Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Commodore Hotel

Portswood Road, V&A Waterfront, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town, South Africa (Show on map)

Book now!

The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Exterior The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Gymnasium The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Meeting Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Clipper Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa Massage The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Terrace and Pool Area The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Admiralty Bar The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre with Wi-Fi The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Table Mountain View The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Lounge
The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Bedroom The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Luxurious Rooms The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Standard Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Terrace Area The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Luxury Room
Area: V & A Waterfront Number of Rooms: 236
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.4

from 107 reviews

Value for Money
7.9
Location
9.4
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.4
Room Comfort/Standard
8.1
Food/Dining
8.1
All reviews (107)
Sort by:
Karin W. Couples South Africa, June 12, 2015
Fabulous accommodation in Cape Town

Excellent location. Friendly staff. Valet parking.
10
Wonderful
Report this review
Rob P. Business travelers South Africa, June 10, 2015
Good

Spacious rooms, good service, great location
8.7
Report this review
Omolola A. Business travelers Nigeria, May 20, 2015
If on a diet, best place to stay

Location, neatness and healthy food options for breakfast
6.7
Awesome
Report this review
Ugeshnee R. Families with young children South Africa, April 11, 2015
excellent

staff,food ,comfort
9.3
it was like home away from home
Report this review
Morrison S. Couples South Africa, March 8, 2015
Extremely central to V&A and Greenpoint Stadium

The location is excellent. The breakfast is one of the better hotel breakfasts we have had. The room service was also prompt and well presented.
8
The stay was enjoyable. The rooms on the street are however noisy.
Report this review
Nancy W. Solo travelers United States of America, January 30, 2015
Convenient location

Location to restaurants, shopping and Hop On, Hop Off bus. Good breakfast buffet. Quiet rooms.
7.3
I stayed two nights at the Commodore after spending 4 nights in a guesthouse in another part of the city. The Commodore is in a good location with access to shopping and restaurants along the Waterfront. My room was very basic but comfortable. The bathtub/shower was very narrow and awkward to get in and out of due to a glass divider. In short, the location of the hotel is good though the rooms were a bit disappointing for the price.
Report this review
Donovan M. Couples South Africa, January 10, 2015
short stay

service,service and location
8
Report this review
Marshall J. Business travelers United States of America, January 7, 2015
Good location

Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast
7.3
The Commodore is showing its age. The carpets in our room were old and sort of dingy. The room was relatively small compared to most rooms in South African hotels. Our "free" internet ran out in the middle of the second day, but we were offered the option to purchase additional internet access, which we passed on. The parking was not free, and we were not impressed with this. We would not stay here again, but the breakfast was nice and the location is very good.
Report this review
Steve W. Business travelers South Africa, November 7, 2014
Bad housekeeping staff

Shireen in the lounge, and Gavin - one of the managers.
7.3
Having stayed there several times before I was very disappointed this time around. My room faced the housekeeping store and the levels of noise from the housekeeping staff was shocking to say the least, as was the lack of attention paid to the room. Every day I had to call them for drinking glasses, toilet paper, laundry bags, etc. It was just as though they did not care. Added to that were the phone calls at 0230hrs in the morning when someone just kept putting the phone down. I asked reception to trace the calls - as they are able to - but they would not reveal the source. All in all a very disappointing stay - and if not for the wonderful Shireen in the lounge we would have checked out earlier. I won't be staying there again.
Report this review
Myra W. Couples Australia, September 26, 2014
Great location

Location, staff, accommodation
10
Was a very comfortabl hotel, excellent location and facilities
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Hotel Entrance The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore ExteriorThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - GymnasiumThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Meeting RoomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Conference Room The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Clipper Restaurant The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina Spa MassageThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Terrace and Pool AreaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Admiralty Bar The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Reception The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Business Centre with Wi-FiThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Table Mountain View The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room LoungeThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore BedroomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The CommodoreThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming PoolThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Swimming Pool The Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Guest Room LoungeThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Casuarina SpaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Luxurious RoomsThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Standard RoomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Terrace AreaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - RestaurantThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Luxury RoomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - The Commodore Guest Room BathroomThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Lounge and Bar AreaThe Commodore Hotel Cape Town - Valet Service


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3A02