Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Commodore Hotel

Portswood Road, V&A Waterfront, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa (Show on map)

Book now!

The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Exterior The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Gymnasium The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Meeting Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Clipper Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa Massage The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Terrace and Pool Area The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Admiralty Bar The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre with Wi-Fi The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Table Mountain View The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Lounge
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Bedroom The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Luxurious Rooms The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Standard Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Terrace Area The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Luxury Room
Area: V & A Waterfront Number of Rooms: 236
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

based on
105 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
8.1
All reviews (105)
Sort by:
Omolola A. Business travelers Nigeria, May 20, 2015
If on a diet, best place to stay

Location, neatness and healthy food options for breakfast
6.7
Awesome
Ugeshnee R. Families with young children South Africa, April 11, 2015
excellent

staff,food ,comfort
9.3
it was like home away from home
Morrison S. Couples South Africa, March 8, 2015
Extremely central to V&A and Greenpoint Stadium

The location is excellent. The breakfast is one of the better hotel breakfasts we have had. The room service was also prompt and well presented.
8
The stay was enjoyable. The rooms on the street are however noisy.
Nancy W. Solo travelers United States of America, January 30, 2015
Convenient location

Location to restaurants, shopping and Hop On, Hop Off bus. Good breakfast buffet. Quiet rooms.
7.3
I stayed two nights at the Commodore after spending 4 nights in a guesthouse in another part of the city. The Commodore is in a good location with access to shopping and restaurants along the Waterfront. My room was very basic but comfortable. The bathtub/shower was very narrow and awkward to get in and out of due to a glass divider. In short, the location of the hotel is good though the rooms were a bit disappointing for the price.
Donovan M. Couples South Africa, January 10, 2015
short stay

service,service and location
8
Marshall J. Business travelers United States of America, January 7, 2015
Good location

Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast
7.3
The Commodore is showing its age. The carpets in our room were old and sort of dingy. The room was relatively small compared to most rooms in South African hotels. Our "free" internet ran out in the middle of the second day, but we were offered the option to purchase additional internet access, which we passed on. The parking was not free, and we were not impressed with this. We would not stay here again, but the breakfast was nice and the location is very good.
Steve W. Business travelers South Africa, November 7, 2014
Bad housekeeping staff

Shireen in the lounge, and Gavin - one of the managers.
7.3
Having stayed there several times before I was very disappointed this time around. My room faced the housekeeping store and the levels of noise from the housekeeping staff was shocking to say the least, as was the lack of attention paid to the room. Every day I had to call them for drinking glasses, toilet paper, laundry bags, etc. It was just as though they did not care. Added to that were the phone calls at 0230hrs in the morning when someone just kept putting the phone down. I asked reception to trace the calls - as they are able to - but they would not reveal the source. All in all a very disappointing stay - and if not for the wonderful Shireen in the lounge we would have checked out earlier. I won't be staying there again.
Myra W. Couples Australia, September 26, 2014
Great location

Location, staff, accommodation
10
Was a very comfortabl hotel, excellent location and facilities
Lauren S. Couples United States of America, September 20, 2014
Good Hotel, Great Location

Breakfast, Location, Price
9
Overall, pretty good stay at the Commodore. Great location with easy access to everything for a tourist traveler. Hotel was beautiful and breakfast was great (I am gluten free, and they had a platter of bread / muffins every morning!). Amazing value for the money, and despite the below, I would return again. Now for the "good" but could have been better part. When we checked in, they didn't have any queen beds left so we had two twins. Ended up being not as bad as I thought, but disappointing as it was an anniversary trip. The internet was slow and I didn't like that they only allot a specific amount a day. Also, the air conditioning in the room did not work properly. When put on cool, hot air came out, so at night we put it on the fan (which only circulated air). Luckily it wasn't too hot while we were there so never complained to management.
Colin N. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 14, 2014
Great Hotel and Safe Location

Good value for money with Agoda deal. Location ideal for Water Front. Safe are to walk around
8.7
Booked this hotel last minuet after finishing at a work conference and wanted to be closer to the town. This hotel is 2-3 minuets walk from the water front and the area is very safe, even late at night. The hotel amenities are very good. Check in was swift and quick. The room a good size and the WiFi which is free works very well. From my 2 windows I could see both Table Mountain and the sea. I did not use the restaurant for dinner, but for breakfast there was a good self service selection of hot and cold buffet. Based on the price of some of the other hotels in the area, this was a good value for money weekend break.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Entrance The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore ExteriorThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - GymnasiumThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Meeting RoomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Clipper Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa MassageThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Terrace and Pool AreaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Admiralty Bar The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre with Wi-FiThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Table Mountain View The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room LoungeThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore BedroomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The CommodoreThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming PoolThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room LoungeThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Luxurious RoomsThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Standard RoomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Terrace AreaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - RestaurantThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Luxury RoomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Guest Room BathroomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge and Bar AreaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Valet Service


AS-AGWEB-3A07