or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Datai Langkawi

Jalan Teluk Datai Kedah Darul Aman, Datai Bay Area, Langkawi, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa
The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Exterior The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Exterior The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Exterior The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Exterior The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Exterior The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Interior The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Interior The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Interior The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Interior
Area: Datai Bay Area Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

based on
252 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.1
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (252)
Sort by:
Takaaki S. Couples Japan, August 9, 2011
Best Location, good experience of rainforest

Everything is excellent.
9
we could enjoy good service, nice view and delicious food in this resort.
Benedict M. Couples United Kingdom, August 7, 2011
Beautiful setting and attentive service

The rainforest setting
8.7
The Datai is set beautifully upon a hill and amidst the rainforest, meandering down to a wonderfully secluded beach.The staff were attentive and accommodating without being fussy, and whenever we approached them needed anything they were always very helpful. The room was well prepared and was cleaned on a regular basis. The stay was peaceful, but there was also a great choice of activities, restaurants and places to relax and have a drink if you so desired. We will return.
Ken C. Groups Malaysia, August 5, 2011
5-star benchmark

Staff were amazing, quiet and peaceful but sufficient activities available, luxurious rooms and facilities
9.3
i stayed at the datai for 4 glorious nights with my parents and i wish it hadn't ended. we got an amazing deal and took 2 rooms next to each other in the main building and i think that suited us very well. the rooms we stayed in are as good as the pictures online but i'd go back just for the bathrooms! the only drawbacks from the rooms were that the air conditioning in my room was only just sufficient (it never got below (i think) 25 degrees even when the thermostat was at 5!) and the bed was a bit too firm for me, but i think that's more personal preference than anything. (yes, i am nitpicking because i was genuinely happy overall!) the 2 pools are modestly sized and in themselves pretty average, but i enjoyed lying on the deckchairs to catch up on reading and sleep! the private beach is indeed private; it's very wide so you don't have to cram in with other people but it's also very short and gets shorter as the tide comes in! the sea was a beautiful color under the sun but was disappointingly murky when you're in it. most of my meals were at the dining room which was served pretty good food that you'd expect at a place like this. by malaysian standards, it's quite pricey but i've paid more for less at other places. missed out on the spa but would really like to have tried it. what really did it for me was the staff. they are ever present and within easy hail but never intrusive. everyone smiles and you get service, not simpering which is something that i really appreciated. the staff seem to be genuinely keen and proud to show you what 5-star service is. it's making me re-evaluate all the other so called 5-star places i've stayed before. most of the reviews (good and bad) are pretty true. it's quite isolated and far from any attractions/shopping which isn't for everyone but i loved it! it's certainly somewhere i'd like to go back again but, admittedly, only if i could get a similar deal because it's otherwise quite expensive even with how amazing i
Restaurant Tip: Seriously consider paying a bit more for the bundled breakfasts because you'll probably still come out on top compared to if you paid later.
Nicola T. Couples United Kingdom, July 31, 2011
Heaven on earth!

Great service, fantastic food and an amazing location
9.7
We regularly come to the Datai as it's so easy to reach from Singapore. The service levels are consistently high. However stressed we are when we arrive, we leave feeling recharged and blissed out. The spa is amazing and food at the Gulai House is also delicious.
Hotel Feature Tip: Try the spa, it's really fantastic.
Bernd R. Couples Germany, July 24, 2011
best hotel

excellent service
10
The Hotel is very nice, five star top class. The pools, restaurants, bars and all other facilities are just perfect. But the extraordinary was the excellent service: We did a weekend trip to Langkawi and spent only one night at The Datai. It was a 30 min drive from the airport and we arrived in the morning. The room was ready after we had our nice breakfast - early check in was no problem. The concierge asked about our flight back and we got a late check out without discussion. So in the end we could enjoy our room and all facilities for two full days and it was a perfect weekend relax trip.
Restaurant Tip: Gulai House is only a 10 mins walk on the beach away. Very good Malay and Indian food.
Huan Y. Families with young children July 16, 2011
Top 5 stars hotel

1000 years of rainforest
8.3
the datai is located exactly in the middle of rainforest. reptiles and monkeys can be seen easily at the hotel. the hotel is abit far from the beach. we stayed in a deluxe room at the main building while all the villas are spread all around the rain forest. room is big and the bed is comfortable and soft enough. some items in the mini bar are free. there are 2 vanity tops in the bathroom with a seperate area for w/c and bathtub. rain shower pressure is not strong enough though. adult pool is very quite and i would prefer the smaller family pool which is just sits next to the beach. the beach club serve very delicious grilled fish. buffet breakfast is just average for the rook rate paid.
Stuart H. Solo travelers Australia, July 13, 2011
`Simply the Best`

