Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Billabong Hotel & Hostel

No 5, Street 158, Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

8.0

based on 809 reviews

563 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.0
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (809)
Sort by:
Jamie F. Groups United Kingdom, May 29, 2016
Very happy
6.7
Pleasent staff
Claudia W. Solo travelers Germany, May 27, 2016
Great showers
5.7
I stayed in a 4bed dorm (no bunk beds!) for 2 nights. It was low season and I actually had the whole room all on my own. Most impressive was the huge bathroom with rainfall shower and 2 sinks. Really good. The room was basic but very clean and quiet with big lockers. Location is quite central in a little dark alley (safe and quiet). I did most the tourispots on feet from there which wasn't that bad. Personnel was very nice and helpful with infos and bookings and you can also hire bikes.. Note, that this is also a hotel, so a bit more than the usual backpacker vibe. Really enjoyed my stay here and can nothing but recommend.
Nial M. Families with older children Australia, April 19, 2016
Good hotel
5
Stayed 3 nights in the twin share room with my daughter, room was clean and everything worked. Staff were helpful and the location is only a short tuk tuk ride to most things in town. Multifit power points and rain head shower were handy. Air cond didn't work real great but there was also a ceiling fan which helped.
Kelsey B. Solo travelers United States of America, April 7, 2016
Luxury for backpackers
5
I stayed in the dorm room for one night. It was so nice I did not want to leave. It had large beds and a fancy shower/bathroom. Just like the pictures. The pool was also very nice. It was a quiet relaxing place, don't expect to meet many people though. Unfortunately the staff was not very helpful. When I asked for a map they did not have one and and just gave me a generic one without and help. When asking about exchanging money they did not know where I should go and never gave me an answer. Not sure if they were annoyed by me because I am a backpacker or if they were simply understaffed. Everytime I had a question or wanted to drop off my key I had to wait because only one person was working the front desk which was inconvenient. I think if they had two people working this could be avoided and they'd be less stressed and more helpful. The food staff and the owner were very friendly and helpful though. Lots of tuktuks outside who can take you to popular locations for cheap.
Dave P. Business travelers United Kingdom, April 4, 2016
Peaceful place to stay
6.7
I've been coming to The Billabong for 10 years now. The rooms have improved and the ambience pleasant. I had no time to use the pool this visit; but the garden is a refuge from the busy city nearby The change of name to "Billabong Hotel and Hostel" implies a change of ownership since I last stayed there a year ago. It seems cheaper in price too. The food and drink prices have dropped; but the food choice and taste was disappointing in many ways. The Buffet Breakfast was OK, the Asian food was tastier than the Western offerings. I've had better F+B in other Hotels in the City but provided the room prices stay the same I'll stay here again.
Ben D. Business travelers United States of America, April 1, 2016
An oasis in Phnom Penh
6.7
The Billabong is a peaceful hotel with a great staff and clean rooms. I enjoyed escaping from the crazy city here and will stay again next time I'm in PP.
Robert B. Couples Netherlands, March 19, 2016
Oasis of tranquility
5.3
Larry and his team are doing there at most to make your stay perfect. The quiet garden and the pool are great after a day of sightseeing in Phnom Penh. But the place is more busy then it used to be in the past, because they have a hostel now, for backpackers for only (!) $10 a night since 2016. This attracts a lot of less wealthy youngsters who normally never stayed in this price range! Soo more people at the pool!
Teresa T. Couples United States of America, February 23, 2016
Absolutely perfect respite from the city!
6.7
It's in a perfect location - walking distance to many attractions - and great all around! The rooms are HUGE and clean, with great A/C, impressive TV selection; perfect for taking a rest. The pool is beautiful. The staff are very friendly. The only downside is that they booked a driver for us to Sihanoukville which cost $75 but when we booked a return trip directly with the company it only cost $50. Otherwise, no complaints at all!
Debra T. Couples Australia, February 12, 2016
great place

pool ,room size and location.
9
we only stayed over night but could have stayed a lot longer.hotel and staff were just great. just outside of hotel all the transport to get around with.
Adisyn P. Groups United States of America, February 4, 2016
Relaxing Retreat on quiet street

Quiet, Clean, and Comfortable
9.3
Four friends and I stayed at the Billabong Hotel for 3 nights and we really enjoyed our stay! The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed our time at the pool. The front desk staff were always helpful to give advice for tuk-tuk pricing and directions. The breakfast was really good too, I especially loved the egg station where you could get your eggs exactly like you want. Wished the pool stayed open a tad longer, but other than that we had no negative feedback for this hotel.
1 - 10 of 563 reviews Next page
The Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom PenhThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Hotel receptionThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Hotel EntranceThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Guest RoomThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Cheese burgerThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - InteriorThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Deluxe FamilyThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - RestaurantThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - BreakfastThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Deluxe DoubleThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - BathroomThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Deluxe FamilyThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Deluxe FamilyThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Deluxe FamilyThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Deluxe FamilyThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Deluxe FamilyThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - BathroomThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - BathroomThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Swimming PoolThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - LobbyThe Billabong Hotel & Hostel Phnom Penh - Exterior


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C07