Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.1
Based on 386 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 386 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.8

Andrew M. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
A great beach hotel with helpful staff
friendly staff comfortable room good dining
I have eaten here in the past but never stayed.We were greeted warmly and always asked if everything was ok.The food in the restaurant was very well presented and excellent value. The room was clean and spacious with a tv bathroom and balcony.The beachside area was clean and you could get onto the sand in seconds from your room. I would definitely stay again.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Trihan P. from Sri Lanka
Families with young children
Stayed one night in July 2015
Great place
Great place, great food, great service
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Max J. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2015
Sri Lanka. Adventure
Superb location, great food and comfortable rooms although the cost was pensive for a 3 stars hotel.
It was a great stay, no issues, wifi was slow when everyone is signed in , food was good although portions are not huge. Fabulous location b the beach, great music and good service but no pool.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

Yasser A. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Best hotel in Sri Lanka
Staff food location
Reviewed April 07, 2015

Melaynie B. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in February 2015
An OK Hotel
Location. Food. Hotel driver.
The food was excellent if a little overpriced. The hotel is a little shabby and in need of refurbishment, which should have been reflected in the price. The bed was beautifully made and decorated every day with fresh flowers, but the room itself was a little grubby and the shower just a trickle, which we did report. The Hotel organise trips, but at a cost, it is better to organise them yourself. The hotel was not happy with us paying the bill by card which meant we were at the mercy of the Hotel´s exchange rate. Having said all this, overall we enjoyed our stay in Unawatuna very much but would not return to this Hotel.
Reviewed April 02, 2015

Kristoffer K. from Norway
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Excellent
Location, service, value for money
We had an excellent 3-nights stay. Location superb, so is the level of service. Clean rooms. Slow wifi, but spend your time on the beach instead.
Reviewed March 16, 2015

Kanchana J. from Sri Lanka
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2015
Beautiful location & excellent service
Great food, helpful staff, lovely place
Reviewed February 25, 2015

DMITRY M. from Russia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Awful and dirty
It was awful! The hotel is very old and dirty. It needs repair. Do not live there!!!
Reviewed February 20, 2015

Jennifer H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2015
Penthouse ? I think not!!!!!!!!
On the beach, staff were nice, on the beach.
The description of Penthouse with 2 bedrooms was a joke. The one room downstairs had a king bed but the 2nd bedroom was accessed via a narrow twisty staircase and had literally a double bed. Only 1 bathroom to share for both rooms. At $200/night this was the least value we got on our 3 week Sri Lankan trip. Noisy ALL night long. We did have a great view from the balcony and the staff were nice. Had to ask for a kettle and extra mugs and towels. Rented as a double unit for 4 people but not equipped for it.
Reviewed January 26, 2015

Marie-Louise F. from Sweden
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Great location with fantastic staff
location,staff and food
The location is fantastic. We as a family of four got the best room with is one of two on the top floor room facing the sea - stunning view. The managment team of the place was the best i seen in Sri Lanka. A lady, Manjula looks after the guests and also the staff in fantastic way. The restuarant is run by a man and the great thing about the hotel is that everyone working there seem to really enjoy it, had a good time together which to me comes down to good managment. The food served at the restaurant - go for the grilled fish dishes - was the best food in Unuwatuna.
Reviewed January 10, 2015