My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thamada Hotel

5 Signal Pagoda Road, Dagon Township, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar (Show on map)

Book now!

Thamada Hotel Yangon - Main Photo Thamada Hotel Yangon - Guest Room Thamada Hotel Yangon - Guest Room Thamada Hotel Yangon - Guest Room Thamada Hotel Yangon - Guest Room Thamada Hotel Yangon - Guest Room Thamada Hotel Yangon - Guest Room Thamada Hotel Yangon - Guest Room Thamada Hotel Yangon - Room Facilities Thamada Hotel Yangon - Bathroom Thamada Hotel Yangon - Restaurant Thamada Hotel Yangon - Restaurant Thamada Hotel Yangon - Bar Thamada Hotel Yangon - Reception Thamada Hotel Yangon - Reception Thamada Hotel Yangon - Entrance
Thamada Hotel Yangon - Lobby
Area: Downtown Yangon Number of Rooms: 45
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Pleasant

6.8

based on
1245 reviews

Value for Money
6.5
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
6.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.0
Food/Dining
6.5
All reviews (1245)
Sort by:
Kengo K. Solo travelers Japan, August 11, 2013
Cozy hotel

Staff, clean room, good price
7.3
Cozy room with a polite staff. The room is a bit old bit I recommend this hotel
Chu M. Solo travelers Malaysia, August 11, 2013
Good location and attentive staff.

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Shopping and spa within walking distance. Many hawker stalls nearby if you are willing to try out the local fare.
6.3
The stay was good except that the bathroom was constantly damp perhaps due to leaking pipe or roof. However, my opinion of the hotel improved tremendously because my camera that I accidentally left behind in the hotel room has been returned to me (at my own expense of course). I am very grateful to the housekeeping and reception staff who have made this possible.
Weiwen L. Business travelers China, August 10, 2013
this is and old star hotel, good location

Good location, friendly, good restaurants
8.3
Frankly,I enjoy my stay over there.So I recommend the traveler who need a cost effective hotel.
Maria-Helena M. Couples Finland, August 10, 2013
Quiet hotel next to excellent restaurant

teak floors, large space, quiet
7.7
A nice hotel in a good location in a rapidly changing Yangon. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, and the restaurant 365 next door was great (had super fried pork dishes). There seemed to be problems with leaking ceilings in the hotel corridors, though, and there also seemed to be a mold problem, so if you are allergic to mold, you might want to select another hotel (mold does seem to be a common problem in Myanmar).
Richard C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, August 9, 2013
For Yangon reasonable value for money

Relatively cheap, wifi available in room, accommodating to my request
5.7
Arrived at midnight - staff were helpful enough to me late at night. They also helped me with my domestic flight ticket. Could not work out how to turn off the absolutely freezing air conditioning in my room, was too tired to sort it out. The room is not very good, if this was in the rest of SE asia you'd probably be paying 20USD.
Keith R. Business travelers United States of America, August 8, 2013
good budget hotel in downtown Yangon

food, location, price
7.3
good option if you want or need to stay in Downtown Yangon. 24 hour restaurant.
Sarintip K. Business travelers Thailand, August 3, 2013
thamada hotel is very old building & poor room.

only good breakfast & water
6
thamada hotel too old & poor bed,dirty curtain,very old furniture. not match with price too high for this quality. need lower price & renovation. only good things is located in good location.
John H. Business travelers Hong Kong, August 2, 2013
pretty old hotel, nice staff

pretty old hotel, nice staff, worth
5.7
Reduce the price or renovate the hotel. price is too high for that standard.
John H. Business travelers Hong Kong, July 31, 2013
pretty old hotel, nice staff

pretty old hotel, nice staff, worth for money
5.7
this hotel is very old. it does need the renovation. not worth for that price.
Ross V. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 30, 2013
Pleasantly surprised after reading previous review

Good location to major attractions, friendly attentive staff and a nice restaurant with free WIFI.
7.7
I was pleasantly surprised after reading reviews and I went in expecting the worst. The hotel looks like it may have had its day back in the 80s as it does look a little rundown inside and out, however that being said, the staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful, and the location was superb for visiting the local attractions. The room was large with big windows for light however the view was of rooftops but if the hotel is just your base for visiting, then this shouldn't matter after all it's not a beach resort. The quality of the room was simple with ageing fittings and furniture that have certainly had their day but the AC worked well and the minibar was stocked. I only mention that the place has seen better days due to the price asked for one night here is not low when compared to Southeast Asia, but that being said this country is not as well catered for tourism as that of Southeast Asia. The price is however competitive when compared to similar hotels in the area. I would stay here again but would advise people staying here to expect less and be pleasantly surprised at what you actually get. The staff are Great!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Thamada Hotel Yangon - ExteriorThamada Hotel Yangon - Main PhotoThamada Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomThamada Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomThamada Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomThamada Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomThamada Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomThamada Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomThamada Hotel Yangon - Guest RoomThamada Hotel Yangon - Room FacilitiesThamada Hotel Yangon - BathroomThamada Hotel Yangon - RestaurantThamada Hotel Yangon - RestaurantThamada Hotel Yangon - BarThamada Hotel Yangon - ReceptionThamada Hotel Yangon - ReceptionThamada Hotel Yangon - EntranceThamada Hotel Yangon - Lobby

Customer Reviews - Thamada Hotel, Yangon

AS-AGWEB-3B07