Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Bund Riverside Hotel

398 E Beijing Rd,, People Square and South Bund Huangpu, Shanghai, China

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

7.7

based on 96 reviews

933 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.1
Location
8.4
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.6
Room Comfort/Standard
7.7
Food/Dining
6.5
Families with older children (96)
Sort by:
Hor K. Families with older children Singapore, March 29, 2016
Good location
4.7
I like the location and it's room rate meet my budget. The hotel is kind of 3 star although it is stated 4 star. It takes 15 to 20 minutes walk to the Bund and about 5~7 minutes walk to Nanjing East Road walking street. Appreciated the staff's offer to book taxi to the airport upon our checking out as we check out very early. We reached the airport less than an hour.
Rebecca L. Families with older children Italy, March 29, 2016
Great position
4.7
The staff were not particularly helpful and I couldn't understand why we needed to pay a deposit to use the wifi. Otherwise as a base to visit Shanghai it's in a really good position and has great views from the rooms.
Dahye C. Families with older children South Korea, January 24, 2016
Nice
5.7
Not bad
Jenny K. Families with older children Hong Kong, December 21, 2015
Good stay

The staff service were really good, the room had an amazing view
7
My experience at the hotel was pleasant (although it is a bit inconvenient with just steps going up to the hotel), but the staffs helped with my luggage, also the wifi hub rental - the staffs explained it fully (english/mandarin).
Nancy T. Families with older children Singapore, November 28, 2015
A room wth a view of the Shanghai's Pearl Tower!

Speedy check-in, clean spacious room, good location.
8
Will definitely stay in this hotel again when I next visit Shanghai and will definitely pay again for a river view room (not Huangpu river you get though as it's blocked by other tall buildings). During this stay I was given a room with a beautiful river/city view directly facing the Pearl Tower (can you imagine how fascinating at night when the Pearl Tower and the other skyscrapers are lighted up). I never once had the curtains drawn regardless whether it was day or night coz the view is simply enchanting. Personally I find it very convenient to get around Shanghai from the hotel as the hotel is pretty near to a metro train station and if you enjoy walking you can also conveniently walk down to the Huangpu river where the Bund is (the stretch of colonial buildings simply fascinate! Especially at night!). The staff is definitely efficient and civil but I won't say they are forthcoming or helpful with information (personally I think Shanghainese are in general not that helpful - this is just an opinion, not a complaint). As I did not dine at the hotel, I can't comment on the restaurants' food.
Sonja D. Families with older children United States of America, July 21, 2015
Bund Riverside a Great Value

Great location, really helpful English speaking staff
8.3
the carpet appeared very dirty when we arrived about midnight. We thought we would ask For a cleaner ro on the morning, but decided it was tolerable in the morning. The city view was second to none and we also had a partial river view. The hotel in just about 3 blocks from the E Nanging Rd metro station and there in lots of shopping in E Hanging Rd as well as hop on hop off city bus tours. We paid about $56/nt USD, and my daughter tried to book an additional night, but couldn't find our similar room for less than $86/nt. for what we paid, it was a fabulous headquarters for our stay in Shanghai!
Virginia M. Families with older children Australia, July 13, 2015
It is not actually at the Bund
5.3
This was OK for China but not for other parts of the world. Staff did not welcome us at all. They merely asked for passports and just photocopied and gave them back. That was the fullness of their check-in. They did not give any guidance or ideas about what to do while in Shanghai or any orientation at all. Not even a smile. There were no smiles at all during our 4 days stay. Pathetic - they did not even try.This hotel really needs to pull up its socks! Substandard. There was cigarette smoke coming into our room even though we were supposed to be in a non-smoking room and floor. Four nights of this was quite unbearable. Will not stay there again :(
Kuan M. Families with older children Malaysia, December 23, 2014
Comfortable Stay

Clean, Comfortable, Friendly Staff
9.3
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Location is good near the Bund and also Nanjing pedestrian shopping street. WiFi available. Staff were friendly.
Kuan M. Families with older children Malaysia, December 23, 2014
Great stay

Clean and comfortable, helpful staffs, good location
9.7
Rooms were clean and comfortable., staffs were helpful and friendly enough, location isgreat just 5-10mins walk from Metro Station, The Bund and Nanjing Shopping Street. WiFi is available.
Angeline G. Families with older children Singapore, December 21, 2014
Hotel not good enough

location
4
I was not very happy about this hotel. The staff are not as good service as they are suppose to. I ask them question and they can just make you stand there and no answer from them until you ask again. They did not tell you that there is a free wifi connector to loan at a deposit of RMB100 until i ask them. I will not recommend my friends to book this hotel.
1 - 10 of 1515 reviews Next page
The Bund Riverside Hotel ShanghaiThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - EntranceThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - InteriorThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - InteriorThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - RestaurantThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - LobbyThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - LobbyThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - SurroundingsThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - LobbyThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Meeting RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Guest RoomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - SurroundingsThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - SurroundingsThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - BathroomThe Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai - Bathroom


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C01