Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Bayswater Sydney

17 Bayswater Road, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.6

based on
152 reviews

541 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.7
Location
8.3
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.9
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.0
Solo travelers (152)
Sort by:
Yingchiao W. Solo travelers Taiwan, January 20, 2016
nice price

nice place
7.7
Report this review
Shermian L. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 13, 2015
Good location, very small but comfortable

Location, comfortable, staff
6.3
The hotel: Room is very small and everything is in working order. Unfortunately though, for whatever reason, I received an unpleasant visit from a cockroach on my first night. The little cups of milk for coffee/tea that were replaced on my second day had already curdled. Yuck. Other than that, everything seemed clean and the staff was friendly. The location: the hotel is right by King's Cross station, making it super easy to get around. It's also got plenty of good food options nearby, ranging from cheap to expensive. If having strip clubs right on your doorstep isn't your thing, you may want to reconsider. Otherwise, nightlife is great and you get to see a lot of colourful characters. Overall, all things considered, this is a good and affordable choice for a few nights.
Report this review
Eric J. Solo travelers New Zealand, December 11, 2015
Back again, great again

Location, value for money, clean rooms
8.3
Great as always.
Report this review
Patricia B. Solo travelers Australia, December 7, 2015
Only if you need to

Location. Security. Clean
4.7
I booked this 4 weeks in advance. On arrival I was given 2 level 5. No lift to the floor. I was an international traveller with rather heavy bag. The room was clean. However I felt like I was in a cupboard. For an extra $20 I could have stayed in a better room in the area.
Report this review
Jose P. Solo travelers United States of America, November 25, 2015
Fine

Bed, price, shower
8
It was fine. The location isn't great; kings cross is a bit out of the way from everything, but aside from that, the room was just fine and the price wasn't bad. Wifi works, but you have to log in every time you use it, which was annoying.
Report this review
Sandra D. Solo travelers Canada, November 18, 2015
good location

location, staff and cleanliness
9
Very good hotel with good staff and excellent location
Report this review
Richard W. Solo travelers Australia, October 26, 2015
Good location and nice room but lacks charm

Location, bed, location
7.3
For some reason I didn't really find it a 4 star hotel. Nice enough room but very dark being on ground floor. Staff weren't friendly. Won't be back in a hurry.
Report this review
Hakan O. Solo travelers Turkey, October 20, 2015
My worst hotel experience ever

Proximity to public transport
2.3
I am a frequent traveller. In average I stay in 20 different hotels in different cities each year. Because of my budget I neither stay in luxurious hotels, nor dare to stay in cheap ones. I am not a difficult customer at all, I just expect what I have paid for. Unfortunately, The Bayswater Sydney is by far the most disappointing hotel in that manner and it was the most unpleasant accommodation experience in my life. Since I read complaints from previous reviews about room size, I paid a pretty much more money and booked a "suite" room. One must be ashamed of calling this regular sized room a suite. Old and uncomfortable furnitures, dirty curtains, creaking floor, minibar in the wardrobe(!), no so good working shower, not correctly flushing toilet. And yes, there are also cockroaches on the wall. There is an ancient elevator which takes you to your floor in 10 minutes and its door does not open in 2 minutes. Still I could have given a better rating to this place, but unfortunately their rude and arrogant staff made this impossible. I do not want to give the details, but we had a disagreement with the hotel management and I am completely disappointed about their behavior. Stay away from this place.
Report this review
Kamel Z. Solo travelers Lebanon, September 27, 2015
Just Your Average Room

Location is OK'd to me, Bed Matress is almost comfy and the Shower's water pressure is good.
5.3
Wasn't best, simply average
Report this review
Yaokun X. Solo travelers China, September 26, 2015
Tiny, shabby & noisy, worst hotel experience
2.3
DON'T BOOK HERE! I really don't know why this shabby hotel could be rated as a 4-star - it's even worse than many backpackers and motels. The hotel room was very very tiny and the view from my room's window was nothing but a dirty lane. The bedding and bath towels looked unclean. The so-called "king-size" bed was actually pieced together by two single beds and that was very uncomfortable. Its bathroom is the smallest bathroom I've ever seen - a 3-4 ㎡ bathroom with a shower, a handbasin and a toilet - I really don't have enough space to use the bathroom. The window frame was unstable and it always made a noise because of the wind. The surrounding of the hotel also made me feel unsafe. In summary here made my worst hotel experience in Australia and the 4-star rating is absolutely overrated.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 662 reviews Next page
The Bayswater Sydney SydneyThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - King DeluxeThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Executive King SuiteThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Guest RoomThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - ReceptionThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - King DeluxeThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - King StandardThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Rain ShowerThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Small Double RoomThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - The Bayswater SydneyThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Work DeskThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Pizza Next DoorThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Executive King SuiteThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Executive King SuiteThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Departure LoungeThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Cafes EverywhereThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - ExteriorThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - SurroundingsThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - ExteriorThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - ExteriorThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - ExteriorThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - EntranceThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - ExteriorThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - ExteriorThe Bayswater Sydney Sydney - Entrance


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B01