Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Athens Gate Hotel

10, Sygrou Avenue, Acropolis - Koukaki, Athens, Greece 11742

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.7

based on
123 reviews

96 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.5
Location
9.6
Staff Performance
8.6
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.8
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
8.3
All reviews (123)
Sort by:
Christopher D. Couples United Kingdom, November 27, 2015
Excellent location

Location, View, Rooms
8.3
We stayed for two nights and thought the experience was very good. Rooms are a good size with good facilities. The location is great as you are within easy walking distance of the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Also on the door step of Plaka with its many shops and restaurants. The breakfasts were good and the view of the Acropolis from the Rooftop restaurant on the 8th Floor is fabulous. We had a room that looked out over Zappion and the park which was lovely. Rooms are well insulated and we were not disturbed by traffic noise. We had a meal in the hotel on our first night as it was late and raining and we didn't want to go out to eat. However, we were not very impressed with dinner in the hotel and did not use it on our second night. Unless their standards improve for dinner I would recommend going out to one of the many restaurants within a short walking distance.
Report this review
L M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 25, 2015
Excellent

Lovation, standard, staff
10
And unbelievably located hotel. Slap bang in the middle of all the historic sites. You couldn't actually get closer. I was there for just 24h. Staff were wonderful, room was perfect, lovely breakfast with amazing views of Acropolis from 8th floor!
Report this review
Rodd J. Couples Australia, October 20, 2015
Great hotel, staff and location

location, close to everything, location
10
The hotel was clean and tidy, (room 201) the breakfast great and the view from the eating area was unbeatable. On arrival we requested a room with a bath, the girl on reception and extremely helpful and nothing was to much trouble for her. Within 5 minutes we had a room that met all our needs and with a picture postcard view. We would certainly recommend this hotel. We caught a public bus from the airport to the hotel. 5 euros and you buy the ticket from inside the airport terminal. The bus (x95) takes about 45 minutes to the drop off at Syntahma square. The bus was right outside the exit from the terminal and was easy to find. It’s about a 15 minute walk to the hotel. Mostly on a downhill decline if you have a bit of luggage. Like most tourist attractions these days, to beat the crowds get to them early. If you buy a ticket to the Parthenon area (12 euros) in lasts for 4 days and gets you into several other historical site areas so don’t throw it away. Taxi to the airport including luggage 41 euros. We left early in the morning the staff prepared a small breakfast to take with us. Staff were helpful and friendly, reception check in and out was quick and hassle free. The location is tremendous. Close to the major tourist attractions and most are within walking distance, You want have any trouble finding somewhere to eat because the hotel is near the heart of the dining and tourist precinct. Shopping for souvenirs was also found within this precinct. There are a number of small travel agents around the area so you can choose from a number of day (or longer) trips to the Islands and sights on the main land.
Report this review
Fadzli N. Solo travelers Malaysia, October 19, 2015
SUPER AMAZING ROOFTOP VIEW

LOCATION, CONDITION, VIEW
9.7
I love my stay at athens. everything perfect. i love view of the city.
Report this review
Debbie P. Couples Australia, August 17, 2015
beautiful small boutique hotel

location
9
clean, close to everything, efficient friendly staff
Report this review
Fong H. Couples China, August 13, 2015
The RG floor is amazing!

staffs, location, RG floor
9.7
It was very impressive that they offered some traditional turkish candies and turkish tea when we arrived the hotel. The hotel is so close to Plaka, the old district. That's why we could find lots of good restaurants. Besides, it is only a 3 minutes distant to the museum of Acropolis. You can also travel round this area by tourist tram. It was a wonderful journey!
Report this review
Yin W. Business travelers Malaysia, June 19, 2015
strategic location

location. affordable. near eateries
8
Very good location for travellers
Report this review
Yin W. Business travelers Malaysia, June 19, 2015
location good

location. clean . food nearby
7.3
Overall at expectation
Report this review
Yin W. Business travelers Malaysia, June 19, 2015
location is good

location. travel. tourist
7.3
Good breakfast
Report this review
Yin W. Business travelers Malaysia, June 19, 2015
at expectation

location. tourist spot. food
7.3
Good location for tourist
Report this review
1 - 10 of 96 reviews Next page
The Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ExteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ExteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Acropolis ViewThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ExteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ExteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ViewThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - InteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ExteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ExteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - InteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - SurroundingsThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ExteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ViewThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - SurroundingsThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - InteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - InteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ViewThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - EntranceThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - BathroomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - RestaurantThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - InteriorThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - RestaurantThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - RestaurantThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - BathroomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Guest RoomThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - RestaurantThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Acropolis ViewThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Acropolis ViewThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Acropolis ViewThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - LobbyThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Lobby BarThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Lobby FireplaceThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Lobby areaThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ReceptionThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - EntranceThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - ReceptionThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Breakfast AreaThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Breakfast BuffetThe Athens Gate Hotel Athens - Breakfast Area


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A05