My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Superior Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Center The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel Reception The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel
Hotel Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1920 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1920)
Sort by:
Yam C. Solo travelers Hong Kong, May 27, 2013
nice place

quiet, convenient, cheap
6
the location is good good. close to central, admiralty and causeway bay, the shopping area. it's also quiet close to the peak, no food
Gong L. Business travelers Canada, May 25, 2013
it is convimient for me and it is clean

Clean, loaction
6
Howard K. Business travelers Netherlands, May 24, 2013
effective good place to stay and to do my business

location, clean, rooms
7
Joy Z. Business travelers United Kingdom, May 24, 2013
It was okay for the price paid for

Central location, price and easy access to pubic transport (taxis)
7
It was okay. The rooms were bigger than expected with amazing view of Hong Kong skylines. The hotel is easily accessible from HK Central Airport Express. There are taxis always available just outside the hotel. Taxis in HK are very affordable compared to other major cities so great to have them just outside the hotel. There was one downside - i stayed at the hotel just a few days before they were due to fumigate because of some insect infestation. Nothing majorly annoying nor alarming but there were small flies inside the toilet.
Satish C. Families with young children India, May 22, 2013
Centrally located, good staff

Location, staff ready to provide guidance for local site seeing
7.7
In a nutshell, my 5 nights stay in YWCA Garden view was decent. The hotel is located in a good place, a taxi would cost you just HKD 20 from either Central or Hong Kong station. However, my concerns were as below: a) Prior to my arrival at the hotel, I had sent an email inquiry regarding the Kitchenette in the room and it was confirmed to me that there is a Hot plate we could use in the Open kitchen. However, we discovered that there is nothing of that sort that can be used by the people staying in the hotel. Due to our (primarily my 5 year old boy and I) having special dietary needs, the absence of any Kitchenette facilities in the room, we really had to struggle for food, needing us to look for Indian restaurants (vegan [self]and only chicken rice eating child) all five days, which was very troublesome b) Lack of free internet facility : Visitors like me are in the hotel room primarily to sleep and take a shower. During these few hours, we would like to use the Internet for the preparation for next day's visit etc. The hotel has Internet however, they charge HKD 100 per day which I felt is exorbitant. A HKD 25 per day would have made pay for it and use all 5 nights I was there c) Lowest sized room I have ever stayed in : This was my first visit to HK and any country in South East Asia. However, compared to the room sizes(from my previous travels to US, UK and South Africa), this has been the undoubted lowest sized room. It would not be unfair to say that it was barely there to stay with a 5-yr old cranky kid in the night.
Wadman U. Business travelers Sweden, May 20, 2013
good

staff location and food
8
good with bfriendly staff centrealed location in a nice area whit lots of attractions
Sung A. Couples South Korea, May 19, 2013
clean hotel

clean and garden view, reasonable price
7.7
Liying H. Solo travelers Taiwan, May 19, 2013
Good value

Quiet surrounding, closed to bus stop, reasonable price
6.7
Reommending for those people who wants night life in LFK ( only less than 30 HKD taxi ride). Hotel price is very reasonable in central area. With the money you save on hotel rate, you can spend it by taxi in and out. Or bus is another very economic option
Hang I. Business travelers Macau, May 17, 2013
nice room

nice view, clean, perfect for shopping
6
Jose F. Couples Portugal, May 17, 2013
Unpleasant staff, false free wi-fi, bad location

Unpleasant staff, false free wi-fi, bad location
5
The staff was unpleasant, always trying to avoid giving some help; they were also not polite. They say that they have free Wi-Fi in public areas, but when you arrive you are immediately advised that you need to make a consumption of at least 80 HKD to have free Internet - a strange concept of free internet. the location was bad in my opinion: its very hard to go by foot, very hard to get a cab and not easy to get a bus. I will not stay there again for sure.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Superior RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Superior RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness CenterThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Hotel ReceptionThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3B03