Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thaphae Garden Guesthouse

60 Soi 3 Thaphae Road, Changklan, Muang, Tha Phae, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.2

based on 314 reviews

151 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.0
All reviews (314)
Sort by:
Gregory M. Solo travelers Australia, November 12, 2013
not bad hotel ok location

location
6
a cheap hotel but you have topay extra for anything! The two young staff on desk were great but the older female was very hard to deal with. There is far better hotels for the money.
Report this review
Sami M. Couples Finland, November 12, 2013
Nice & Relax

Location, price
7.7
Report this review
Wendy C. Solo travelers Australia, November 2, 2013
highly recommended

location comfortable friendly
10
I have stayed many times at this guesthouse although this is the first time I have booked through Agoda. I would not consider staying anywhere else - it is perfect in every way. The owner and her staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly which was very much appreciated especially this last visit as i was traveling alone. The room is very comfortable and clean. the location is fantastic, approx 1/2 way between the night market and the sunday walking market. Even though it is in the heart of chiang mai, it is located in a quiet lane, so sleep quality is great. the pool is sparkling clean and gets no sun so is always refreshing. I always recommend this guesthouse to everyone!
Report this review
Michael H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 1, 2013
Great value guesthouse

Relaxed atmosphere, clean & comfy room, close to night bazaar and old town
8
Really enjoyed it, would happily recommend it to others
Report this review
Gessa S. Couples Indonesia, September 29, 2013
Good budget Hotel

Clean, cheap, pool
7
we arrived late and the receptionist would normally be closed but they stayed up for us. You need to pay a 500baht deposit for the room key - which you get back at the end of your stay but still i thought the amount was still a lot - ten GBP is 500baht and ten pounds in thailand goes a long way. so be prepared for that deposit fee. the air conditioning room we paid for had good air-con and a lovely firm bed. furniture was basic but enough for what you need. the bathroom was ok again basic but the showers was lovely and hot. you hardly get any toiletries here but we had brought our own so not an issue. room only cleaned every two days and you had to tell receptionist on your way out. hotel location, its slightly off the main road, do sometimes difficult to find by tour-guides but we walked down the alley from main road to hotel and it was fine. hotel really close to night market for shopping and evening activities. and note there is a really cheap clean food court in the night market where you load money on card and buy food from card and then after any money left on the card will be returned to you. hotel is also about 15 mins walk to the central city of chiang mai. the staff are friendly but the tours they offer you are not the cheapest - we found cheaper tours offered by travel agencies in the night markets. i would recommend the activity of zip lining through the rain forest as it was really good. can be expensive haggle the price down. would stay at this budget hotel again as things were basic but clean and had essentials like air-con comfy bed and hot shower and good location.
Report this review
Scott R. Solo travelers Australia, September 22, 2013
Lovely, Comfortable, Easy, Peaceful and Convenient

Staff Service, Location, Comfortable
9
Excellen, Lovely, Comfortable, Easy, Peaceful and Convenient.
Report this review
Kate S. Couples United Kingdom, September 8, 2013
basic but decent stay

price, location, comfort
8
Good stay for a cheap price, good location though a little difficult to find.
Report this review
Sherlock O. Solo travelers Philippines, August 30, 2013
The front desk girl was very pleasant and helpful.

Affordable. Clean. Accessible.
7.7
The overall stay was okay. Too bad we miscalculated the dates and couldn't stay as planned.
Report this review
Erin M. Couples United States of America, August 30, 2013
Decent, average place

Good location, English speaking staff, pool
6.7
This place is pretty close (walkable) both the old city and the bars/restaurants East of the river, which we liked. The room was pretty average...average clean (just one dead roach under the bed), average comfortable (soft but worn mattress), size on the small side. The bathroom didn't have a bathtub...just a showerhead and a drain next to the toilet. We stayed for two nights in the low season and then moved to the Thapae Place Hotel next door for the exactly the same price. It had bigger rooms, with a nicer lobby, but the TV wasn't as good, no pool, and the room had ants, so the food we had in our minifridge was ruined. Basically a perfect example of Same Same but Different.
Report this review
Melvin L. Solo travelers Singapore, August 16, 2013
very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere

cleanliness, quiet and understanding hotel staffs
7.7
Initially met with a deposit requirement, as it was my few days for my holiday, my cash was limited. Having to put a deposit meant I would not be able to spend my money as I wished. The owner was contacted and she was flexible upon hearing my plead. Overall a very pleasant experience.
Report this review
Previous page 51 - 60 of 151 reviews Next page
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang MaiThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Air-con RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Air-con RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Air-con RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Fan RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Fan RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - InteriorThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Facilities


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C07