or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
2030 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (2030)
Sort by:
Claudine M. Business travelers Philippines, February 14, 2013
Lovely Hotel with view/spacious rooms -Mid-levels

3-5 mins bus ride from Admiralty MTR
10
The hotel is really grand: awesome lobby/reception, spacious room, lovely location away from the busy crowds & bustling central district. The view from my 17th floor room is superb! I love leaving the hotel in morning, walking towards the bus station gazing at the magnificent condos around, and also look forward to going home at night with the lovely Mid-levels night lights! The Peak Tram station is very close to the hotel. Its path is just blocks away from the hotel. I definitely will return to this hotel, the next time.
Restaurant Tip: There is a nice restaurant and a grocery (Fusion) nearby.
Ian M. Couples Canada, February 11, 2013
lovely hotel lobby and good room

beautiful lobby, large room, pleasant location
8.3
this hotel is a little far from any metro stop, the front desk said 15-20 minute walk. we had to wait several minutes for a taxi as not many will turn off of the main road. the location was nice and pleasant though. the lobby was beautifully decorated for cny, and the room was large. everything you need was supplied. price was pretty good too, for hong kong.
Gilbert K. Couples United States of America, February 9, 2013
Pleasant small room above the greenery

Cleanliness, location
9.7
the only drawbacks to this hotel are the lack of free wi-fi (even in the lobby) and the climb uphill to get to it. the rooms are clean and pleasant and for the price we paid (a special nonrefundable rate) could not be bettered. the rooms are fresh and clean, lots of light wood, white linens, and natural light. the bathroom has a bathtub (if one is so inclined) and the bed is comfortable. the television is small, and doesn't get a lot of movies as in a hotel, but then it is a y. there is also a computer in the building that can be used at no charge for checking e-mail, etc. the only problem we had was getting a taxi after dinner at pacific place to take us back up the hill, though we had walked up earlier and then down. (again, we didn't eat in the hotel but are forced to rate it.)
Jeffrey C. Solo travelers Canada, February 9, 2013
nice and clean rooms,minimal service

nice and clean room in a quiet neighbour
7
it was easy to check in , and the room are small, but nice and clean. The gym is decent and the pool was good size. there is a supermarket next door, which makes it very convenient to get supplies.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: The HK botanical garden is just right next door. LKF is about 15 mins walk down the hill.
Daniel S. Couples United States of America, February 6, 2013
Ok

Location, water pressure
7.7
The YWCA has a very good location. One can walk to cEntral or Wanchai. The Peak Tram is 5 minutes on footr. The hotel is clean, quiet, and no frills. A basic place to stay, with friendly-enough service and a standard 3-4 star experience. I would not hesitate to send family here, even though it is not cheap.
Ankur S. Couples India, February 3, 2013
Pleasant and comfortable

Location, Price, Clenliness
5.3
We had a pleasant stay. The rooms were clean and nice. Quite small, but OK given HK's standards (i've stayed in smaller rooms). Although there's a restaurant at the ground floor, it seems like a separate entity. You can't sign your bills to the room, and they don't necessarily make that clear when you enter (so carry you cash / card!). One thing that left me a weee bit disappointed is that I couldn't get ice late at night to mix a drink in my room. But it didn't matter allll that much. Hotel is centrally located, the view from the large windows is nice - a panoramic view of the city's sky line and the gardens across the road. A 20-odd minute walk to the central city, if you can find your way without getting lost. While it wouldn't be my go-to choice always, i would consider staying there once in a while if I got a similar deal. I'd also pick this over some of the other hotels around Robinson road at similar prices.
Boram B. Solo travelers South Korea, February 3, 2013
value for money hotel

best location to central, clean room, nice view
6.3
when you consider the high hotel fee in hongkong, it is value for money hotel. very close to central shopping spots if you take a20 bus in front of the hotel. And big grocery shop is right next to the hotel, you can buy some snacks there.
Jeffrey C. Solo travelers Canada, February 3, 2013
extended stay

nice and tidy room
7.7
I had to extend my stay and the hotel was very helpful
Jeffrey C. Solo travelers Canada, February 2, 2013
Nice and small room

Good location
7.3
It was a booking for a friend and they gave an upgrade!
Steven J. Couples United States of America, January 31, 2013
Great but location is not ideal

got a good deal on rates
7.3
Not the best four star hotel but it was nice and clean with a great view of the city. There is a supermarket (forgot the name) around the corner which was perfect for grabbing some food and drinks...far better than going to a convenience store. The location is further away from the nearest subway than anticipated as walking distance is about 20 to 30 minutes. But there is a free botanical garden and zoo right beside the hotel. Must check out if staying there. No free wifi in the hotel so that made things a little inconvenient.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3C07