Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 824 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 824 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

Jamie F.
United Kingdom
May 30, 2016
Very happy
Pleasent staff

Claudia W.
Germany
May 29, 2016
Great showers
I stayed in a 4bed dorm (no bunk beds!) for 2 nights. It was low season and I actually had the whole room all on my own. Most impressive was the huge bathroom with rainfall shower and 2 sinks. Really good. The room was basic but very clean and quiet with big lockers. Location is quite central in a little dark alley (safe and quiet). I did most the tourispots on feet from there which wasn't that bad. Personnel was very nice and helpful with infos and bookings and you can also hire bikes.. Note, that this is also a hotel, so a bit more than the usual backpacker vibe. Really enjoyed my stay here and can nothing but recommend.

Nial M.
Australia
April 21, 2016
Good hotel
Stayed 3 nights in the twin share room with my daughter, room was clean and everything worked. Staff were helpful and the location is only a short tuk tuk ride to most things in town. Multifit power points and rain head shower were handy. Air cond didn't work real great but there was also a ceiling fan which helped.

Kelsey B.
United States
April 10, 2016
Luxury for backpackers
I stayed in the dorm room for one night. It was so nice I did not want to leave. It had large beds and a fancy shower/bathroom. Just like the pictures. The pool was also very nice. It was a quiet relaxing place, don't expect to meet many people though. Unfortunately the staff was not very helpful. When I asked for a map they did not have one and and just gave me a generic one without and help. When asking about exchanging money they did not know where I should go and never gave me an answer. Not sure if they were annoyed by me because I am a backpacker or if they were simply understaffed. Everytime I had a question or wanted to drop off my key I had to wait because only one person was working the front desk which was inconvenient. I think if they had two people working this could be avoided and they'd be less stressed and more helpful. The food staff and the owner were very friendly and helpful though. Lots of tuktuks outside who can take you to popular locations for cheap.

Robert B.
Netherlands
April 08, 2016
Oasis of tranquility
Larry and his team are doing there at most to make your stay perfect. The quiet garden and the pool are great after a day of sightseeing in Phnom Penh. But the place is more busy then it used to be in the past, because they have a hostel now, for backpackers for only (!) $10 a night since 2016. This attracts a lot of less wealthy youngsters who normally never stayed in this price range! Soo more people at the pool!

Dave P.
United Kingdom
April 05, 2016
Peaceful place to stay
I've been coming to The Billabong for 10 years now. The rooms have improved and the ambience pleasant. I had no time to use the pool this visit; but the garden is a refuge from the busy city nearby The change of name to "Billabong Hotel and Hostel" implies a change of ownership since I last stayed there a year ago. It seems cheaper in price too. The food and drink prices have dropped; but the food choice and taste was disappointing in many ways. The Buffet Breakfast was OK, the Asian food was tastier than the Western offerings. I've had better F+B in other Hotels in the City but provided the room prices stay the same I'll stay here again.

Ben D.
United States
April 04, 2016
An oasis in Phnom Penh
The Billabong is a peaceful hotel with a great staff and clean rooms. I enjoyed escaping from the crazy city here and will stay again next time I'm in PP.

Teresa T.
United States
February 28, 2016
Absolutely perfect respite from the city!
It's in a perfect location - walking distance to many attractions - and great all around! The rooms are HUGE and clean, with great A/C, impressive TV selection; perfect for taking a rest. The pool is beautiful. The staff are very friendly. The only downside is that they booked a driver for us to Sihanoukville which cost $75 but when we booked a return trip directly with the company it only cost $50. Otherwise, no complaints at all!

CHUAH L.
Malaysia
February 17, 2016
Interesting vacation
cleanliness, near the market , availability of local transport
The swimming pool view in front of the dining area was impressive.

debra T.
Australia
February 17, 2016
great place
pool ,room size and location.
we only stayed over night but could have stayed a lot longer.hotel and staff were just great. just outside of hotel all the transport to get around with.