My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Commodore Hotel

Portswood Road, V&A Waterfront, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa (Show on map)

Book now!

The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Surroundings The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Gym The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Bar The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Exterior The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Gym The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Boardroom The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Clipper Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Admiralty Bar The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Table Mountain View
Hotel Area: V & A Waterfront Number of Rooms: 236
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
81 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
8.1
All reviews (81)
Sort by:
Keita S. Families with young children Japan, April 20, 2014
Very good hotel walking distance from Waterfront

Walking distance from V&A Shopping Mall, Good breakfast, and comfortable room with a good view of the football stadium
8.3
This hotel is located very close to the Waterfront, 5 minute walk from V & A Shopping Mall. My family enjoyed our comfortable room with a good view of World Cup football stadium and good breakfast.
Atiq B. Families with young children France, April 19, 2014
It was wonderful.

The cleanliness, the customer service and closeness to the waterfront
7.7
Short but we will surely come back. To improve the buffet breakfast which contains various foods but remains the same every day.
Jolene H. Couples South Africa, April 5, 2014
Disappointing

location, hotel spa,
5.7
We'd stayed at the Commodore approximately 10 years ago and were hoping for a repeat experience and were very disappointed to see how run down the hotel had become. There were many things like lift buttons that would only take a maintenance team to repair that were broken and it makes the hotel feel uncared for. The hotel corridor had a smell and the rooms are very out dated
Jason V. Business travelers Netherlands, February 12, 2014
Average stay in an average hotel

Location, Location, Location
7
I was honestly very underwhelmed...The lobby area and bar are great but the executive room I asked for was a joke. Tiny room with very noisy outdated air-conditioning system. I was travelling on business and the room was not suited at all as the work space was tiny and cramped and the internet was very slow. The room and bathroom was overall very dated and not what I was expecting.
Marc S. Solo travelers New Zealand, December 28, 2013
Great stay at the Commmodore

Close to waterfront, good breakfast, and nice bar
8
Had a good time at the Commodore. The hotel is nice and clean. Had a turbo shower in my bathroom that gave a me a good freshup every morning.
Andrew B. Business travelers United Kingdom, December 1, 2013
nice hotel and good location

location, atmosphere, bed
8
I had a good stay at the Commodore. It has a nice atmosphere harking back to the old days, generally good service and reasonable food. Best of all is the location on the waterfront near the various free music events, the massive mall and loads of excellent restaurants. Would certainly stay in the area again.
Andrew B. Business travelers United Kingdom, November 30, 2013
nice hotel, good location

location at waterfront, atmosphere
8.3
I had a good stay at the Commodore. It has a nice atmosphere harking back to the old days, generally good service and reasonable food. Best of all is the location on the waterfront near the various free music events, the massive mall and loads of excellent restaurants. Would certainly stay in the area again. My only criticism was the non delivery of an iron and ironing board 2 days in a row. Perhaps they have a shortage of irons but I called housekeeping 3 times the first day over an hour, and twice the second day, resulting in me going to work in a creased shirt...
Bill K. Business travelers United Kingdom, October 22, 2013
My favourite hotel in Cape Town

Location, great rooms & friendly attentive staff
9.3
As usual the Commodore provided everything required for a business traveler. Valet car parking, easy check in, comfortable spacious room, efficient friendly staff which creates an overall feeling of being a welcome guest. Walking distance to the V&A Waterfront is a prime advantage over downtown hotels, and means the choice of restaurants is stupendous. I would recommend the Commodore to any visitor to the Mother City.
Michael S. Couples Australia, October 10, 2013
VERY CONVENIENT, COMFORTABLE AND AFFORDABLE

LOCATION, STAFF, BREAKFAST
8
OUR STAY WAS EXCELLENT THE STAFF WERE HELPFUL , THE LOCATION WAS CLOSE TO SHOPPING AND ATTRACTIONS AND GOOD RESTAURANTS.
William D. Couples United States of America, September 27, 2013
Very nice comfortable room. Service very good.

fast checkin, exit was quick also, easy access to shopping and restuarants
8.7
The mattress was uncomfortable. Difficult to get to sleep. Shower glass panel leaked on to floor. WI FI weak did not work made several calls to desk because it was not working properly. Need to improve on pancakes and or waffles.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Entrance The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - SurroundingsThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - GymThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - BarThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Exterior The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Gym The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Boardroom The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Clipper Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Admiralty Bar The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Table Mountain View


AS-AGWEB-3C02