Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 156 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 156 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.2

Diego K. from Argentina
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
A very nice B&B
Location, cleanliness, quiet surroundings
Very nice for our short visit to Sun Moon Lake. Nice Value for Money.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Jackie S. from Canada
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Friendly Family Owned B & B
location, staff, beds
My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Tan Hsiang Yu B &B because of the friendly staff. It was my parents first time to Taiwan and the owners made them feel very welcome, even though they spoke little English and we spoke no Chinese. After seeing that they didn't eat much of their Taiwanese breakfast on the first day, the couple went out of their way the following morning to prepare a more Western breakfast for us. They also invited us to tea, showed us pictures of their trip to Canada and dressed us all up in traditional Aboriginal clothing, the photos and memories of that morning will last a lifetime! I was very happy that my family and friends got to experience the friendliness and hospitality of the Taiwanese people. The beds were comfortable and a big comforter was provided to keep us warm on the chilly nights. Lugging our luggage up 3 flights of stairs was a bit of a problem, but that's pretty standard for most smaller B & B's in Taiwan. If it's your first time to Taiwan and you want to experience the local hospitality, this is a great place to stay.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Geok Q. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2013
Lovely owner, nice and clean place
The Minsu's boss was very kind and friendly, he gathered the stayees for tea so all of us felt like a family, not a customer. The breakfast was very simple but delicious Taiwanese breakfast.
Reviewed January 08, 2014

William S. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Pro and Con of B&B
location, location, location
This place has all the pros and cons of a B&B. The family that owns it is very personal and friendly. The place is clean but a bit old fashioned. The single room is pretty small. One thing which was a problem with many Taiwan hotels was that there wasn't a heater. One night was particularly cold so it was tough. I believe that they should stock a plug in heater for emergencies rather than just offer more blankets. Because there is a farm behind the building, it has all the annoyances of one. In the morning, someone would burn wood and you can smell it seeping into the room. Also, hearing dogs barking at each other at 230am then to be awaken again by roosters at 430am. This is every night and as a light sleeper it was pretty rough. The location is good though. Just a stones throw away from shopping, restaurants and the ferry. The breakfast is definitely not western friendly. You will be better off going to the local Starbucks. Their milk tea is amazing in my opinion because you can tell they use real tea.
Reviewed January 03, 2014

Stephen C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Clean, friendly hotel
Availabilty, clean, comfortable
Hotels are expensive here as it is a main holiday area. This is one of the better ones in the mid price range. Friendly owner and reasonable location in this small lakeside town.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Evelyn K. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013
The nicest, kindest guesthouse owners ever!
(1) impeccable service, (2) a home away from home, (3) clean room with daily housekeeping
The location of this guesthouse is good! It's only a short walk to the Ita Shao pier (to take the river ferry) and also just 5-min away from the cable car station to go to the Nine Tribes Cultural Village. I think what made my stay truly memorable was the warmth and hospitality of the guesthouse owners.. They are genuinely concerned about all their guests and won't hesitate to go the extra mile to make the stay comfortable! As I was travelling alone, they would wait up for me to return. The owners also issue all guests with free all-day river ferry tickets (valued at 300TWD each). I highly recommend Tan Hsiang Yu guesthouse to all travelers who wish for a "homestay" experience in Taiwan!
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Lee W. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2012
Nice
Nice staff with cares
Near the sightseeing point and restaurants are not too far away. Clean room and the staff is good.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Kai S. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2013
Very friendly old couple owner.
Friendly + chatty owner, provides good quality tea, near pier.
Friendly taiwanese couple who invited us for tea session at night. Free of charge! The lady offered to drive us to pier when she saw us walking outside. Simple fare for breakfast but i personally loved it.
Reviewed August 07, 2013

Michael D. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Friendly owners
Staff, bed, location
The room was average size but very clean. The owners didnt speak much English but they were as helpful as they could be in with everything. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Anthony D. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2013
Great hotel better owner
Staff value location
Reviewed May 17, 2013