or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Datai Langkawi

Jalan Teluk Datai Kedah Darul Aman, Datai Bay Area, Langkawi, Malaysia (Show on map)

Book now!

The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming Pool The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming Pool The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach Villa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - View The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - View The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Bathroom
The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Spa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Spa The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Surroundings The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Restaurant The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - View The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming Pool The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming Pool The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Exterior The Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest Room
Area: Datai Bay Area Number of Rooms: 106
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Fantastic

8.9

based on
256 reviews

Value for Money
8.1
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
9.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
9.2
Room Comfort/Standard
9.1
Food/Dining
8.6
All reviews (256)
Sort by:
Tomoharu M. Couples Japan, August 30, 2011
Great smile from the hotel staffs

Nice Thai restaurant
8.3
The only point I disliked about their service is that when one of the housekeepers cleaned the bed, she put our blankets directly on the floor before she had swept or wiped. We thought the blankets were to be changed to another new ones as they were already dirty with dust and dirt, but after the bedsheets were neatly done, she chose to pick them up from the floor and have us use the same ones. Shocking! Other than this incident, I loved the staff there and the atmosphere the hotel had.
Marcus W. Couples Singapore, August 22, 2011
Lovely rooms set right in the tropical rainforest.

Great service. Beautiful rooms.
8.7
Room was great with view of rainforest and sounds of cicadas and birds. Service was excellent and staff were very helpful. Food and beverage was slightly on the expensive side. Transportation is more versatile with rental of car. The beach was clean and well maintained. Quality of food and service and outlets impeccable.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Do the mangrove tour. Excellent exposure to wildlife.
Alizanne C. Couples South Africa, August 21, 2011
Incredible setting in the rainforest...

Setting in the rainforest with guided tours and info booklets on the local flora and fauna. Great attention to detail, like bringing you glasses of ice water and cold face cloths on the beach. Privacy and exclusivity.
9
we had a wonderful stay, perfect for a couple's weekend away. the staff are great. we went on a fantastic tour of the rainforest with resident naturalist irshad. very peaceful and serene. no complaints about the rooms or service. incredible view out into the trees. the fnb was excellent, but on the expensive side.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: There are trails and opportunities for trekking in the 50 million year old rainforest around the hotel. It is gorgeous. But if you plan to enjoy this take jungle gear: long trousers, good walking shoes, and preferably a long sleeve shirt.
Swee-Tin C. Couples Singapore, August 9, 2011
beautiful hotel with first class service. awesome!

tranquil stay.
10
it was really amazing to watch hornbills, eagle, mousedeers and alot more at a close by distance. guided nature walk is educational and amzing. the clean beach with attentive staffs around and fantastic cuisines at all restaurants.
Takaaki S. Couples Japan, August 9, 2011
Best Location, good experience of rainforest

Everything is excellent.
9
we could enjoy good service, nice view and delicious food in this resort.
Benedict M. Couples United Kingdom, August 7, 2011
Beautiful setting and attentive service

The rainforest setting
8.7
The Datai is set beautifully upon a hill and amidst the rainforest, meandering down to a wonderfully secluded beach.The staff were attentive and accommodating without being fussy, and whenever we approached them needed anything they were always very helpful. The room was well prepared and was cleaned on a regular basis. The stay was peaceful, but there was also a great choice of activities, restaurants and places to relax and have a drink if you so desired. We will return.
Ken C. Groups Malaysia, August 5, 2011
5-star benchmark

Staff were amazing, quiet and peaceful but sufficient activities available, luxurious rooms and facilities
9.3
i stayed at the datai for 4 glorious nights with my parents and i wish it hadn't ended. we got an amazing deal and took 2 rooms next to each other in the main building and i think that suited us very well. the rooms we stayed in are as good as the pictures online but i'd go back just for the bathrooms! the only drawbacks from the rooms were that the air conditioning in my room was only just sufficient (it never got below (i think) 25 degrees even when the thermostat was at 5!) and the bed was a bit too firm for me, but i think that's more personal preference than anything. (yes, i am nitpicking because i was genuinely happy overall!) the 2 pools are modestly sized and in themselves pretty average, but i enjoyed lying on the deckchairs to catch up on reading and sleep! the private beach is indeed private; it's very wide so you don't have to cram in with other people but it's also very short and gets shorter as the tide comes in! the sea was a beautiful color under the sun but was disappointingly murky when you're in it. most of my meals were at the dining room which was served pretty good food that you'd expect at a place like this. by malaysian standards, it's quite pricey but i've paid more for less at other places. missed out on the spa but would really like to have tried it. what really did it for me was the staff. they are ever present and within easy hail but never intrusive. everyone smiles and you get service, not simpering which is something that i really appreciated. the staff seem to be genuinely keen and proud to show you what 5-star service is. it's making me re-evaluate all the other so called 5-star places i've stayed before. most of the reviews (good and bad) are pretty true. it's quite isolated and far from any attractions/shopping which isn't for everyone but i loved it! it's certainly somewhere i'd like to go back again but, admittedly, only if i could get a similar deal because it's otherwise quite expensive even with how amazing i
Restaurant Tip: Seriously consider paying a bit more for the bundled breakfasts because you'll probably still come out on top compared to if you paid later.
Nicola T. Couples United Kingdom, July 31, 2011
Heaven on earth!

Great service, fantastic food and an amazing location
9.7
We regularly come to the Datai as it's so easy to reach from Singapore. The service levels are consistently high. However stressed we are when we arrive, we leave feeling recharged and blissed out. The spa is amazing and food at the Gulai House is also delicious.
Hotel Feature Tip: Try the spa, it's really fantastic.
Bernd R. Couples Germany, July 24, 2011
best hotel

excellent service
10
The Hotel is very nice, five star top class. The pools, restaurants, bars and all other facilities are just perfect. But the extraordinary was the excellent service: We did a weekend trip to Langkawi and spent only one night at The Datai. It was a 30 min drive from the airport and we arrived in the morning. The room was ready after we had our nice breakfast - early check in was no problem. The concierge asked about our flight back and we got a late check out without discussion. So in the end we could enjoy our room and all facilities for two full days and it was a perfect weekend relax trip.
Restaurant Tip: Gulai House is only a 10 mins walk on the beach away. Very good Malay and Indian food.
Huan Y. Families with young children July 16, 2011
Top 5 stars hotel

1000 years of rainforest
8.3
the datai is located exactly in the middle of rainforest. reptiles and monkeys can be seen easily at the hotel. the hotel is abit far from the beach. we stayed in a deluxe room at the main building while all the villas are spread all around the rain forest. room is big and the bed is comfortable and soft enough. some items in the mini bar are free. there are 2 vanity tops in the bathroom with a seperate area for w/c and bathtub. rain shower pressure is not strong enough though. adult pool is very quite and i would prefer the smaller family pool which is just sits next to the beach. the beach club serve very delicious grilled fish. buffet breakfast is just average for the rook rate paid.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Datai Langkawi LangkawiThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Beach VillaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BathroomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SpaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SpaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ExteriorThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SpaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SpaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BeachThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BathroomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SpaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Pub/LoungeThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BathroomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BathroomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SpaThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - LobbyThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BathroomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - LobbyThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Swimming PoolThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - ViewThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BeachThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BeachThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BeachThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - BathroomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Guest RoomThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - SurroundingsThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - RestaurantThe Datai Langkawi Langkawi - Surroundings


AS-AGWEB-3B03