My Account (sign in)

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel

1 Macdonnell Road, Central, Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area, Hong Kong (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Garden View International House Hotel

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Bathroom The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Exterior The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from Hotel The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Facilities The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Restaurant The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Lobby The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool
The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming Pool The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room
Area: Hong Kong Central / Sheung Wan Area Number of Rooms: 141

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Very Good

7.6

based on
1998 reviews

Value for Money
8.0
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.7
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.3
Room Comfort/Standard
7.8
Food/Dining
6.4
All reviews (1998)
Sort by:
Freddy Y. Business travelers Hong Kong, October 12, 2012
Small hotel with basic features

have a swimming pool
3
This hotel is located at Central but you need to take a taxi to the business area. A supermarket is next to this hotel, which give you nice shopping for food and others. This is not a grant hotel, but clean and ok to stay.
Roy T. Couples United Kingdom, October 11, 2012
Good clean budget hotel

Rooms equivalent in size to Travelodge type room in UK - good for budget hotel in HK
7
Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and decor in good condition. Only downside was the restaurant - it was the worst dinner we had in 3 weeks in HK.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Near to the peak tram terminal.
Tomer A. Couples Israel, October 11, 2012
Lovely hotel and good location

the hotel is locate 2 miu walking from the view point and 15 min from the center
9.3
good hotel , located in a good place with view to the all island wifi is extra charge . better book before you arrive
Guat B. Couples Malaysia, October 9, 2012
Excellent room and location in Central

walking distance from Central
8
walking distance to Central Shops and restaurant Rooms very clean and new The Chinese restaurant on the 22 Floor next door plus the supermart is very convenience
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Very closed by to the Peak Station Good time to go in the evening where you will enjoy the scenery
Joseph L. Solo travelers United States of America, October 9, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile

good value, nice room, great view of the city
9.7
Stayed 4 nights here. The room and view are great and you can't beat the price. The hotel is located on top of a hill so unless you're into sweating your clothes wet then a taxi is the only practical way to get to the hotel. I would stay here again.
Ron E. Couples Canada, October 8, 2012
Very good location and friendly staff

Clean well appointed facility.
8
This was our second stay at the Garden View and we enjoyed it as much as we did the first stay. We fund the location convenient, the facility clean and well managed and the staff friendly and courteous. We will definitely come back to the Garden View on our next trip to Hong Kong
Young H. Families with young children South Korea, October 7, 2012
Clean and spacious Hotel with good location

Good location
9
good location near to the central district and admiralty. a few minutes of walk can bring my family to the hk park and mid-level escaltor to go down to the ifc mall. this hotel also has a nice and spacious room.
Nathan N. Couples Indonesia, October 7, 2012
Great room

Large room, good value
7.3
I enjoyed our stay...good size room, great value. Distance from LKF and Shopping district a bit far, but still walkable.
Cynthia F. Couples United States of America, October 6, 2012
Comfortable, basic amenities, good location

Location - easy access to bus and taxi; comfortable, basic, clean, affordable rooms
6
We stayed three nights at the Garden View. We had an upper floor room with view of the zoological garden that offered a nice sense of space in the midst of the dense city. The staff is efficient, although not as welcoming as we have experienced elsewhere. Several of them seemed rather indifferent when we spoke to them at the main desk or tried to exchange pleasantries on the elevator. There was a momentary snag one morning in the restaurant attached to the hotel, which advertised free wifi to its patrons - and then tried to charge us an exorbitant buffet breakfast fee for a cup of coffee. This was eventually resolved, and we settled for a five US dollar java jolt each - and a few minutes of internet - but it was an experience we did not attempt again. Overall, it is a good place to stay in Hong Kong - decent value and location - if you can't find a bargain elsewhere.
Timothy G. Couples United Kingdom, October 5, 2012
Bit far from the centre, archaic Internet policy

Supermarket next door.
4.3
the hotel is clean enough. however it is a few streets away from central etc. so you have to catch a taxi or bus to get there. the staff were friendly enough but the hotel has a terrible internet policy. room access is by broadband cable and this could not be set up after half an hour of trying. they also charge hkd for the priviledge. considering the cost of the room and the fact there are free wifi spots around the city, this is ridiculous. the staff recommended the wifi in reception but you also have to pay 100 hkd for this too. there was no free water in the room either. although these things cost little, it is testament to the hotel's attitude to customers that they would rather charge you for these things than make things more comfortable for their customers by providing them free, as every other hotel in hong kong i have stayed in does.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: You can catch the 12a bus to Pedder Street in Central just past the garage outside the hotel. Only costs 5 dollars.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

The Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong KongThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Suite RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - BathroomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - ExteriorThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - View from HotelThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - FacilitiesThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Fitness RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - RestaurantThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - LobbyThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Swimming PoolThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest RoomThe Garden View – YWCA Hotel Hong Kong - Guest Room

Customer Reviews - The Garden View – YWCA Hotel, Hong Kong

AS-AGWEB-3A08