Where do I start - everything was just so perfect!
10
i couldn`t have chosen a better place to celebrate my birthday. the main hotel and attached wings are superbly architectured, whilst the pools and gardens are an absolute delight. my jungle villa was perched overlooking a beautiful stream and the luxury, privacy and ambience was unsurpassed. the gulai restaurant is set amongst a gorgeous setting and the food and staff were fantastic (i especially loved and appreciated my unexpected birthday cake treat at the end of my dinner!!) travelling on my own, and staying in a 5 star resort, can sometimes by `stuffy` and daunting, however i have to compliment all the staff on making me feel totally welcome. this was truly a 5 star experience in all respects!!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: A massage in the resort`spa is a treat not to be missed. The expertise of the staff was amazing - and I have an endless number of around-the-world treatments to compare with - and the setting was absolutely magical.
Janice T. Solo travelers Singapore, July 10, 2011
Great hotel features and personalised service

Good location, quiet and serene with good service
9.7
The hotel is located in a quiet bay, very friendly and prompt service from the hotel staff.
Chee W. Couples Singapore, July 7, 2011
Understated luxury at its best, discreet retreat

Nestled deep in the rainforest for a relaxing and chill out stay
10
This hotel is nothing like the flashy five-star chain hotels you get elsewhere. Everything about it is understated, yet you are always assured that you are getting the best treatment available. The small touches like turning down service, cleaning up everytime we left the room (they even folded our clothes for us and left them neatly on the chair!), small personal notes here and there made us feel so special and well-cared for. Here you feel so close to nature, and everything seems to have been built around the natural environment. The 15 - 20 minute drive along the secluded road into the resort sets you up for the experience, away from all your worries and the rest of the world. We managed to see the dusky leaf monkeys feeding just 10 metres away from us, and they didn't even run away! It was such a wonderful experience to be so close to nature. I've been to other resorts that make claims to being close to nature and all, but nobody does it like The Datai. One thing you need to take note of is that meals are VERY expensive here. Dinner would set you back by at least per person, and that is just a 3-course dinner at the Thai restaurant, Pavillion. Luckily we rented a car, so we decided to drive out to Pantai Cenang for our dinner. Lots of choices there, and much, much cheaper! Breakfast was great, but expensive if you've not got it included in your package. RM96 per person, but note that there's free flow champagne, so make the most of it! Loved the made-to-order roti canai, waffles and pancakes! The pastries were a little dry, so not worth the calories. Overall a great stay and enjoyed it thoroughly. Book a two-night stay and make the most of the facilities. The beach club is great, and you get complimentary access to the equipment, unlike at The Andaman where you have to pay for it. I think not many guests know about the hot and cold jacuzzi and sauna in the gym, so you could go there too! This hotel is not suitable for families; kids will be bored.
Restaurant Tip: Note that dining in the resort is very expensive. Do rent a car for cheaper options out in Pantai Cenang. The drive out is at least 30minutes on a secluded road though.
Sher N. Families with young children Malaysia, July 3, 2011
Great service but a little bit pricey

Excellent service
8.7
Great hotel but food was a little limited and extremely pricey. An average meal at the Thai restaurant for 4 adults cost almost . Quality of the food was nonetheless good but could get a little bit rich if we had stayed on longer. Service quality is something that the hotel should be proud of and continue to maintain.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Datai Langkawi LangkawiThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ExteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ExteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ExteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ExteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ExteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - InteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - InteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - InteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - InteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - InteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Meeting RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Recreational FacilitiesThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Recreational FacilitiesThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Recreational FacilitiesThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Recreational FacilitiesThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Recreational FacilitiesThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SpaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Balcony/TerraceThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Balcony/TerraceThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Balcony/TerraceThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Balcony/TerraceThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BathroomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BeachThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BeachThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BeachThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Fitness RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Golf CourseThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Golf CourseThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Private Beach DiningThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - The Datai BayThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Datai BayThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Datai Bay SunsetThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Water Lily PondThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Water Lily PondThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Overview AerialThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Aerial ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - View


AS-AGWEB-3A05