Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thaphae Garden Guesthouse

60 Soi 3 Thaphae Road, Changklan, Muang, Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Thaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Fan Room Thaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Fan Room Thaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest Room Thaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest Room Thaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest Room
Area: Night Bazaar Number of Rooms: 30

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




from 277 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
All reviews (277)
Sort by:
Kellyn K. Groups Canada, February 13, 2014

Staff, comfy bed, nice shower
We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful with booking our excursions and hiring a good tuk tuk driver to take us to the tiger kingdom. The wifi worked well. The aircon was nice and chilly. Beds were very comfy for Asian standards. The pool was nice and clean although cold as its covered and not heated. They only clean the rooms every 3 days, but for a small fee you can have your room cleaned daily on request. It's located on a small street off the main road and our airport taxi had a hard time finding it, so take the hotel phone number with you just in case. Showers had plenty of hot water. My only gripe is that the bathroom window wash sealed and allowed alot of Mosquitos in so we always had to keep the bathroom door closed and had lots of mozzies in the bathroom. But there was lots of Mosquitos in the entire hotel. They tried to deter them with the coils though. I really enjoyed our stay here. I would definitely stay again !
Report this review
Alexia W. Solo travelers Australia, January 25, 2014
Very friendly staff!

The staff were very accommodating to any extra needs. They were extremely flexible when another friend wanted to stay in the same hotel and also when we extended our stay.
My stay at Thaphae Garden Guesthouse was extremely enjoyable. For $27 per night we had a good air-conditioned room, cleaned regularly and close to all amenities. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to help with the extras that came up.
Report this review
Melinda D. Groups United States of America, January 24, 2014
Clean, basic inexpensive hotel, great location

Location, Wifi, and quietness
Our dates of stay were actually from January 23 through February 1st. We are five solo women travelers requesting three rooms. Two for two people, and one for one person. We are not related and not "couples." We were surprised to learn that the hotel was only going to provide us with ONE room with two beds, and TWO rooms with a double bed. The hotel insisted (we thought this was odd) that they put the single traveler in the room with two beds! We said no way were we giving the solo traveler a room with two beds while the other four of us were supposedly required to share two double beds. So I had one pair of woman go to the room with two beds, and I put the other two women each in one room with one bed, and I prepared to move to another hotel. I will not share a bed with anyone but my spouse. A lovely British couple overheard us and offered to switch rooms with us. They happened to have a Twin room. So we gave them one of our doubles and took their twin (the hotel fussed a bit about this though), and it worked out. The hotel only cleans and gives new sheets/towels every third day, but as it turns out the room I was staying in was only cleaned and re-sheeted once during our entire stay. We set our garbage in the hallway when the wastebaskets were filled. The hotel is quite skimpy about toilet paper, we were rationed one roll a day but when we asked for it we were made to feel we were being greedy. My only other complaint is that unlike many Thai showers, this was not an "on demand" hot water system so we frequently didn't have hot water, depending on how busy it was. The water pressure was fine. Overall the hotel was good value for the price (under $24 a night), we don't expect 4 star for that reasonable rate.
Report this review
Wei N. Solo travelers Singapore, January 9, 2014
Comfortable stay at hotel with good service

Helpful hotel owners, clean room, comfortable room
Comfortable stay at a centrally located guesthouse. Rate was affordable and staff speaks English and were extremely helpful!
Report this review
Francesca S. Couples Australia, December 27, 2013
Decent, nothing special.

Good location, hot shower, quiet surroundings
Conveniently located between the night bazaar and the old city, only a 5 minute walk to either one. The guesthouse is located in an alley so its nice and quiet. The alley has a camera installed and is well lit so nothing to worry about when walking home at night. During my stay in chiang mai it was cold in the mornings and night so thankfully the showers were hot, unlike other places i've been to. Fast internet as well. Overall a decent place. Rooms and bathroom are okay, would stay again due to its location.
Report this review
Sharon M. Couples Ireland, December 21, 2013
value for money

price staff room
great guest house and fantastic value for money. the staff are also very helpfull
Report this review
Badar Y. Solo travelers United States of America, December 19, 2013
Chiang Mai is great

it was a nice place but the owner was a bit cold when i booked a day trekking adventure from an independent tour operator (even though it was 500 baht cheaper!); hate that you have to pay for safes per day
Report this review
Khor Y. Couples China, December 13, 2013
a/c room got less bugs

staff; good shower; fast Wifi
Report this review
Austin H. Solo travelers Australia, December 12, 2013
Great location to explore Chiangmai from, by foot

Verdict: I will stay here again. But I hope the hotel manager does something about eliminating the mosquitoes. Room Type: Standard Fan Breakfast: Not Included Verdict: I will stay here again. But I hope the hotel manager does something about eliminating the mosquitoes. Pros: - Great location to explore markets, temples, food etc. from, by foot. - Quiet. Hotel is located away from major roads. In fact, a small narrow lane leads to the hotel. - at the reception, was very helpful in pointing out local attractions and food. Cons: - Mosquitoes! There are plenty of them outside the room. When you open your room door, some inevitably get inside. - No free bottled water in the room. (When I asked at the reception, the lady owner gave me one.) - No free toiletries, e.g. comb etc. Feedback to hotel management: You can eliminate or reduce mosquitoes by: 1. Having Citronella plants around hotel premise and outside the hotel rooms. 2. Using insect-repelling light globes
Report this review
So H. Families with older children Singapore, December 8, 2013

Location, price, internet
Good, friendly receptionist and security guard, convenient location,
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Thaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang MaiThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Fan RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Fan RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest Room