or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thambapanni Retreat

Galle, Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka 80600 (Show on map)

Book now!

Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Interior Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Surroundings Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming Pool Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming Pool Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming Pool Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming Pool Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Surroundings Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Exterior Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Exterior Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Surroundings Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming Pool Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming Pool Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Surroundings Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Surroundings Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Surroundings Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Exterior
Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Exterior Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Guest Room Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Guest Room Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Guest Room Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Tower Suite Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Tower Suite Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Deluxe room Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Deluxe room Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Deluxe Room Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Interior Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Interior Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Hot Tub
Area: Unawatuna Beach Number of Rooms: 18
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.3

based on
229 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
8.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.6
Food/Dining
8.0
All reviews (229)
Sort by:
Robert I. Couples United Kingdom, October 10, 2014
Paradise at an affordable price

The location of the hotel is fantastic. On the edge of the jungle and 10 minutes walk from the beach. The decoration, design of the hotel as unique. An excellent standard of care from all staff.
10
We decided at the last minute to have a short break. We had heard such positive comments about Sri Lanka so we decide to go for 5 days. I looked for the top rayed hotels and found the Thambapanni Retreat. They had a special deal. It was fantastic value for money. The room was of a very high standard at a high specification. We could watch the monkeys in the trees from the balcony of our room. The breakfast was great, we tried both traditional and Sri Lankan. The evening meals in the hotel were also of a hgh standard. The hotel had an excellent chef. The staff from the manager down, were great. The manager organised a day trip for us into the Shinaraja Ran forest, and we had a short detour to a Tea plantation. The fabulous beach was a short walk from our hotel. The restaurants on the beach were also good. Although our week was out of season (early season) the weather was very good. Some thundery rain, but it's on the edge of a rainforest, so it's expected. It's was a fantastic break and we will definitely return for a longer break in June. A wonderful hotel in a beautiful country.
Shwetha S. Couples India, August 29, 2014
Pleasant stay at Thambapanni Retreat

courteous staff, comfortable beds, swimming pool
7
We stayed for a couple of nights at the Thambapanni Retreat and we liked the hospitality and the way we were treated. The rooms are a little dark, can do with more open windows. But the pool was excellent and we didn't face any major problems during our stay.recommend the seafood platter for dinner, priced reasonably compared to other restaurants around n quite tasty.
Silke D. Families with older children Germany, August 23, 2014
A lovely place to stay

Friendly staff, excellent ayurveda treatments, clean rooms
8
We stayed for 4 nights and overall had a positive experience. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Rooms were clean although we were not so keen on the see through window to the bathroom with direct vision to the toilet. Also , not a problem for us but to bear in mind, for the slightly less agile traveller: when booking the tower suite, you have to be aware that this means 100+ steps to reach your rooms.( and no view to the ocean) Setting is beautiful with well cared for pool, close to the beach. Breakfast staff very nice but unintentionally sometimes rushed in clearing the table . Aurveda massage and yoga was great and good value for money. Overall a place to recommend and would definitely return.
Michael M. Couples United Kingdom, August 14, 2014
Spoilt

Warm welcome, friendliness of staff and lovely setting
9.3
Great place to stay, great dinning experience loved the food overall and the manager was always really helpful! Thank you!
Kimberley S. Couples United Kingdom, August 14, 2014
A pleasant and relaxing stay

The pool area was lovely, a very tranquil setting, but there were not enough beds (only about 6 around the entire pool). Rooms were spacious. Hotel was quiet and relaxing.
7.7
We booked a Tower Suite room which was a large spacious room and had a huge private balcony. Breakfasts were very tasty (eggs, fruit, toast, tea/coffee) but would have been better if it was served as a buffet and if there had been a little more variety. Evening meals in the restaurant were excellent, but a little overpriced. The location of this hotel was very good as it was just far enough away from the noise of Unawatuna, but close enough to stroll to (about a 2-3 minute walk to the main part of the village and beach). The pool was small but lovely, surrounded by lots of trees to make the whole area shady. There could have been a few extra beds however. The hotel was quiet when we visited, but if it had been at full occupancy, there would no have been enough space around the pool. The only major downfall was that there was no hot running water. Not a huge problem but a little annoying when you pay a lot of money to stay in a nice hotel.
Lisa P. Families with older children United Kingdom, August 9, 2014
Thambapanni Resort

Location, service and ambience
10
Our stay was very enjoyable. Good value for families with older kids who need multiple rooms. Lovely garden and excellent location. The service was excellent and the hotel can pick up and drop off at the airport. They also arranged a safari for us at Yala.
Claire H. Couples France, July 31, 2014
Nice Stay - Great Staff

Peacefull, Staff and location
8.7
Even if some works were doing, the hotel is really nice and the staff is really great. Perfect stay!
Richard T. Couples United States of America, April 11, 2014
Lovely quiet 'retreat' hotel

Veranda overlooking the small pool with lush vegetation all around, great staff in a peacefull courtyard setting
7.7
Very nice, comfortable bed. The staff set out a lovely happy wedding anniversary message in lotus flowers on the bed - a great touch. Room needed a couple of armchairs, and to replace the beautiful but impractical terrace furniture
Robert C. Families with young children Ireland, April 3, 2014
Close to beach

Close to hotel, affordable and nice pool.
8.3
A nice, affordable hotel, close to the beach. Nice pool and friendly staff. Check local prices for transport etc befor booking at the hotel.
Lesley W. Couples United Kingdom, March 28, 2014
Exotic tropical retreat close to beach

Location, atmosphere, food
9.3
We loved this peaceful retreat with real tropical atmosphere. We were greeted with drinks and flannels and made very welcome. Our bungalow was up a flight of steps from the reception area and pool and had a verandah overlooking rocks and creepers. We heard monkeys running across the roof and saw them in the trees later! The large double bed had a lacy mosquito net and was very comfortable. The bathroom was basic, but the shower was adequate. Air-con and fan were very welcome! We had a lovely seafood meal one night and the breakfast was delicious. Whale watching at Mirissa was arranged for us with early morning transport from the hotel and breakfast boxes supplied. They also arranged a car and driver to take us to Yala, stopping at places on the way.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Thambapanni Retreat UnawatunaThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - InteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Guest RoomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Guest RoomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Guest RoomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Tower SuiteThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Tower SuiteThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Deluxe roomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Deluxe roomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Deluxe RoomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - InteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - InteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Hot TubThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Guest RoomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - BathroomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - BathroomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - BathroomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Balcony/TerraceThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Balcony/TerraceThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Balcony/TerraceThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - RelaxingThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - BathroomThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Attractions nearbyThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - GardenThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - RestaurantThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - GardenThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ReceptionThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ReceptionThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - RestaurantThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - RestaurantThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - DiningThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - GardenThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - RestaurantThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Balcony/TerraceThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - SurroundingsThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - InteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Swimming PoolThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - ExteriorThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Balcony/TerraceThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - YogaThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - YogaThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Ayurveda MassageThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Ayurveda MassageThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Ayurveda MassageThambapanni Retreat Unawatuna - Surroundings


AS-AGWEB-3B04