Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel

Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, P.O. Box A298, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93000

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.3

based on 28 reviews

20 reviews in English

Value for Money
6.9
Location
8.2
Staff Performance
7.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
6.8
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (28)
Sort by:
Rachel E. Families with older children Canada, May 2, 2016
Smokey rooms and peeling wallpaper
3.7
If you want a nice big space with great views in the center of town, the 2 bedroom apartments are great. If you are bothered by stained and burned carpets, peeling wall paper, a strong smell of cigarette smoke or a little cockroach running through the kitchen, maybe this hotel isn't the one for you. The bedding seemed clean, and the beds comfortable, but the overall feel is very run-down.
Report this review
Angela M. Families with older children Malaysia, March 17, 2016
Classic and strategic location

ambiance, location, view
8.3
It was a pleasant stay for me, my parents and my 2 sisters. The place located at center of the city and just next to Sarawak Museum and a shopping mall. Easy to find food where the hawker/restaurant you can find them easily. The ambiance of hotel was peaceful, I love when backed to the hotel about 7pm, you can hear the live piano played by someone who is very talented. Overall, I enjoy my stay there. The only improvement needed is the swimming pool. The cleanliness can be improved because I found the water in the pool was not really clean(found black dirt in the water).
Report this review
Mohammad M. Groups Malaysia, March 6, 2016
Great Hotel to stay

Very clean with good facilities.
9.7
great and plesant stay with good facilities
Report this review
Annie C. Groups Malaysia, December 25, 2015
Spacious rooms
4
Travel with 2 families. Rooms are spacious but it is a bit too old as the wall papers are falling down and Wet ceiling marks.
Report this review
Chin K. Families with young children Malaysia, December 25, 2015
Unsatisfactory
3.3
Sincerely , the hotel room is very bad condition as the ceiling paint is peeling off, leaking, carpet very smelly and dirty, the window is frosted with dust, the pillow is smelly, the toilet with fungus, the bed sheet is thorn, the bed is uneven made me back pain, the kitchen is smelly dirty and the water boiler is yellowish inside how to cook a drinking water, the air con is warm although it show 0 0 degree, the buffet breakfast that I paid totally not worth for money as it is every morning the same menu. The pool is dirty and no cleaning maintenance . I am very stress because this is my business trip. I understand this hotel is quite old but should maintain it in a good way and not putting in the list is five star hotel.
Report this review
Siti N. Couples Brunei Darussalam, December 19, 2015
Good

Shopping, location and value for money.
8
So far so good. Will stay here again in the future.
Report this review
Suhailia J. Families with older children Malaysia, November 29, 2015
value for money

comfort and value for money
9.7
good
Report this review
Nurull A. Families with older children Malaysia, November 29, 2015
good stay but Management should refurbish the rm

Location & room spacious
7
The hotel was packed and the staff were busy until they couldn't handle our calls, few time the staff told us they were busy and couldn't attend us. Upon checked in the towels were not ready, we only had our towels at 11pm after few calls. The wifi was bad we can even log-in into the WIFI. The appartment is spacious but too bad it was not maintained properly i.e sofa, TV the bulky version, kitchen very smelly. The Hotel management should consider refurbish the room since the location is 5 star.
Report this review
Ikum U. Families with older children Malaysia, June 23, 2015
A 3 star std.

Location, parking
5.3
Not well maintain and reall a run down hotelm
Report this review
Lionel G. Business travelers Malaysia, June 9, 2015
Clean

Clean, large space, but low maintenance
6
Report this review
1 - 10 of 20 reviews
The Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel KuchingThe Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching - LobbyThe Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching - ApartmentThe Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching - Aurora CourtThe Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching - La HabanaThe Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching - Seattle Coffee & TeaThe Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching - RestaurantThe Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching - Meeting RoomThe Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching - Meeting RoomThe Apartments at Merdeka Palace Hotel Kuching - Ballroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A06