or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Syuen Hotel

88, Jalan Sultan Abdul Jalil,, Ipoh City, Ipoh, Malaysia 30300 (Show on map)

Book now!

Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe King Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe King Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe Twin Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe Twin Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe Twin Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Family Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Family Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Junior Suite Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Bathroom Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Bathroom Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Swimming Pool Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Fitness Centre Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Fitness Centre Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Lobby Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Interior Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Entrance
Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Exterior Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Exterior Syuen Hotel Ipoh - Exterior
Area: Ipoh City Number of Rooms: 290
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
447 reviews

Value for Money
6.8
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.2
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (447)
Sort by:
Robert Y. Families with young children Singapore, July 16, 2014
comfortable

dining/location/staff
8
comfortable
Chun S. Families with young children Malaysia, July 13, 2014
Nice hotel, nice pool. Excellent service.

Great service, great pool.
8.3
Got room changed with no question asked. Avoid family room as there was no window view to outside and room was dark. Get deluxe room instead. We got our room changed immediately with no question asked. We also got an extra bed for free.
Roger P. Couples Australia, July 4, 2014
Only stayed one night but good value, rooms clean

position, value for money, good facilities
7.7
good
Thian S. Families with young children Malaysia, July 3, 2014
Maintenance team have to work up a bit more effort

Location, comfortable
7.3
Very nice one.
Shuk K. Solo travelers China, July 1, 2014
friendly people

the hotel is close to the restaurant. reasonable price. large room rize
7
the hotel is old but is clean. the price for that quality is reasonable.
Shaun H. Families with young children United Kingdom, June 29, 2014
Past Glory

Reception Area
5.7
The sign says 21 years old this year bit it felt more like 100 years. I first stayed in the Syuen 10 years ago and this was a bit of a nostalgia trip. What a disappointment! Apart from the imposing reception area the hotel has little going for it now. What was once the nice Garden View restaurant is now a Building Site view restaurant. The windows looked like they haven't been cleaned in 10 years and the buffet breakfast is very limited. It also took 4 attempts to make a hard boiled egg! We stayed in the family room and there seems to have been an attempt to brighten it up (no window views) but the flower stickers that have been put on to the bathroom tiles are peeling off and do not look nice. The floor is wooden and at first sight looks nice, but then you notice the nail heads sticking out of the floor. How dangerous with children running around in bare feet. The cushions on the furniture were also worn and torn and the kettle for boiling hot water was no where near a socket. We had to put it on the floor. I am please we were only stopping 2 nights as I would have checked out anyway. Sorry, never again for the Syuen.
Soon L. Solo travelers Singapore, June 29, 2014
Comfortable stay

If you see my selection of what I'll recommend this hotel for, is mainly the staffs. They're extremely digilent, great with languages and very attentive to every details with regards to customers.
6.7
I would say that every part of the stay is pleasant except for the hotel food. I've ordered room service for dinner but I've to say that the food is extremely disappointing. Not only they're not tasty but the french fries came in cold. The chicken wing is hardly tasty as it's tasteless to start with, they didnt use any seasoning to fry it so it was rather disappointing as Malaysia's always famous for their tasty chicken wings. Literally no salt nor pepper added on them either. Overall, I will comment that despite the hotel is a little on the old side, their amenities, facilities and entire hotel appearance is still kept well and clean. As a solo traveler, I focus alot on comfort, guest service and food which this hotel manage to succeed extremely well in the first 2. I think that's really hard to come by as Ipoh is not a very popular tourist destination. Being able to attain such standards, I think it's quite a good job done.
Gan S. Groups Singapore, June 24, 2014
Very old smelly hotel that needs a major over haul

5min to Parkson shopping mall and some massage shops. Famous eateries 10min drive away.
3.3
Terrible. We paid for a family room with extra bed but got a normal deluxe room. Then they upgrade us to a "jnr suite" and put in an extra bed. Room looks like 50 yrs old, it's really that old !! There was leaking ceiling at the walkway and they just put 2 pails there to collect the water. Go elsewhere of better value. Just convenient location with nice accomodating staff
Badiah H. Families with young children Malaysia, June 22, 2014
Great Location, comfortable room

Centrally located, comfortable room and close to amenities
8
The original family room that we booked was not available so we were given an upgrade to a suite at no charge. SO it was a very pleasant surprise. The room was very big and we were also given an eatra bed free of charge.
Foong S. Business travelers Malaysia, June 21, 2014
Good location

Good location, clean
6.3
Good location, the hotel was vy old.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Syuen Hotel IpohSyuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe KingSyuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe KingSyuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe TwinSyuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe TwinSyuen Hotel Ipoh - Deluxe TwinSyuen Hotel Ipoh - FamilySyuen Hotel Ipoh - FamilySyuen Hotel Ipoh - Junior SuiteSyuen Hotel Ipoh - BathroomSyuen Hotel Ipoh - BathroomSyuen Hotel Ipoh - Swimming PoolSyuen Hotel Ipoh - Fitness CentreSyuen Hotel Ipoh - Fitness CentreSyuen Hotel Ipoh - LobbySyuen Hotel Ipoh - InteriorSyuen Hotel Ipoh - EntranceSyuen Hotel Ipoh - ExteriorSyuen Hotel Ipoh - ExteriorSyuen Hotel Ipoh - Exterior

Customer Reviews - Syuen Hotel, Ipoh

AS-AGWEB-3C06