Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Terazuya Ryokan

60-3 Tenjin-machi, Shimane, Shimane, Japan 690-0064

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.6

based on
22 reviews

13 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.7
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
9.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.7
Room Comfort/Standard
8.5
Food/Dining
8.5
All reviews (22)
Sort by:
Pieter M. Solo travelers Netherlands, October 28, 2015
A good familiar place with a lovely couple

location, staff, price
9
I had a relative large room, with airconditining (heater) tea and sweets. Also a bathrobe and western towel. The owners are super; you are guest. I would stay there again.
Report this review
Pieter M. Solo travelers Netherlands, October 26, 2015
A nice place, with familiar atmosphere

a relative big room, nice host and in the centre
9
Report this review
John O. Couples United States of America, October 8, 2015
Nice Couple Running the Inn

Nice couple, close to station, big room
9
We stayed for 2 nights. It was about a 15 minute walk from the station. Right by the train track but didn't bother our sleep. They served us continental breakfast for free which was very nice. It is more like a minshuku. No other workers so you have to lug the luggage upstairs your self and also make your own bed.
Report this review
Wen C. Solo travelers Taiwan, June 12, 2015
Very hospitable.

very spacious Japanese room, unexpected toast and tea,
10
Very happy and enjoyable.
Report this review
Brian P. Solo travelers United Kingdom, May 2, 2015
Friendly

The welcome, the helpfulness, the interaction with guests.
8
Although not as luxurious as many of the places I have stayed at, the ryokan scored highly in my book precisely because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the family managing Terazuya. As a result it will remain the most memorable of the places I stayed at during my trip.
Report this review
Henki L. Groups Indonesia, December 21, 2014
Pleasant stay

Spacious, friendly host, clean
8
Very spacious and traditional room, would recommend this to those who wants to experience authentic Japanese style room. Very friendly couple too. Although it can be a bit scary if you are the only one staying in the house.
Report this review
Joanne H. Solo travelers Australia, December 11, 2014
My night at Terazuya

The traditional Japanese style was great fun.
7.3
I only spent the night, but I still enjoyed myself.
Report this review
Jane W. Couples United Kingdom, November 18, 2014
Charming ryokan with excellent host

Personal, characterful, comfortable
9
We loved this ryokan. It feels like the real thing. It's in a quiet and pleasant part of town, walkable from the station alongside the river, and within walking distance of the castle (main attraction in Matsue) and town centre. The host, who speaks some English, is very welcoming and thoughtful; our tatami room spacious and pleasant, though the bathroom was downstairs (washing facilities and toilet by room). We were worried that it was by the railway tracks but we did not hear any trains at night.
Report this review
Philip Y. Couples Australia, October 20, 2014
Enjoyable stay

Enjoyed staying in a typical Japanese style room, excellent Japanese breakfast, walking distance from station and sunset view.
9
Report this review
Choi Y. Couples Singapore, September 7, 2014
Pleasant stay

Clean , friendly, comfortable.
9
The owners are a friendly couple. Our stay was a pleasant and location wise, not too far from station.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Terazuya Ryokan ShimaneTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - InteriorTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - SurroundingsTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - SurroundingsTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - InteriorTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - RestaurantTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - InteriorTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - Guest RoomTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - Guest RoomTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - ViewTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - InteriorTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - ReceptionTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - ExteriorTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - ViewTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - Guest RoomTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - Guest RoomTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - InteriorTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - ExteriorTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - EntranceTerazuya Ryokan Shimane - Surroundings


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A01