Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Thaproban Beach House

Galle, Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka 80600

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.1

based on
364 reviews

228 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.6
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
8.1
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.0
Room Comfort/Standard
8.0
Food/Dining
7.8
All reviews (364)
Sort by:
Robert E. Couples United Kingdom, December 22, 2014
Room With a View

View of Indan Ocean. Located on clean beach. Shops, cafe and massage nearby.
6.7
Pleasurable.
Report this review
Anita A. Couples Malaysia, December 17, 2014
Great location and lovely room

The lovely room and the location by the beach
8.3
The hotel was generally nice. Really loved the room and the location by the beach. The beach area just for the hotel is limited but just next to the hotel are sufficient sunbeds which you can use so long as you order food and drinks from the restaurant. The service was generally good except for one lady who persistently asked me whether I needed transport to my next location. Felt like she was trying to get rid of me! But generally good and friendly service from everyone else.
Report this review
Fatima P. Groups Pakistan, December 15, 2014
Beautiful Place

Location, Staff and Food
9.7
Excellent
Report this review
Sarah L. Families with young children Australia, October 30, 2014
Romantic and Family Friendly

Honeymoon suite has 2 rooms and a beautiful view of the beach & sunset. Staff were v friendly & attentive to our needs.
8.7
One of the best family trips we've been on. A clean and friendly hotel, the staff at Thaproban were kind and very attentive. The kids we're spoilt rotten as were we! Our room had an amazing view and it was lovely falling asleep to the sounds of the waves. We just needed to watch our children the stairs up to the second bedroom and on the furniture on the balcony.
Report this review
Sally M. Families with older children United Kingdom, October 30, 2014
friendly accomodating staff. friendly and fun

the position right on the ocean. the warm welcome from everyone and the cleanliness.
9
A real treat we had a sea view penthouse room with a lovely balcony. The bar area and breakfast area were traditional and well served. The range of meals was adequate and everything was served fresh and hot. Generous portions too. Recommend ordering the Asian breakfast the night before. A fab place we will be back
Report this review
Jayantha F. Families with young children Sri Lanka, September 13, 2014
Super service and rooms

Rooms Location Service
9.7
very good service staff, very kind and helpfull. highly recomended if you are into sun bathing and sea bathing
Report this review
Joanne E. Couples United Kingdom, August 31, 2014
Lovely hotel with unprofessional staff

The hotel is in an idyllic location, the delicious breakfast menu is varied, the hotel is clean.
7
Despite the wonderful location, decent food and cleanliness of this hotel, we were truly disappointed by the lack of Wifi in the rooms, and with the information given to us by the staff. We were advised by the female receptionist to take a tuk tuk to Koggala before sunset to see the stilt fishermen. We arrived to a tourist set-up: the fishermen lifted us onto the stilts to try fishing ourselves, and then produced a line with a catch that they had just made (actually an already dead fish). They then demanded 5000Rs (around £20) from us. We were truly disappointed that the staff that we had trusted had recommended such a site. The same woman also told us that she had given us an upgrade, but there was no evidence to suggest that this was true.
Report this review
Nishan R. Couples Sri Lanka, August 8, 2014
Nice place

Staff, meals, room
8
Overall nice place
Report this review
Suner E. Couples Turkey, August 2, 2014
Nice Location, Very Friendly staff

1- Location is on the beach, 2- Staff are very polite and friendly , 3- Value for Money
9.3
I stayed at the Hotel on July 2014 with my wife. 1 - Location is amazing, it is on the beach. So you do not have to walk to reach the sea.They provide sunbed on the beach, but no towels which was not a big deal for me. 2 - Restaurant at the Hotel was great, but not the best at Unawatuna.If you ask me for score it is 8 out of 10. 3 - Staff were friendly and very polite.My experience with them was amazing.I will give them 10. 4 - Do not expect much from the rooms.This is not a 5 star hotel,do not forget that.Rooms were very clean and sheets were changed every day.There were towels in the room which are also changed everyday.There were an AC at the room.Big bathroom and Queen Bed with a nice balcony.I will give 8 to Superior Room.It was more than enough for me during my stay. 5 - Morning breakfast was same all the days.You have to choose from a menu which has an options so if you combine the options in a different way you will not have to eat same thing every morning.Food was good.7 for the breakfast. Overall this hotel was not the best Hotel where I ever stayed but I will give 9 to my experience because of great location and amazing friendly staff.As I told you before this is not a 5 star hotel and do not expect to spend a luxury time there.If you are aware from that and plan to go to Unawatuna for its beauty then definitely this Hotel is one of the best place to stay. Thank you Thaproban Beach House for amazing time
Report this review
Tina K. Groups Slovenia, July 31, 2014
nice hotel

stuff, location, beach
9
everybody is very nice, food is good. It's close to Galle which is worth to visit.
Report this review
Previous page 31 - 40 of 228 reviews Next page
Thaproban Beach House UnawatunaThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Suite roomThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - View from suiteThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Bed DecorationsThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Balcony/TerraceThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - ViewThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - BeachThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Food and BeveragesThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - BeachThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - BeachThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Superior roomThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - InteriorThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - BathroomThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Tea / CoffeeThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - RestaurantThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - ViewThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - ViewThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Beach BarThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - RestaurantThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - BeachThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Indoor DinningThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - ReceptionThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - BeachThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - ExteriorThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - BarThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Pub/LoungeThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Beach DinningThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Fresh Sea FoodThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Food and BeveragesThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Beach RestaurantThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - ExteriorThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Beach DinningThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Food and BeveragesThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - EntranceThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - ExteriorThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Balcony/TerraceThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - SurroundingsThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Sports and ActivitiesThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Sports and ActivitiesThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - SurroundingsThaproban Beach House Unawatuna - Sports and Activities


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A03