or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Commodore Hotel

Portswood Road, V&A Waterfront, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa (Show on map)

Book now!

The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Surroundings The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Gym The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Exterior The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Gym The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Boardroom The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Clipper Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Admiralty Bar
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Table Mountain View
Area: V & A Waterfront Number of Rooms: 236
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
98 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
8.1
All reviews (98)
Sort by:
Steve W. Business travelers South Africa, November 7, 2014
Bad housekeeping staff

Shireen in the lounge, and Gavin - one of the managers.
7.3
Having stayed there several times before I was very disappointed this time around. My room faced the housekeeping store and the levels of noise from the housekeeping staff was shocking to say the least, as was the lack of attention paid to the room. Every day I had to call them for drinking glasses, toilet paper, laundry bags, etc. It was just as though they did not care. Added to that were the phone calls at 0230hrs in the morning when someone just kept putting the phone down. I asked reception to trace the calls - as they are able to - but they would not reveal the source. All in all a very disappointing stay - and if not for the wonderful Shireen in the lounge we would have checked out earlier. I won't be staying there again.
Myra W. Couples Australia, September 26, 2014
Great location

Location, staff, accommodation
10
Was a very comfortabl hotel, excellent location and facilities
Lauren S. Couples United States of America, September 20, 2014
Good Hotel, Great Location

Breakfast, Location, Price
9
Overall, pretty good stay at the Commodore. Great location with easy access to everything for a tourist traveler. Hotel was beautiful and breakfast was great (I am gluten free, and they had a platter of bread / muffins every morning!). Amazing value for the money, and despite the below, I would return again. Now for the "good" but could have been better part. When we checked in, they didn't have any queen beds left so we had two twins. Ended up being not as bad as I thought, but disappointing as it was an anniversary trip. The internet was slow and I didn't like that they only allot a specific amount a day. Also, the air conditioning in the room did not work properly. When put on cool, hot air came out, so at night we put it on the fan (which only circulated air). Luckily it wasn't too hot while we were there so never complained to management.
Colin N. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 14, 2014
Great Hotel and Safe Location

Good value for money with Agoda deal. Location ideal for Water Front. Safe are to walk around
8.7
Booked this hotel last minuet after finishing at a work conference and wanted to be closer to the town. This hotel is 2-3 minuets walk from the water front and the area is very safe, even late at night. The hotel amenities are very good. Check in was swift and quick. The room a good size and the WiFi which is free works very well. From my 2 windows I could see both Table Mountain and the sea. I did not use the restaurant for dinner, but for breakfast there was a good self service selection of hot and cold buffet. Based on the price of some of the other hotels in the area, this was a good value for money weekend break.
Cheekin L. Families with young children Singapore, September 12, 2014
vintage hotel with great location

location, location and location
8.3
generally a pleasant one. the breakfast was not excellent but good and the service is above board. the rooms are slightly old but clean. would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit the lovely city of Cape Town.
Hao M. Couples Singapore, August 29, 2014
Great location and Breakfast

Breakfast, location beside V&A
9.3
Hotel was great, one of the best international breakfast I had. Drive is a must if you want to go to other parts of the town. However, its location beside V&A waterfront is great if that is where you will spend most of your time
Martin R. Couples United Kingdom, August 19, 2014
Great Hotel

Close to the Water Front - friendly staff - comfortable rooms.
9.7
I have stayed here when on business in Cape Town so was confidant that our stay would be good. It was and we will be back. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Martin R. Couples United Kingdom, July 29, 2014
Return stay.

Location - views - staff
9.7
Very good
Lawrence D. Business travelers United States of America, June 16, 2014
Very relaxing

Food, Customer service and comfortable rooms
9
Everything went well. I enjoyed every moment of my stay.
Hiu Y. Business travelers Hong Kong, May 21, 2014
Very convenient

Good location, friendly staff and the rooms are clean
7.7
Overall, it is a convenient located hotel, it is within 5 mins walking to V & A where you can find tons of restaurants and a massive shopping mall. Besides, the hotel staff are fiendly and helpful.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Entrance The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - SurroundingsThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - GymThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Exterior The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Gym The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Boardroom The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Clipper Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Admiralty Bar The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Table Mountain View


AS-AGWEB-3A07