Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 691 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 691 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.0
Sort by

Evadne L. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed 5 nights in October 2014
Overall a great stay
Value for money, sufficient transport options around the hotel, food options around Kings Cross area
The cafe just next to the hotel (part of The Bayswater, I believe) provided really good service and wonderful breakfast options. It was also very convenient to have a convenience store right next to the hotel. The Kings Cross area gets interesting at night, but not so suitable for conservative travelers or families with younger children. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel with buses that bring you to Circular Quay or the shopping areas, and the train station is just a minute's walk away. We stayed on the first floor and the room and amenities provided were just sufficient for the 2 of us. Soundproofing of rooms is not fantastic but did not cause a nuisance. Overall we had a great stay and were satisfied with what we got for the amount that we paid!
Reviewed October 29, 2014

stephen F. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Good n clean
Bed, location, cleanliness
Good
Reviewed October 26, 2014

Lechelle P. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2014
Good location for restaurants and nightlife
close to transport, restaurants
The room was average. Sound on the tv was not great, air was stuffy, air con was noisy, no where to place store things on the bathroom basin, lots of little inconveniences all adding up to an uncomfortable stay.
Reviewed October 24, 2014

Matthias C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Nice place to stay
The hotel room is clean and equipped witha and strategically located with nearby train and bus stations.
Reviewed October 22, 2014

chester L. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2014
Nice!
Pleasant.
For a night it was good. Location kings cross is rough! Not again sorry.
Reviewed October 21, 2014

Liliazura I. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 5 nights in October 2014
Home away from home
Great service, interesting location, beautiful decor
We enjoyed our 6-day stay here. We arrived before our room was ready but we got to put down our luggage and walked around the neighborhood. The front desk man was friendly and polite. Our room was a welcome relief after an 8-hour plane ride. They even provided us with a baby cot. Kings Cross is a colourful neighbourhood - definitely not boring. There's also a halal kebab shop near the Fountain. Would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed October 07, 2014

Jit L. from New Zealand
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2014
Good hotel and location in Sydney
Price, location and the staff were friendly and helpful
Reviewed October 03, 2014

Luigi T. from Italy
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
neaad a touch up
price, position
neaad a touch up,need better maintenance and cleaning
Reviewed September 28, 2014

Daniel H. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Bayswater review
location, staff friendliness, shopping areas around
It was pleasant :)
Reviewed September 21, 2014

Timothy D. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Excellent choice
Location, comfortable bed, practical bathroom with great hot water
I have lived in the area for 20 years and am now living in London so returned for the first time to stay in a hotel. The Cross can be a noisy place (on the weekend) and this frightens more conservative travellers. But it also has excellent restaurants, interesting bars and cafes, great views of the city and harbour, and pretty streets and a varied street life. This hotel is very well situated on the edge of the noise and bustle, close to the rail station with bus and taxi at the front door. It is a 15 minute walk to the CBD (half an hour via the harbourside and botanical gardens) The hotel has an unprepossessing entrance, but is in an excellently renovated old building. Some side rooms only have views of the next building, but are very quiet and cosy. Rear rooms have some better views with a little noise (early morning emptying garbage), rooms at the front have more noise. Overall the hotel is a peaceful haven in a buzzy area. Staff service is excellent. I had great sleeps in a comfortable bed. The rooms are compact i.e: not large -- but larger than other comparable priced hotels. Excellent value for money in an expensive city. Free wifi. A kitchen and dining area for cooking your own food: a large supermarket next door. I would definitely return and recommend to friends.
Reviewed September 18, 2014