agoda. As we were swissotel members, our breakfast and wifi should be free but she started telling us the costs. I pointed out we were members and gave our ID number. She corrected us saying wifi is now free however breakfast is not included as we did not book through them directly, again I am a customer and there was no mention of this on the membership. The front desk agent never apologized for the inconvenience, infact she just said "that is the way it is". my husband and i were blown away by her lack of customer service and her lack of any sort of personality. We decided to make the most of our 3 night stay but were shocked to realize our room view was of half a wall and the rooms above us, we couldnt even see the pool, there was no balcony and the bathroom had yellow stains around the base of the toilet. My husband's bath towel had brown stains on it as well. To top it off, in the heart of Singapore, we were unable to get a wifi signal, we called the front desk who transferred us to IT help in another country! They were unable to help us and if we wanted a wifi signal we had to stand by the bathroom door and function on 1 bar. Highly dissapointing and frankly unacceptable for this hotel. We will not be staying here again and we will never send any of our friends to this chain. A revamp on customer service and a new internet connection should be in order.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

zhou J. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2014
average
location
Average. The hotel is strategically located and That's all...staff is bad....took a long to reply and attend to small things...
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Kellie W. from Australia
Groups
Stayed one night in January 2014
Great central location, excellent room/facilities
Central location at clarkes quay, great room and facilities, excellent executive club lounge
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay - cannot beat the location at clarkes quay and the sites and nightlife. Easy access to transport. Very nice room
Reviewed March 09, 2014

WEE T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2013
Rooms a little run down
Centrally located, easy access to public transport, 5mins walk to shopping mall
Centrally located, easy access to public transport, 5mins walk to shopping mall
Reviewed March 09, 2014

adam G. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in May 2013
Great hotel with nice restaurants
Good food, nice rooms, good service.
Thumbs up for this hotel, must try the buffet dinner at the hotel, huge variety of food and personally i think it's value for money. The room are cozy and well decorated. downside is that they do not have smoking rooms. Overall hotel staffs are all friendly and attentive. Hotel is located near to Singapore's Chinatown. It's easy to get taxi from the entrance of the hotel. Hotel is also located beside a nice shopping center with great variety of restaurants as well and it is a min walk away from Singapore's night spots "Clark Quay".
Reviewed March 03, 2014

WONG C. from China
Families with older children
Stayed one night in February 2014
Nearby the restaurant
Comfortable , Grand hotel , Nice place
Swissotel Merchant Hotel nearby the restaurant, and overall quite good and comfortable, I maybe visit again during I go singapore next times.
Reviewed March 02, 2014

Mark A. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Excellent location good night life within walking
Location, staff, nearby amenities
Ver pleasanr, ideal for both my business arrangements and taking the family to the various attractions at Sentosa. We enjoyed the breakfasts in the morning, the check in was seamless, the staff were very helpful and it really helped when we were checking out. All in all whilst the hotel is a bit old, it has charm and is definitely worth revisiting. I would reccomend it to anyone pasisng throught Singapore.
Reviewed March 02, 2014

Mark A. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Very convenient for the purpose of my visit
Location, staff, cost for the standard provided
Very pleasant, I had a tight schedule and relied on the location as it was close to the MRT and taxi stands as well as being close to the places in the CBD that I wanted to visit. Entertainment in the evening was abundent again due to the proximity to Clarke quay and Boat Quay
Reviewed March 02, 2014

John T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
Very relaxing and enjoyable
Location friendliness and professionalism
As we have stayed before the friendly staff you have also very helpful we had a problem with our baggage which was expertly sorted out for us by porters and concierge. We will definitely return again soon. Thank you .
Reviewed February 28, 2014