Sign in and see our lowest prices
×

or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tamarind Hill

No. 288, Dadella, Galle City, Galle, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Tamarind Hill Galle - The property at dusk Tamarind Hill Galle - Entrance Tamarind Hill Galle - Hotel at Night Tamarind Hill Galle - Exterior Tamarind Hill Galle - Courtyard Tamarind Hill Galle - Courtyard Tamarind Hill Galle - Courtyard by night Tamarind Hill Galle - Exterior View Tamarind Hill Galle - Swimming Pool Tamarind Hill Galle - Pub/Lounge Tamarind Hill Galle - Restaurant Tamarind Hill Galle - Grand Staircase Tamarind Hill Galle - Outdoor Dining (Wedding) Tamarind Hill Galle - Served Tamarind Hill Galle - Garden side view Tamarind Hill Galle - Courtyard
Tamarind Hill Galle - River Tamarind Hill Galle - Lobby Tamarind Hill Galle - Lobby
Area: Galle City Number of Rooms: 10
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.8

based on
121 reviews

Value for Money
8.7
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.5
Room Comfort/Standard
9.3
Food/Dining
8.4
All reviews (121)
Sort by:
Anthony F. Groups Australia, July 31, 2014
Beautiful hotel sorely let down by management,

Room size and air conditioning, hotel surrounds.
6
Walking into Tamarind Hill on a hot day we were greeted with a fresh fruit juice. Our friend’s room was ready, and they were shown through - however even though we'd booked at the same time, there was a small hold up finding our booking. This didn't worry us at the time at all as the staff were polite and courteous. When it was ready, our room was beautiful. It was cool, and spacious. The bathroom was larger than budget accommodation I've stayed in, and always had hot water! The courtyards, gardens and pool are well maintained. The restaurant service is one downfall. Everything seemed to be so much trouble - even though we didn't order anything more difficult than 4x rice and curry and a burger (the vege curry ordered didn't arrive until we brought it to the waiter's attention). If breakfast is included in your rate, take advantage of it as it’s adequate - but be prepared to receive something slightly different to the menu (no mushrooms, tomatoes or potato rosti with the American breakfast for example, just an omelette); or to be told what you can have - and not receive a menu at all (by that stage we just went along with it, save the drama). At checkout, both groups were charged for things from the minibar that were never in the fridge in the first place. I didn't bother arguing about these incursions as we had to catch a train and the simple task of taking a beef burger off the bill that we didn’t order took more than 20 minutes. Lovely hotel - terrible management.
Louise B. Families with young children United Kingdom, July 27, 2014
Old style and chilled

Loved the building, the character and the decor was fabulous. Stayed in Captains room and it was very impressive, great balcony, fabulous huge bathroom! Staff we're friendly and pool was great.
9
For a last minute decision it turned out to be a very good one. Plenty of character, lots of little areas in which to chill, our room was huge with amazing bathroom. Only think was menu felt a bit limited, but for a weekend stay it was ideal.
Francois R. Couples France, April 13, 2014
A exceptionnal hotel !

Beautifull architecture and extraordinary rooms
9.3
It was a fantastic stay in a lovely place. The architecture of this hotel is really beautiful and exceptional. The room are fantastic, big, with high ceiling. The staff is really friendly and will accommodate your needs.
Tom R. Couples United Kingdom, February 26, 2014
Beautiful hotel in quiet location.

lovely setting, great food, very pretty.
10
Had a lovely time the hotel is relatively small built round a courtyard in what was originally a judges house ( so i was told) the atmosphere is tranquil and the food and service first class.
Jean M. Families with young children France, January 18, 2014
fantastic stay at Tamarind

Great staff, great room, fantastic amenities and garden/pool
9.7
The best hotel we've been to in Sri Lanka. and great value for money (compared to Apa Villa where we unfortunately stayed 2 booked nights before switching to way better Tamarind Hill !)
William M. Couples Australia, January 9, 2014
disappointing

comfortable room, fast internet, nice design
5.3
Overbearing staff detracted from the enjoyment of the experience. Tried to rip us off with outrageous taxi prices from Colombo airport and to Mirissa. Food was average. Overall poor value for the high cost per night.
Anne C. Couples Australia, December 10, 2013
Wonderful hotel with some amazingly friendly staff

Great rooms, excellent pool and friendly staff. Awesome food too!
9.7
I loved it the moment we stepped inside. The staff were attentive and friendly. The food was delicious (even though it would take some time to get to the table!). The pool was amazing. I would definitely go back!
Henry P. Couples United Kingdom, November 15, 2013
Luxury hotel with very friendly staff

The rooms, the staff and the pool
9
This hotel was relatively small and was originally a grand colonial house. The air-conditioned rooms are very impressive with large four poster beds. You really feel like you are living in luxury in this hotel and the staff are so attentive to any request you may have. They will never walk past you without saying hello and asking how you are which makes for a lovely comfortable atmosphere. The only negative for this hotel is that it isn't really walking distance from the city of Galle and is actually about 2 km west from the centre. However, this did not really impact us as we just got a tuk tuk into the centre. We highly recommend this hotel as it is so relaxing and feels pretty luxurious for the price you end up paying.
Yun Z. Solo travelers China, October 8, 2013
Great hotel rooms

quiteness, friendly, history
8.7
Lu Y. Families with young children China, October 6, 2013
very comfortable

Sri Lankan style room, helpful staff, close to beach
9.7
We spent two nights at Tamarind Hill. It is only 10 mins to the Galle Fort by Tuk. The room is huge, especially the room. Each room has a mini lovely garden. The room is very comfortable. A/C works without much noice. The bed is huge. the Staffs were very helpful.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tamarind Hill GalleTamarind Hill Galle - The property at duskTamarind Hill Galle - EntranceTamarind Hill Galle - Hotel at NightTamarind Hill Galle - ExteriorTamarind Hill Galle - CourtyardTamarind Hill Galle - CourtyardTamarind Hill Galle - Courtyard by nightTamarind Hill Galle - Exterior ViewTamarind Hill Galle - Swimming PoolTamarind Hill Galle - Pub/LoungeTamarind Hill Galle - Restaurant Tamarind Hill Galle - Grand StaircaseTamarind Hill Galle - Outdoor Dining (Wedding)Tamarind Hill Galle - ServedTamarind Hill Galle - Garden side viewTamarind Hill Galle - CourtyardTamarind Hill Galle - RiverTamarind Hill Galle - LobbyTamarind Hill Galle - Lobby


AS-AGWEB-3A04