Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Clipper Hotel

5766 Ebro Street, P. Burgos Poblacion , Makati, Manila, Philippines

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very good

7.7

based on
605 reviews

477 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.9
Location
8.0
Staff Performance
7.8
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
6.1
All reviews (605)
Sort by:
Anthony G. Couples United States of America, January 28, 2016
The Clipper Experience

(1) Friendly staff members; (2) Clean towels and bedsheets; (3)Cozy dining area
9
Over all, it was good.
Report this review
Gayle M. Groups Philippines, January 16, 2016
Stayed January 2016

Location, Value for Money, Staff Performance
5.7
Clipper's a pretty good place to stay if you don't mind it being close to a somewhat shady area. There are convenience stores just around the corner, lots of food places all around, and if you don't mind walking you can reach the Ayala and Rockwell areas by foot, so you can save on your transportation costs. It gets a little noisy outside especially if you're there on a weekend, but that's for travelers to look out for, considering where it's located. I didn't feel safety was an issue, though; the main door auto-locks, and you actually have to wait for the receptionist to let you in. Also, there aren't that many rooms, so they'll be familiar if you're a hotel guest or not. The room we got was much bigger than the other hotels I've tried of the same price range. We had clean sheets and a decent Internet connection - didn't really expect much else, considering the room rate. The staff members were friendly and helpful, and we had no problems checking in/out. I can't comment on the food, because we didn't avail of the room with the free breakfast, nor did we order anything from the restaurant. But their prices looked okay, for hotel food. However, the extra person charge of P500/night seems a little too much, considering that there were no extras provided - not even extra towels. And for a two-night stay, we only received one bottle of water for the entire duration. Also, the one-hour visitor's policy seems a little strict.
Report this review
Wilson O. Couples Singapore, January 16, 2016
Hotel Review

Accommodating staff, nice location to tour around, room is clean
8
A fine and pleasant stay, just that it is located near pub it might be a little bit noisy at night.
Report this review
Andreas B. Solo travelers Germany, January 2, 2016
Nice theme Hotel in a good shape RAPITS

Clean, manager, Design
8.3
Here' s my famous RAPITS Rating: Room Aircon Pool INTERNET TV SERVICE 230242 so Average is 2,6 As schoolnotes 1 is the best and 6 the worst !
Report this review
Daniel M. Solo travelers United States of America, January 2, 2016
The old reliable Clipper

location staff atmosphere
7
If it seems like you have read this review before it's because you probably have! I have stayed at the Clipper many times over the past few years. It has always been a reliable hotel for me. Clean and affordable, it's hard to believe it is just a block off of P. Burgos Street. If you are a solo traveler who wants to be close to the nightlife, but is still traveling on a budget, give the Clipper a try.
Report this review
Daniel M. Solo travelers United States of America, January 1, 2016
An oasis just a block away from chaos

staff location atmosphere
7
Yes, me again...I have written several reviews for the Clipper, since it is my "go-to" hotel when I stay in Makati. It's clean and affordable and perfect for solo travelers who want to be near the nightlife but not directly in it's path. P. Burgos Street is just a block away, so that legendary Makati nightlife is quite walkable. The only real drawback to the Clipper is the lack of a true restaurant, so getting breakfast is sometimes a bother.
Report this review
Alex B. Business travelers United States of America, December 30, 2015
Another Great Experience at Clipper..

Value, Location, Service
9
as always, Clipper doesnt let you down cant beat the value and location
Report this review
Daniel M. Solo travelers United States of America, December 23, 2015
Quiet little place a block away from chaos

location, staff, atmosphere
7.3
I have stayed at the Clipper many times. It's a nice little hotel with a Pan Pacific (early days of air travel) theme. Some might describe the hotel as quaint. It's minimally staffed and has no real restaurant. But, most people will choose the Clipper because of its location (just a block from P. Burgos Street) and its reasonable price. If you are looking for a high class place with a large breakfast buffet, just move along. If you are looking for an affordable place to crash while exploring Makati's nightlife, try the Clipper.
Report this review
Kevin E. Groups Australia, November 17, 2015
Very convenient location and good value .

Great location, clean rooms, nice staff.
7.3
I do stay at this hotel most times when I am in Manila . The location is excellent for taking in the night life of Makati. The rooms and large and clean and the room staff are experienced and diligent as are the reception staff too . I would reccomend this hotel that is looking for a nice stay and value for money in a hotel in Makati.
Report this review
Josh M. Solo travelers United Kingdom, November 14, 2015
Great value for money!

Location, great staff, price
9.3
Report this review
1 - 10 of 477 reviews Next page
The Clipper Hotel Manila - Hotel FacadeThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Guest RoomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Guest RoomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Guest RoomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Guest RoomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Cafe BarThe Clipper Hotel Manila - LobbyThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Cafe BarThe Clipper Hotel Manila - StairwayThe Clipper Hotel Manila - BathroomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Cafe BarThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Hotel FacadeThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Hotel FacadeThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Guest RoomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - BathroomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Flashlights in Selected RoomsThe Clipper Hotel Manila - AmenitiesThe Clipper Hotel Manila - In room safeThe Clipper Hotel Manila - In Room DirectoryThe Clipper Hotel Manila - AmenitiesThe Clipper Hotel Manila - BathroomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - LobbyThe Clipper Hotel Manila - InteriorThe Clipper Hotel Manila - ReceptionThe Clipper Hotel Manila - InteriorThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Guest RoomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - ExteriorThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Guest RoomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - BathroomThe Clipper Hotel Manila - Standard


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05