Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Tan Hsiang Yu B&B

No.233, Zhongzheng Rd., Sun Moon Lake, Nantou, Taiwan 555 (Show on map)

Book now!

Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Entrance Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Family Room Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Family Room Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Family Room Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Standard Double Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Lobby Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Lobby Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Shops Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest Room Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Lobby Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest Room Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest Room Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest Room Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest Room Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest Room Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest Room
Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest Room
Area: Sun Moon Lake Number of Rooms: 8
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.9

based on
151 reviews

Value for Money
7.7
Location
7.7
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.2
All reviews (151)
Sort by:
Jackie S. Families with older children Canada, January 29, 2014
Friendly Family Owned B & B

location, staff, beds
8.7
My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Tan Hsiang Yu B &B because of the friendly staff. It was my parents first time to Taiwan and the owners made them feel very welcome, even though they spoke little English and we spoke no Chinese. After seeing that they didn't eat much of their Taiwanese breakfast on the first day, the couple went out of their way the following morning to prepare a more Western breakfast for us. They also invited us to tea, showed us pictures of their trip to Canada and dressed us all up in traditional Aboriginal clothing, the photos and memories of that morning will last a lifetime! I was very happy that my family and friends got to experience the friendliness and hospitality of the Taiwanese people. The beds were comfortable and a big comforter was provided to keep us warm on the chilly nights. Lugging our luggage up 3 flights of stairs was a bit of a problem, but that's pretty standard for most smaller B & B's in Taiwan. If it's your first time to Taiwan and you want to experience the local hospitality, this is a great place to stay.
Geok L. Couples Singapore, December 28, 2013
Lovely owner, nice and clean place

The Minsu's boss was very kind and friendly, he gathered the stayees for tea so all of us felt like a family, not a customer. The breakfast was very simple but delicious Taiwanese breakfast.
8
William S. Couples United States of America, December 23, 2013
Pro and Con of B&B

location, location, location
5.7
This place has all the pros and cons of a B&B. The family that owns it is very personal and friendly. The place is clean but a bit old fashioned. The single room is pretty small. One thing which was a problem with many Taiwan hotels was that there wasn't a heater. One night was particularly cold so it was tough. I believe that they should stock a plug in heater for emergencies rather than just offer more blankets. Because there is a farm behind the building, it has all the annoyances of one. In the morning, someone would burn wood and you can smell it seeping into the room. Also, hearing dogs barking at each other at 230am then to be awaken again by roosters at 430am. This is every night and as a light sleeper it was pretty rough. The location is good though. Just a stones throw away from shopping, restaurants and the ferry. The breakfast is definitely not western friendly. You will be better off going to the local Starbucks. Their milk tea is amazing in my opinion because you can tell they use real tea.
Evelyn K. Solo travelers Singapore, November 6, 2013
The nicest, kindest guesthouse owners ever!

(1) impeccable service, (2) a home away from home, (3) clean room with daily housekeeping
9.7
The location of this guesthouse is good! It's only a short walk to the Ita Shao pier (to take the river ferry) and also just 5-min away from the cable car station to go to the Nine Tribes Cultural Village. I think what made my stay truly memorable was the warmth and hospitality of the guesthouse owners.. They are genuinely concerned about all their guests and won't hesitate to go the extra mile to make the stay comfortable! As I was travelling alone, they would wait up for me to return. The owners also issue all guests with free all-day river ferry tickets (valued at 300TWD each). I highly recommend Tan Hsiang Yu guesthouse to all travelers who wish for a "homestay" experience in Taiwan!
Stephen C. Couples United Kingdom, July 21, 2013
Clean, friendly hotel

Availabilty, clean, comfortable
7
Hotels are expensive here as it is a main holiday area. This is one of the better ones in the mid price range. Friendly owner and reasonable location in this small lakeside town.
Michael D. Couples New Zealand, June 17, 2013
Friendly owners

Staff, bed, location
8.7
The room was average size but very clean. The owners didnt speak much English but they were as helpful as they could be in with everything. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.
Kai J. Couples Singapore, April 29, 2013
Very friendly old couple owner.

Friendly + chatty owner, provides good quality tea, near pier.
8.3
Friendly taiwanese couple who invited us for tea session at night. Free of charge! The lady offered to drive us to pier when she saw us walking outside. Simple fare for breakfast but i personally loved it.
Anthony D. Couples Australia, April 29, 2013
Great hotel better owner

Staff value location
8.7
Kenny T. Couples Malaysia, April 15, 2013
Good location to nearby night market

very good reception, comfortable bed, good location
9.7
Basically, you cannot expect too much from budget hotel. 1. Warm reception where the owner will call you for a tea if they are having tea. 2. Bed prepared are very comforable where you get warm and soft bed. 3. location wise is 8-10 mins walking distance to the local night market. Overall : Very Satisfied
Wanting T. Groups Malaysia, April 6, 2013
The owner is very friendly and helpful.

Their breakfast is good, lots of varienty.
6.7

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Tan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - mainTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - EntranceTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Family RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Family RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Family RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Standard DoubleTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - LobbyTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - LobbyTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - ShopsTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - LobbyTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest RoomTan Hsiang Yu B&B Nantou - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3A07