Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tamarind Tree Hotel

Airport Road, Minuwangoda, Katunayake, Negombo, Sri Lanka (Show on map)

Book now!

Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Room Interior Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room Interior Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room Interior Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room Interior Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard - Bathroom Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Lobby Area Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Lobby Area Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Fine Dine Restaurant Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Main Restaurant Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Main Restaurant Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Fine Dine Restaurant Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Terrace
Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Terrace Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Hotel Bar Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Hotel Bar Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Pool Facilities Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Pool Area Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Hotel Reception Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Hotel Reception Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Main Entrance Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Exterior View Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Garden Area Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Garden Area Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Garden Area
Area: Katunayake Number of Rooms: 61

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.3

based on
80 reviews

61 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.1
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.4
Room Comfort/Standard
7.3
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (80)
Sort by:
Jones A. Couples United Kingdom, January 5, 2016
Go if you like eating in a works canteen!

The grounds, the pool, and location for airport
4.3
Totally tragic that the food is so so bad! The buffet was a bland,tepid and tasteless. For the second day we opted for the snack menu...the restaurant has all the charm of station waiting room..The front desk staff were totally inefficient ..such a wasted opportunity as the grounds and the pool were beautiful. The bungalow we had was more than adequate ... But for a transit hotel no room service after 11pm and breakfast between 7.30 & 9.30 is not acceptable a night plus taxes we felt we should not have had to resort to eating toasted sandwiches in our room on our last night in beautiful Sri Lanka
Report this review
Bob C. Couples United Kingdom, November 9, 2015
Terrible food but good for the airport

The location, the pool, only staying one night
4.3
The Tamarind Tree was our last stay on our Honeymoon in Sri Lanka and was always just meant to be a stopover close to the airport so we weren't expecting much. The room was clean, though very basic and there was no free wifi - there was a paid option but we were not that bothered. At night all the power was turned off to the room - obviously to try and save money - but this meant that our room got very hot without the fans / air con on. The food was disgusting - luke warm buffet food that had been stood out for hours and was never refreshed, it was tasteless mush and I was rather fearfull we may get food poisoning from it! The saving grace was the pool, very clean and large with plenty of sun loungers to sit on. In conclusion I felt that the Tamarind Tree was ok for one night before we flew home but because it is so close to the airport I felt they did not feel the need to try very hard.
Report this review
Peter K. Couples Australia, July 7, 2015
Exotic Retreat

The surroundings - plenty of grass and trees, Quiet location, secluded venues
8.3
Very enjoyable stay, welcoming staff at an early morning hour, very attentive staff, food quality is excellent
Report this review
Henry F. Couples United Kingdom, March 29, 2015
Tamarind review

Spacious rooms
8.3
Report this review
Sirkkaliisa L. Solo travelers United Kingdom, March 4, 2015
near the airport

comfortable, relaxing
9
its is a great place to stay before the flight back to England. (even if you fly business
Report this review
Robert D. Couples India, February 21, 2015
Our one day stay in Tamarind Hotel

Calm and secluded place. No disturbance of a city.
7.3
We enjoyed it.
Report this review
David G. Couples United Kingdom, February 4, 2015
Tired

Location
8.3
The hotel is mainly used as a short stop over before getting early flights from the national airport. However it thinks it is an Edwardian BRitish bungalow retreat the rooms are dated and cavonernous
Report this review
Tsugihiro S. Business travelers Japan, December 14, 2014
Good for transit

food, location, cleanness
8
It was very near from the airport and good for transit use to upcountry if you arrive at night.
Report this review
Mark K. Couples United Kingdom, September 8, 2014
Good for Airport

Location, Room size, Swimming pool
7.7
My wife and I booked Tamarind Tree as an airport hotel prior to an onward journey to Kandy, having arrived at about midnight in Colombo As such the place was adequate. The bungalow was large but not particularly modern. The bathroom was large but coldly sparse. It bills itself as a resort but I would not recommend it as somewhere for an extended stay.
Report this review
David M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, April 13, 2014
Good airport hotel

Location - it's only 10 minutes from the airport. The staff were efficient and very friendly with excellent English and as it was New Year's Eve in Sri Lanka I appreciated theit good nature.
7
I stayed at the Tamarind on recommendation of Sri Lankan friends. I was only staying one night on my way to the airport and on reflection it was most probably a little expensive for such a short stay. Having said that I was well looked after, the wake up call came on time at 3.30 am and the taxi was waiting for me at 4.30 am with a remarkably quick check out. The buffet evening meal was good with quite a few package tour type travellers but also several Sri Lankan families. It is a quiet hotel and would be comfortable for families and couples.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 61 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Pool FacilitiesTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard RoomTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard RoomTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Room InteriorTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room InteriorTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room InteriorTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room Tamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard RoomTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard Room InteriorTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Standard - BathroomTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Lobby AreaTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Lobby AreaTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Fine Dine RestaurantTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Main RestaurantTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Main RestaurantTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Fine Dine RestaurantTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - TerraceTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - TerraceTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Hotel BarTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Hotel BarTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Pool FacilitiesTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Pool AreaTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Hotel ReceptionTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Hotel ReceptionTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Main EntranceTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Exterior ViewTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Garden AreaTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Garden AreaTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Garden AreaTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Garden AreaTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Garden AreaTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Tennis CourtTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Tennis CourtTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - ViewTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - PathwayTamarind Tree Hotel Negombo - Swimming Pool


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08