Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thaphae Garden Guesthouse

60 Soi 3 Thaphae Road, Changklan, Muang, Tha Phae, Chiang Mai, Thailand 50100

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

6.9

based on
45 reviews

147 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.4
Location
7.8
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.0
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
5.6
Groups (45)
Sort by:
Tracie F. Groups United States of America, December 18, 2015
Just ok

The location is near tha phae, the desk is helpful booking tours, they have luggage storage
4.7
The rooms aren't very clean, the bed spreads Really need to be washed. The bathroom doesn't have sprayers but they want tissue in the trash bin (yuck!). A cup of hot water is the same charge as a cappuccino. We booked a room with 3 singles and were given a single and a queen but charges the higher rate. I've visited Chiang Mai many times and this is my least favorite place to date. I won't return.
Report this review
Omer M. Groups Turkey, December 14, 2015
Thaphae Garden Review

Location,Neighbourhood,The restourant in the near street
3.3
Not good. Staff was rude, and deposits were overpriced. Hotel was below average.
Report this review
Natjathip P. Groups Thailand, November 8, 2015
smallest ways to come inside hotel

clean
6.3
Report this review
Hendi S. Groups Indonesia, February 20, 2015
Really, i will stay at this hotel again

Location, Value for Money, Room comfort
8
The third time we stay at Thaphae Garden Guest House and we were satisfied :)
Report this review
Rima G. Groups Lithuania, November 24, 2014
ok hotel

Quiet location, nice staff
6.7
It is a bit further from big streets, therefore it was quiet. The room was very small, it was impossible to close the door to shower and toilet. The staff was nice.
Report this review
Caroline L. Groups Malaysia, October 23, 2014
Comfort

Staff friendly, clean room, strategic location
7.7
Comfortable stay
Report this review
Yangkai Z. Groups China, July 12, 2014
smelly pool

value and nothing else
6
We were looking for a twin room with a pool and there we found it. Like the only one at this price. But the pool really smells and after swimming, I could even smell that disgusting disinfectant fluid on myself.
Report this review
Kellyn K. Groups Canada, February 13, 2014
Pleasant

Staff, comfy bed, nice shower
9
We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were very helpful with booking our excursions and hiring a good tuk tuk driver to take us to the tiger kingdom. The wifi worked well. The aircon was nice and chilly. Beds were very comfy for Asian standards. The pool was nice and clean although cold as its covered and not heated. They only clean the rooms every 3 days, but for a small fee you can have your room cleaned daily on request. It's located on a small street off the main road and our airport taxi had a hard time finding it, so take the hotel phone number with you just in case. Showers had plenty of hot water. My only gripe is that the bathroom window wash sealed and allowed alot of Mosquitos in so we always had to keep the bathroom door closed and had lots of mozzies in the bathroom. But there was lots of Mosquitos in the entire hotel. They tried to deter them with the coils though. I really enjoyed our stay here. I would definitely stay again !
Report this review
Melinda D. Groups United States of America, January 24, 2014
Clean, basic inexpensive hotel, great location

Location, Wifi, and quietness
7.3
Our dates of stay were actually from January 23 through February 1st. We are five solo women travelers requesting three rooms. Two for two people, and one for one person. We are not related and not "couples." We were surprised to learn that the hotel was only going to provide us with ONE room with two beds, and TWO rooms with a double bed. The hotel insisted (we thought this was odd) that they put the single traveler in the room with two beds! We said no way were we giving the solo traveler a room with two beds while the other four of us were supposedly required to share two double beds. So I had one pair of woman go to the room with two beds, and I put the other two women each in one room with one bed, and I prepared to move to another hotel. I will not share a bed with anyone but my spouse. A lovely British couple overheard us and offered to switch rooms with us. They happened to have a Twin room. So we gave them one of our doubles and took their twin (the hotel fussed a bit about this though), and it worked out. The hotel only cleans and gives new sheets/towels every third day, but as it turns out the room I was staying in was only cleaned and re-sheeted once during our entire stay. We set our garbage in the hallway when the wastebaskets were filled. The hotel is quite skimpy about toilet paper, we were rationed one roll a day but when we asked for it we were made to feel we were being greedy. My only other complaint is that unlike many Thai showers, this was not an "on demand" hot water system so we frequently didn't have hot water, depending on how busy it was. The water pressure was fine. Overall the hotel was good value for the price (under $24 a night), we don't expect 4 star for that reasonable rate.
Report this review
Jenna P. Groups Finland, November 12, 2013
No internet, no cleaning, mold on the walls. Cheap

location
2.3
The room was really horible. We asked for a non smoking room but got a smoker room so the smell in the room was really bad. The bathroom was full of mold on the walls and even in the shower curtain. We also had dirty towels as "fresh ones". The internet didn't work even once. The service in the reception was really arrogant. After one week we asked for the cleaning for the room and the woman in the reception told us that it's not possible because so many rooms have to be cleaned. she told us to change the plastic bags for the rubbish cans by our selves. I said no and she just said that "you are anyway leavig tomorrow". Even the cheap price and quite close location does not make this hotel worth it.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 305 reviews Next page
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang MaiThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Air-con RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Guest RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Swimming PoolThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Air-con RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Air-con RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Fan RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Standard Fan RoomThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - InteriorThaphae Garden Guesthouse Chiang Mai - Facilities


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B07