My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Drake Hotel

140 East Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago (IL), United States 60611 (Show on map)

Book now!

The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel Exterior The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Kid’s club The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Restaurant The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Restaurant The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Buffet The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Lobby
The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Restaurant The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel Interior The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Pub/Lounge The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Restaurant The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Restaurant The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Coffee Shop/Cafe The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel Exterior The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel Exterior The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Fitness Room The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Restaurant
Hotel Area: Magnificent Mile Number of Rooms: 535

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

8.0

based on
14 reviews

Value for Money
7.3
Location
9.6
Staff Performance
8.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
7.7
All reviews (14)
Sort by:
Stephen B. Couples United States of America, March 28, 2014
classic and classy

excellent location for Michigan Avenue exploring, restaurants and shopping
9.7
The Drake is a Chicago icon, and still feels like the epitome of class. Rooms are beautiful and well maintained. Bathrooms do not have a modern feel, but are perfectly clean, spacious, and well equipped with every amenity. We required services of the concierge, bell hop and business center during our stay, and all were helpful and efficient. High tea in the lobby (first floor) and a nightcab in the intimate bar (ground floor) rounded out the experience.
Russell H. Couples United States of America, February 28, 2014
excellent

service, location, facility
9
Matthew W. Couples United States of America, December 22, 2013
Historic hotel in downtown Chicago

Location, staff, accomodations
10
Great weekend at The Drake Hotel. Our beautifully equipped room overlooked Lake Michigan. The staff, especially the concierge, were all extremely helpful.
Saksit T. Families with young children United States of America, September 23, 2013
Location

Location
9
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Drake hotel. The location was excellent as it was close to so many amenities including shopping and dining. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and had answers to all my questions and needs. The rooms were clean, spacious and modern. Taxis to all areas of the city were easily accessible and not too expensive. All and all an enjoyable stay and definitely a hotel I will return to my next trip to Chicago.
Saksit T. Families with young children United States of America, September 23, 2013
Location

Location, shopping and sightseeing
8.7
The Drake Hotel was one of my favorite hotel experiences ever. The location was awesome and within walking distance of everything I wanted to do in Chicago, the staff were so friendly and helped us book a boat tour, make reservations, etc.; we had afternoon tea there one day and it was phenomenal, it was also a very quiet and restful hotel with wonderful beds, a huge TV, and personality and class to boot. I LOVED the Drake and it would be a dream to stay there again!
Trish C. Couples Canada, August 11, 2013
Great time and lots to do

downtown, great shopping access, and cleanliness
9.7
We had an absolutely great time. My sister and I flew in from Kitchener, Ontario Canada for a bridal shower for our niece. Having never stayed in downtown Chicago, I think we picked a great place to stay. Two negatives, no free Wi-Fi in room which we assumed would be available. (any hotel we have stayed at offered free wi fi), the other is the elevators were very very very slow.....
Dag A. Business travelers Norway, June 30, 2013
Central location, traditional, somewhat run down

Location, breakfast, staff
7
Perfectly OK for one night. Friendly welcoming and informative reception, pleasant common areas, good breakfast, nice bar. Attentive and friendly service, all around, staff to be commended. A very good location. Room has seen better days and could do with an upgrade. The wi-fi was so slow it for all practical purposes didn't work. Inadequate sound insulation between rooms, I could hear quarreling couples through the night.I might very well have taken an upgrade if offered.
Nhren A. Couples United States of America, July 23, 2012
Small rooms

Great location
3.7
The bed was very uncomfortable then they moved us to a different room which was the same exact room. They didn't upgrade us for the inconvenience and my back is still sore from the mattress. The room seemed small for what we paid. My fiancée asked to use their telephone because his cell phone was dead and I was in the car distance away and they told him he could not use the phone when he had told them it was urgent. Also, the tub starts filling up with water when we showered and I was a bit grossed out by that because the water wasn't draining right away. The service was not what expected and I probably wouldn't stay there again. However, it's too bad because the location is great. Thanks!
Douglas D. Couples United States of America, July 9, 2012
Beautiful Hotel in a great location - a bit noisy

Great bed!
8
We upgraded to a lake view and had a very large room on the seventh floor overlooking Lake Michigan. The view of the Lake and Beach was fabulous. We had very little interaction with the staff except for the conceiage. Interestingly, we had one very helpful woman the morning after we arrived, however, the afternoon woman was a bit grumpy and less helpful.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Loved the view from the top of the Hancock tower one block away. Don't waste your money on the observation deck. Go to the bar above the restaurant and get your views for free.
Kevin C. Solo travelers United States of America, July 3, 2012
Great location on Magnificent Mile

Relatively quiet, good room for the price
8.3
The nicest features of the hotel include a comfortable bed, relatively quiet room, and a great location on the magnificent mile a block away from the John Hancock building and two blocks from the Water Tower. The hotel is older and it shows in the little things (condition of the doors and faucets, etc.). There was a nice HD flat screen tv in the room where I watched some of the olympic pre-lims one night. The closet is small and the room itself in ok for a solo traveler. I asked for a small fan to block out white noise and to my surprise they had one available to bring to my room. When I checked in I asked for a room on a higher floor. I was told that the hotel was sold out, which I found very hard to believe based on the activity in the lobby that day. Half of the staff I came across seem friendly and welcoming and some didn't want to acknowledge me. I've stayed at better and worse hotels in downtown Chicago. I'd rate this one 4.0/5.0. I gave a higher rating for the staff providing a fan which allowed me to sleep throughout the night. :)
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Try the double decker bus tour and architecture tour along the Chicago river. Both are well worth the money. Try Giordano's deep dish pizza on Rush street. Then go run it off at Oak Street beach, which is a couple blocks away from the hotel.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL)The Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Kid’s clubThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - RestaurantThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - RestaurantThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - BuffetThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - LobbyThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - RestaurantThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel InteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Pub/LoungeThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - RestaurantThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - RestaurantThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Coffee Shop/CafeThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Meeting RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Fitness RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - RestaurantThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Suite RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - LobbyThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Fitness RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - RestaurantThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - BathroomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel InteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel InteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - BathroomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - BathroomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Fitness RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Fitness RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Coffee Shop/CafeThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel InteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Pub/LoungeThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - BallroomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel InteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Hotel ExteriorThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest RoomThe Drake Hotel Chicago (IL) - Guest Room


AS-AGWEB-3B08